Fortnum & Mason Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Fortnum & Mason Reviews

Updated 8 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 98 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
40%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Kate Hobhouse
40 Ratings
Pros
  • "Really good staff discount and treatment of staff(in 15 reviews)

  • "Good staff discount, 25% - 30% depending on the items(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Extremely long hours and little support from senior management- rotas were only distributed a few days before a new working week(in 9 reviews)

  • "There are some members of staff who will seriously damage the company's reputation by giving such a disgusting shopping experience(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fortnum & Mason part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice people Fun, environment Lovely, cool amazing

    Cons

    No cons It was amazing

    Fortnum & Mason2019-06-08
  2. "sales assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fortnum & Mason full-time

    Pros

    deffo loved working here believe me great discount

    Cons

    long hours tired rude staff

    Fortnum & Mason2019-05-09
  3. "Looks like a great company....."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fortnum & Mason full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good staff canteen, good food for the staff and a good environment as well as the 6th floor.

    Cons

    A total mess when we talk about how they organize and allocate the new employers, after 6 months never have a looker to keep my belonging and let me tell you that I was a manager, no reviews and a culture of harassment is on top of the daily basis, the worst thing is that all the senior team know about it and nobody says or do nothing to stop that. Long hours without breaks and a total lack of leadership in almost all...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Put in practice a better program of induction (your's mainly about the history of the company ) Focus more in your's associates, more training, more reviews and listen to them more, focus more in how your senior team can be more leaders than bosses and maybe people don't gonna left your company with a huge feeling of disappointment, looking back as a complete waste of time and regret.

    Fortnum & Mason2019-05-28
  4. "unfair and disorganized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Fortnum & Mason full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    cafeteria and some of the members of staff

    Cons

    Bullying is a daily occurance and they might end up in court one day. No direction or help from senior manager, Empty promises and lack of strategy is a daily occurrence. Actually it seems like she had her favourites and the rest of us were not worth even talk to. Staff turn over is so high they can't find people to work and than wonder why?

    Advice to Management

    She wont take any advice on board as we are all below her

    Fortnum & Mason2019-05-05
  5. "Great Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fortnum & Mason full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Staff Discount and Staff Shop, Employee cafeteria

    Cons

    Fortnums has a very small Office space

    Fortnum & Mason2019-03-15
  6. "Overall good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Fortnum & Mason part-time

    Pros

    Discount, friendly staff, very bussy all the time, good cantine

    Cons

    Some customers can be quite rude

    Advice to Management

    Treat all staff the same, from temps to senior retail assistants

    Fortnum & Mason2019-03-09
  7. Helpful (1)

    "UMMMM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Fortnum & Mason full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    the 30 percent off comes in handy

    Cons

    bad management and no time off during christmas they force you to take holiday before christmas perios

    Advice to Management

    change ways of doing things and to also consider how people can apply to swap shift among eachother

    Fortnum & Mason2019-04-08
  8. "Christmas Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fortnum & Mason part-time

    Pros

    Fun environment and good atmosphere

    Cons

    Disorganised and not good pay

    Fortnum & Mason2019-03-04
  9. "Great team & Culture. Communication, systems and middle management less so"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fortnum & Mason full-time

    Pros

    Amazing culture and diversity, Great family of collegues, camaraderie and subsidised lunch.

    Cons

    the old computer system makes extra work and confusion, middle management lack presence and are out of touch with junior staff/management, lack of innovation

    Advice to Management

    improve systems and communication, upskill middle management.

    Fortnum & Mason2019-02-20
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fortnum & Mason full-time

    Pros

    In store canteen, paid holidays, in central london with transport links.

    Cons

    Not much room for progression, bad managers who don't treat people kindly. Expected to work on days you're not comfortable in. You are seen more like a stat than a human being.

    Fortnum & Mason2019-02-13
Found 98 reviews