GetYourGuide Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

GetYourGuide Reviews

Updated Oct 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
73%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
GetYourGuide CEO Johannes Reck
Johannes Reck
118 Ratings
Pros
  • "My favourite thing about GetYourGuide is that the company culture and values are taken seriously(in 13 reviews)

  • "GYG has a big focus on company culture and transparency(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "Customer service employees scramble to compete to apply for higher paid roles(in 6 reviews)

  • "I am pretty curious to find out how GYG will look like in a couple of years(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GetYourGuide full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Incredible culture and great team with very passionate individuals. Full of opportunities and growth potential.

    Cons

    Be ready for a fast growing company culture and to adapt to different situations.

    GetYourGuide2018-09-18
  2. "Product admin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at GetYourGuide full-time

    Pros

    quick learning curve, decent pay

    Cons

    not flexible, mundane daily work

    Advice to Management

    be more responsive to employee needs

    GetYourGuide2019-02-24
  3. Helpful (25)

    "Breach of Contract"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GetYourGuide

    Pros

    In reality, they are unreliable.

    Cons

    These are slippery people who have no regard for the "ethics" they pretend to on their site. Beware. Be realistic. New business with an uncertain business model and young founders with no respect for people or the law.

    Advice to Management

    Personal responsibility is the hallmark of a good organisation - something that Get Your Guide are not!

    GetYourGuide2017-03-17
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Nice company to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Freelancer 

    I have been working at GetYourGuide

    Pros

    As a freelancer, I can say I had and have a positive experience working with GYG. Payments always made on time and clear every month. Committment and quality of my work are always recognized, especially with extra tasks assignments if needed. Communication is great with my department manager. Friendly environment and atmosphere.

    Cons

    No cons experienced for my personal position.

    GetYourGuide2017-01-26
  5. Helpful (5)

    "One of the best start ups in Berlin to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GetYourGuide

    Pros

    Even after leaving GYG I still consider it the best company I have ever worked for. Best thing about it? The people. They put a lot of effort into finding the right people for the company and that results into a really good work environment. Sure, it might be annoying to go through a really long hiring process, but they do it to make sure that the people who join are truly a good culture fit and on which you can... always count on. They allow you to express yourself and your colleagues respect you, most managers are experienced and they know what they are doing while still staying down to earth. The management is very transparent and approachable, on a monthly level the whole company can see the results and all the numbers that they want to see. Even when things are not going well, they are still honest and share all the details with everyone. Oh, and the company is really really customer oriented. You will obviously sometimes have bad experiences and not every customer will end up happy, but GYGs management is truly customer oriented and they will do everything they can to offer the best customer experience to their customers. Some other things that you get as an employee : free breakfast, friday pizza and beers, great teamevent and company parties, good team environment etc.

    Show More

    Cons

    Like every start up, its sometimes not that organized and some bad choices get made, but in general I never had a lot of complaints about it.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    GetYourGuide2016-10-07
  6. Helpful (18)

    "Unstable company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at GetYourGuide full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Young co-workers, friendly management team, opportunities to learn.

    Cons

    Inconsistent and sometimes wacky management decisions, frequent dismissal, big turnover, low salaries.

    Advice to Management

    Management team should stop focusing on acquiring new staff and working towards retaining efficient team members. Good people stay, when they feel valued.

    GetYourGuide2014-10-13
  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 

    I have been working at GetYourGuide full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people and challenging problems

    Cons

    Growing at scale implies cost of alignment and culture change

    GetYourGuide2019-10-24
  8. "Great Employer, exciting projects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GetYourGuide full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Clear mission from senior leadership - Great colleagues and collaborative environment - Strong Culture - Challenging projects - Freedom to do the job and challenge the status quo - Open communication

    Cons

    Sometimes lack of structure due to the massive growth

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening to feedback and maintain the open communication

    GetYourGuide2019-10-07
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Exciting, fast growing company with lots of opportunity for personal growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GetYourGuide full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity for growth. Tight recruitment process means you'll be working with some of he best in your field. Amazing office in a great location. Good perks. Very open communication for a company of this size, which regular meetings on all-company performance and objectives.

    Cons

    Hypergrowth can be difficult. Things change fast and you can either find it an exciting challenge or a little unsettling.

    GetYourGuide2019-09-29
  10. Helpful (1)

    "More cons than pros"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GetYourGuide full-time

    Pros

    Great colleagues, free breakfasts, free soft drinks, beers on Friday (limited)

    Cons

    Politics, favoritism, no learning opportunities, tasks are getting more limited as the company grows, you are expected to work extra hours in most departments (not paid), VPs are literally saying that they are ok if people leave

    Advice to Management

    Concentrate on a staff retention rate instead of having next round of investments

    GetYourGuide2019-09-27
Found 153 reviews