Formica Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Formica Reviews

Updated Sep 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
74%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Formica CEO Mark Adamson (no image)
Mark Adamson
29 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The place has little to no organisation, the management were up themselves and laughable with no respect(in 3 reviews)

  • "Poor communication from local upper management(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in North Shields, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Formica full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Drive and pace of change, challenging

    Cons

    none that I can think of

    Formica2019-09-13
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - European Engagement Manager in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Formica full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very supportive culture and you are encouraged and supporting in making a difference. The pace of change is fast but you're recognised for your expertise and the leaders support what you are trying to do. Very exciting time for the company.

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Formica2019-03-18
  3. "No investment in the staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in North Shields, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Formica full-time

    Pros

    The people I work with are fantastic. I care about the company as does everyone I’ve come across at Formica. We have had a big investment especially in North Shields and are hopefully on the right path to becoming profitable.

    Cons

    I’ve had some pretty underhanded things happen to me which wanted to make me leave Formica and being asked to work on call for nothing is taking advantage. There is no investment in te staff or retaining the best people. I come to work to be paid and haven’t had a pay rise ever.

    Continue reading
    Formica2019-02-11
  4. Helpful (3)

    "USELESS MANAGEMENT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service in North Shields, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Formica full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some nice colleagues but nothing else positive to say.

    Cons

    The place has little to no organisation, the management were up themselves and laughable with no respect. They have been losing money for 10 years, no capacity. You have to deal with a lot of irate customers with no one willing to take responsibility for any complaints. Nothing is done on merit, lots of people getting paid for years and years without economic results. The managers could not get a job anywhere else in these days so stay there waiting for another owner to pay their wages.

    Continue reading
    Formica2018-10-19
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good company but not perspective of evolution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Formica full-time

    Pros

    - colleagues were nice - liberty of movement in the office

    Cons

    - no perspective of evolution - the managers won't listen to the employees regarding the malfunction of the system. This results in time being wasted.

    Formica2018-07-04
  6. "Good challenging work environment with great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - FB Group Technology Staff in North Shields, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Formica full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Inward investment from parent company is starting to pay dividends. Turnaround in sales performance, customer retention, staff morale all better. A real opportunity to grow due to the investment in IT infrastructure from the parent means there is a real drive for people to push boundaries in what we do.

    Cons

    Project management needs to improve, communication between departments on requirements and scoping is not always the best. Stop the rot with the pay freezes. Long term staff have put in an awful lot over the last 3 years to help Formica recover and have accepted remuneration was on hold. Things are looking up, don't forget that fundamentally, we come to work to be paid for our skills, pay us well and keep reaping the benefits.

    Continue reading
    Formica2017-04-29
  7. "Significant changes and investment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Process Worker in North Shields, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Formica full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Hard work is recognised. Plenty of opportunities if you keep your eyes and ears open. Lots of investment from Fletcher Building over the next few years. Great people to work with. Forward thinking upper management.

    Cons

    Some of the middle management have different visions and methods. People that aren't from the shop floor making changes that aren't cleared with shop floor workers. Labour problems due to poor attendance from the same suspects.

    Continue reading
    Formica2016-10-30
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Awful place, bullying sales management, unprofitable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Sales Executive in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Formica full-time

    Pros

    None I can think of

    Cons

    Unprofitable region The most toxic place I've ever worked Useless sales management Bullying culture

    Continue reading
    Formica2016-05-11
  9. "After working at Formica for 6 months"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Manager in Newcastle, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Formica for less than a year

    Pros

    Growing, future thinking business. It feels like a family business that promotes innovative thinking and open communication. I’m supported and empowered by the leadership team to build my business unit which gives me ongoing personal development but also a great deal of pride in my role. They have a clear vision for the future and have obtainable goals in order to get there.

    Cons

    With a history of over 100 years there are a lot of change happening across the business which some may see as a Con. This however brings opportunities and continuous improvement.

    Formica2015-04-17
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Never again"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in North Shields, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Formica full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Reasonable wage; on-site gym; private health care scheme; could have been a good experience, had it not been for the disgraceful behaviour of my Line Manager..

    Cons

    Run down premises; filthy welfare facilities; lured with false promises of development which werent true; dreadful line manager

    Continue reading
    Formica2015-01-28
Found 57 reviews