GetYourGuide Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

GetYourGuide Reviews

Updated 6 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
70%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
GetYourGuide CEO & Co-Founder Johannes Reck
Johannes Reck
127 Ratings
Pros
  • "My favourite thing about GetYourGuide is that the company culture and values are taken seriously(in 16 reviews)

  • "Free Breakfast and snacks and nice enough people(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "the ability to grow becomes more competitive as the company grows(in 6 reviews)

  • "Customer service employees scramble to compete to apply for higher paid roles(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GetYourGuide full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Incredible culture and great team with very passionate individuals. Full of opportunities and growth potential.

    Cons

    Be ready for a fast growing company culture and to adapt to different situations.

    GetYourGuide2018-09-18

    GetYourGuide Response

    September 19, 2018Talent Co-ordinator

    Hi, Thanks for your review. It is great to hear that you are enjoying the GetYourGuide culture, and the group of smart, passionate colleagues we have working here. We are also glad that you feel there are plenty of growth opportunities, as Learning & Development is one of our key focuses. As you understand, with high growth comes unique challenges, and adaptability and quick-thinking is a must. Thanks again for taking the time for your feedback. Kind regards, GetYourGuide

    Continue reading
  2. "Product admin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at GetYourGuide full-time

    Pros

    quick learning curve, decent pay

    Cons

    not flexible, mundane daily work

    Continue reading
    GetYourGuide2019-02-24

    GetYourGuide Response

    March 20, 2019Talent Co-ordinator

    Hi, Thank you for taking the time for writing your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our dynamic atmosphere. We work hard to ensure that we are building a sense of community and providing our employees with mentorship and learning opportunities to grow both personally and professionally. We always encourage to actively take part in the feedback rounds and talking with your manager regarding work in your 1 on 1s. Learning is one of our core values, and we want all our employees to feel positively about the learning opportunities that come along with working in a fast- moving and high growth start-up. Thank you for providing this feedback and best of luck in your future career. Kind regards, GetYourGuide

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (26)

    "Breach of Contract"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GetYourGuide

    Pros

    In reality, they are unreliable.

    Cons

    These are slippery people who have no regard for the "ethics" they pretend to on their site. Beware. Be realistic. New business with an uncertain business model and young founders with no respect for people or the law.

    Continue reading
    GetYourGuide2017-03-17
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Nice company to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Freelancer 

    I have been working at GetYourGuide

    Pros

    As a freelancer, I can say I had and have a positive experience working with GYG. Payments always made on time and clear every month. Committment and quality of my work are always recognized, especially with extra tasks assignments if needed. Communication is great with my department manager. Friendly environment and atmosphere.

    Cons

    No cons experienced for my personal position.

    GetYourGuide2017-01-26

    GetYourGuide Response

    January 29, 2018Talent Co-ordinator

    Hi, Thank you for your review. We are happy to know that you have had a positive experience working with GYG from both a logistical standpoint as well as in the feedback you receive on your quality work. It is crucial to us that all of our employees, including our network of freelancers, feel valued for their work. All the best, GetYourGuide

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (5)

    "One of the best start ups in Berlin to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GetYourGuide

    Pros

    Even after leaving GYG I still consider it the best company I have ever worked for. Best thing about it? The people. They put a lot of effort into finding the right people for the company and that results into a really good work environment. Sure, it might be annoying to go through a really long hiring process, but they do it to make sure that the people who join are truly a good culture fit and on which you can always count on. They allow you to express yourself and your colleagues respect you, most managers are experienced and they know what they are doing while still staying down to earth. The management is very transparent and approachable, on a monthly level the whole company can see the results and all the numbers that they want to see. Even when things are not going well, they are still honest and share all the details with everyone. Oh, and the company is really really customer oriented. You will obviously sometimes have bad experiences and not every customer will end up happy, but GYGs management is truly customer oriented and they will do everything they can to offer the best customer experience to their customers. Some other things that you get as an employee : free breakfast, friday pizza and beers, great teamevent and company parties, good team environment etc.

    Cons

    Like every start up, its sometimes not that organized and some bad choices get made, but in general I never had a lot of complaints about it.

    Continue reading
    GetYourGuide2016-10-07
  6. Helpful (18)

    "Unstable company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at GetYourGuide full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Young co-workers, friendly management team, opportunities to learn.

    Cons

    Inconsistent and sometimes wacky management decisions, frequent dismissal, big turnover, low salaries.

    Continue reading
    GetYourGuide2014-10-13
  7. "This is how a business should be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Partner Success Manager in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GetYourGuide full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing people and supportive culture, it is fast paced but with clear direction.

    Cons

    So far I have not found any negatives, this is not an environment for someone who wants to take it easy.

    Continue reading
    GetYourGuide2020-02-04
  8. "Great company culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GetYourGuide part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - great company culture, it is a great environment to go to everyday - international environment - company growing rapidly which means lots of opportunities

    Cons

    - the ability to grow becomes more competitive as the company grows

    GetYourGuide2020-01-04

    GetYourGuide Response

    January 16, 2020Talent Co-ordinator

    Hello, Thanks for taking the time to write this review. We’re happy to hear that you enjoy the company culture and the diverse work environment. We are growing very quickly, which means lots of new challenges and opportunities within the company. In regards to your thoughts on personal growth, we encourage you to have a conversation with your manager about how you can drive your development forward. Seek out the areas you wish to develop in and make a concrete learning plan to achieve your goals. You might also consider reaching out to our Talent Development team for support. Thanks again for providing your feedback. We really appreciate it. All the best, GetYourGuide

    Continue reading
  9. "GYGilead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Berlin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GetYourGuide full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    / / / /

    Cons

    A toxic, high pressured environment fuelled by a blame culture & masked by 'processes' & 'transparency' via JIRA ticket systems. 360 feedback, retro review meetings, weekly team stands ups are all used to single out & expose employees in front of their peers under the guise of open communication, creating high levels of nervous tension & anxiety on a daily basis for many. Employees are expected to embody corporate & brand values to a cult-like degree, with any questioning or deviation brandished "negativity". Despite repeated & fervent feedback surrounding flexibility & employee satisfaction, management are active in ignoring this in effort to further their goal of an IPO with the ongoing expectation that all employees should share the same blind, unreserved rewardless commitment via whatever means.

    GetYourGuide2020-02-06
  10. Helpful (2)

    "the culture and values are not what portrayed on blog and media"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Berlin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GetYourGuide full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    some people are great but unfortunately they're being pushed out by the bad apples

    Cons

    No focus on developing people and learning, the company cuts costs on people instead of reducing stupid wastes on ideas by consultancy led ideas. Many consultancy background hires have been added and placed in director positions, and they destroyed the work environment, collaborative and culture environment. Now unless you're a yes man you're threatened that you'll be fired unless you stop challenging thier ideas. Retaliations and blackmails are a constant, and green lighted by all C-execs, since they hired the consultancy directors who have killed all the clarity and learning values the company had. DO NOT apply, because the benefits have also been cut without any warning. What they are saying and publishing is not the truth and reality when in the company. Many people are leaving due to this, as there is no appreciation of the people by the company. There are no growth possibilities unless you have good bonds with the consultancy people who are also best friends with C execs, and are doing whatever they want, whether it's uncompliant, unethical etc There's no learning budget nor trainings provided, nor any support from HR on this matter at all. They fired the only HR person that was helping the people, because he was uncovering all the issues and was trying to help us to not be thretaned and crate a new safe work environemnt and culture. Cexecs want you to work overtime and be political or else you're fired, and without being paid or given benefits or recognition of any kind.

    Continue reading
    GetYourGuide2020-01-31

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 162 reviews