GitLab Reviews

Updated 11 Jun 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 232 of over 243 reviews

4.6
90%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
GitLab CEO Sid Sijbrandij
Sid Sijbrandij
180 Ratings
Pros
  • "The handbook is not a marketing tool(in 26 reviews)

  • "100% Remote work with a focus on results over hours(in 24 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "If remote work doesn't agree with your mindset, this isn't the place for you(in 23 reviews)

  • "Working fully remote isn't for everyone(in 10 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year
      Featured Review

      best company I have worked for in my career

      30 Jun 2020 - Account Executive in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      smart people, work life balance, family first culture, great benefits, working from home, great product

      Cons

      No real cons that are worth mentioning. Sometimes personalities clash but thats normal. As a company, its a great place to work

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company, great culture, great people, happy customers!

      6 Apr 2021 - Senior Strategic Account Leader in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Vision, purpose & values that are applied every single day, consistently across the whole organization - A level of openness and transparency that is unparalleled in the industry - Market response and enthusiasm to our remote first approach & method

      Cons

      None - iteration & continuous improvement built into our cultural fabric

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Poor. I was headhunter by the EMEA VP, 3 months later he left, and I was released on a first in first out basis

      25 May 2021 - Great Company, But Hire and Fire Culture in Reading, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great product (source code management), great vision to expand into other areas of DevOps and CD/CI but yet to be realised. Remote working is cool.

      Cons

      Senior UK Management have no soul

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Not all as it seems

      7 Jan 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Remote working, transparency, pay, budget for office set-up

      Cons

      I wish I could be writing more positives but unfortunately, I had a bad experience working here. They don't really know what they want or need when hiring, and seem to hire and fire new people quite often (with a non-disclosure agreement). They were not very supportive of juggling parenting/working during Covid and school closure. I wonder if the CEO actually knows what is going on in his company or if it's inept Managers/HR muddling along. I felt victimised, unsupported and never experienced working in a culture like this before. Shame. You are asked to review on Glassdoor within your first 30 days, misleading....explains a lot of rose tinted perspectives.

      Continue reading
      13 people found this review helpful

      GitLab Response

      Talent Brand Manager

      We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback, but we're disappointed to hear that this was your experience at GitLab. As our leaders have reminded the team many times over the past year, we're firm believers that family and friends come first, and work comes second. This part of our core values is especially important during a global pandemic. We encourage all team members to please reach out to their manager or People Business Partner with feedback on how we can better incorporate "family and friends first" into the daily GitLab experience. Thank you again for sharing your input to help us continue to iterate and improve. We wish you all the best!

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work

      2 Dec 2020 - Recruiting 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Highly collaborative environment. A lot of autonomy and trust and the whole company lives and operates by the values they publish in every aspect of the company. Great teams throughout!

      Cons

      Hard to identify any con's - if anything they could be clearer in the pathway's for progression in roles and how to get there

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      No surprises here. Exactly what is advertised!

      15 May 2020 - Senior Backend Engineer in Birmingham, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - The handbook is not a marketing tool. The whole company lives and breathes the handbook and it's fantastic. Since I joined, nothing has surprised me as every process and expectation is defined. - CEO and executive team are not hidden away. Taking an active role in day-to-day activities. Open to difficult questions from team members regularly. - Very open and transparent. If it can be public, it is. - Remote work is brilliant. Proper work/life balance is so much easier to achieve, which makes me more productive.

      Cons

      None yet! It's been an entirely positive experience. If remote work doesn't agree with your mindset, this isn't the place for you!

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Political correctness gone mad...!

      23 Sep 2019 - Security Engineer in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Remote workforce across the globe, Competitive pay - but better negotiate upfront! They don't offer as big of raises and seem to pay new hires way better than the current employees. The brand is well known especially within the open source and DevOps community!

      Cons

      I'll be honest, as a gay man of color I'm all for equality and respecting everyone but GitLab takes PC culture to an extreme, unnecessarily. Just google "gitlab values" for yourself. It seems they are inclined to penalize even slightest of mis-utterances like "hey guys!" (which is very accepted even in the GLBT community) as opposed to "hi people...". It's pedantry at its best and I honestly don't see how so much focus on gender studies is any productive? Contrast this with a non-diverse team of 4 white, straight, cis guys, just saying, who'd never have run into this "issue." And while their "at least one female interviewer must be present" is encouraging and a step forward, I also ask where does it end. Logically, trans people are likely most likely to be discriminated against due to obvious bias we have but their culture seems to follow a biased American, PC model of "diversity" where people in power - women and men cater to themselves in practice. Please by all means make accommodations for minorities like us, but not at the risk of alienating the vast majority of your employees - my colleagues, most of whom are actually decent and accepting people to begin with. At the end of the day, because of things like these people like me get misrepresented and misunderstood by the majority...

      Continue reading
      13 people found this review helpful

      GitLab Response

      Diversity and Inclusion Manager

      Thank you for bringing up an important and hard topic that is challenging for all companies, including GitLab, to get it right. We’ve defined behaviors that demonstrate company values so that team members can understand what is expected at GitLab. Inclusive behavior is a priority for us and, while some of the expectations may seem overly sensitive at times, we’d prefer this over the risk of being insensitive and non-inclusive. The goal is to foster an inclusive environment where anyone can contribute. You mentioned one of the steps we’re taking to make our hiring practices more inclusive -- having at least one woman on each interview panel. To your point, there are many more dimensions of diversity beyond that, and we’re actively iterating on that approach in a GitLab issue to be more inclusive in our interview process. Thanks again for your candid input to help GitLab continue to grow and improve.

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Maybe not for everyone, but I love it here

      18 Sep 2019 - Senior Frontend Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - GitLab is a remote worker's dream - Their values are great and a much more than a sign painted on a wall. We mean them and we adhere to them every day no-matter your level or status. - You're treated with respect and everyone has a voice - The directors and higher level staff are the most approachable I've seen at any company - I get to work on a product I love - I get to meet and work with people from all over the world. Sometimes in person. Sometimes in wonderful locations.

      Cons

      - The growth here is amazing, but can be a little overwhelming at times. - Working this remotely can be hard for some people. There can be a steep learning curve if you're new to it. - Depending on your location, the pay isn't always amazing, but it is fair.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      I feel unbelievably lucky to be here

      2 Jan 2020 - Sales Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people are great, GitLab makes a point of hiring good humans and it shows You're trusted to do your job in the most productive way for you The company goes out of its way to make sure you don't feel alone as a remote worker

      Cons

      None that I can think of right now

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Early days - what a radically different approach to work/life balance!

      16 Oct 2019 - Solutions Architect in Cardiff, Wales, Wales
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I mean, there are literally so many "pros" that it's almost impossible to list them all, but I guess the ones that aren't so easily obvious (in the GitLab handbook!); the team are all really, really lovely, happy to help and very welcoming. You're given a large degree of autonomy, with a simple motto: "Make GitLab great!". It's definitely a company that is on the up-and-up.

      Cons

      It's the flip-side of some of the pros, really; the fully remote aspect certainly isn't for everyone, as is the expectation to self-motivate and be generally autonomous.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 232 Reviews

    Popular Careers with GitLab Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at GitLab? Share Your Experiences

    GitLab logo
    or