First Derivatives Reviews

Updated Aug 4, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 398 of over 659 reviews

3.3
54%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
First Derivatives CEO Seamus Keating
Seamus Keating
48 Ratings
Pros
  • "Getting to travel, expenses package(in 79 reviews)

  • "The opportunity to travel and work at large investment banks(in 78 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Might end up staying a period of time in Newry/Ireland based projects(in 59 reviews)

  • "More communication with those out on client site(in 34 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Tech

    Join the conversation on

    Tech

    1y

    a 

    Technical Account Manager

    Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

    436

    62 Comments

    Tech

    286.3K Members 

    Ask candid career questions

    -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.co.uk&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=First Derivatives~35766
    Join the conversation on
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Hhhhh

      Jun 23, 2022 - Technical Services Analyst in Belfast, Northern Ireland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It is very good and fun

      Cons

      It can be hard sometimes

      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      FD

      Jul 28, 2022 - Calypso Support Analyst in Belfast, Northern Ireland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fair salary and benefit package

      Cons

      Has changed drastically in recent years

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      You’re on your own

      Jun 29, 2022 - kdb+ engineer in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You can get placed in a major bank easier than going through the hiring process with the bank directly

      Cons

      You’re on your own , in almost every way you can imagine. If you need to contact your manager, HR or anyone in the company, expect a long wait for a reply, if it ever comes. Review process is terrible, salary isn’t linked to performance, and reviews are for basically show. Will be completely ignored if you need something from the company. Mental health is a policy on paper, not in practice. The image of FD on social media is nothing like the experience of working here

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Easy path into software

      Jul 2, 2022 - Data Scientist in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Plenty of interesting projects, but luck involved in getting a good one. Shift towards investment in R&D recently. Good entry into software for grads with less technical backgrounds.

      Cons

      Plenty of terrible projects. New compensation package doesn't match the expenses package previously offered.

      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good company to get many project experience

      Jun 9, 2022 - Business Analyst in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Exposure to many project experiences.

      Cons

      Typical con of every consulting company.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good company

      Jun 3, 2022 - Financial Engineer in Newry, Northern Ireland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Salary is ok and expenses

      Cons

      No comment on this one

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      false advertising, wish i listened to the reviews on here before i joined

      Jun 7, 2022 - Financial Engineer in Belfast, Northern Ireland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      people on the projects are actually really nice. not stressful technical training programme is great (pity you dont get to actually use it)

      Cons

      - joined on the Data stream and was really eager to start learning about data. got thrown into a project that had nothing to do with data before my induction month even finished. (was told to finish my induction in my own time). tried to ask to move after 6 months of hard work, they didnt care. just kept promising id get my move soon. glad i didnt listen and went and got a job elsewhere. - the finance side of the 'CMTP' programme is a waste of time. Most people have the answers to all the questions in every exam and the company know this. - just felt like another clog in the wheel, they don't care about grads, most of my intake has already moved on to other companies in less than a year. it feels like the motto is 'get as many people in the door as we can to make up for the turnover'

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful