Halfords Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Halfords Reviews

Updated 11 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
57%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
Halfords CEO Graham Stapleton
Graham Stapleton
43 Ratings
Pros
  • "Enjoyed building and repairing bikes(in 31 reviews)

  • "you do get staff discount which is nice and you do get discounts on other sites(in 28 reviews)

Cons
  • "No progression for Part time workers(in 20 reviews)

  • "Lots of hidden expectations, eg working unpaid overtime to ensure that customers bikes/cars can be completed often with little notice(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technician in Bridgwater, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Halfords full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The place is so Awesome

    Cons

    Not any I can think of

    Halfords2019-10-09
  2. "Great place full of interesting people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - III B's Fitter in Ipswich, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Halfords full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great teamwork vibe. Always busy doing something. Learning new things every day. MVQ was being sorted through the company. 25% off most motoring/cycling products except electronics.

    Cons

    The salary is bad for what the work involves.

    Halfords2019-11-11
  3. "Duty manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Duty Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Halfords full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work for Progression available if you put the effort in and shine above others

    Cons

    There is really no cons

    Halfords2019-11-07
  4. "Good management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Winchester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Halfords part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Well run, Making our way up through ranking

    Cons

    Pay is noncompetitive in line with other stores, ie sainsbury's

    Halfords2019-10-30
  5. "Nothing to shout about"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Shirley, East Midlands, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Halfords full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Meet good people who become friends

    Cons

    Long hours Rubbish management Awful pay for hours you do

    Advice to Management

    Listen to staff

    Halfords2019-11-06
  6. "Unrealistic targets/impossible to achieve"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bike Mechanic in Bristol, England
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Halfords full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Easy work, people you work with, always things to do

    Cons

    Opening a store with only 2 members of staff is very dangerous, closing the store is even more so in the dark nights..regional managers are not giving the store managers enough staff or hours to do their jobs properly, or safely.. we are getting robbed daily in our store. No one cares..

    Advice to Management

    Halfords is a business and management are only Interested in increasing profits to keep their shareholders happy. It’s the same in every business, unfortunately cutting the staff hours given to managers who are already Struggling is a mere pittance.. there is a bigger problem with Halfords and that is the customer, they are not coming through the door and customers are deciding To purchase online. This is an... Halfords generated problem that started years ago. When profits have taken a dip, rather than invest and support their manager and listen to their staff (not regional managers) all they have done is try and squeeze every last penny out of the customer, when purchasing a product online I decide to do so because it’s easier than talking to the sales person who because he/she has been told to do so, will try and sell me numerous add on products such as slime, bcp, helmets, locks, lights etc... the list goes on. And it’s because of this that the customer decides to purchase online hassle free.. less and less customers return to our store because they do not want to be hassled by us. I ask every customer if they want these add-on and granted some customers do, but when most Customer decide against it, then I shouldn’t have my manager asking me why they said no?? In the eyes of Halfords and my manager they would prefer me to sell a £120 Apollo with £40 accessories than a £800 Boardman without accessories, because they only Look at their “numbers” for attachments with accessories. I have told My manager that I was unable complete a till procedure to the standard that Halfords expects because I had to serve a customer who was waiting in a queue, his reply was to acknowledge the customer but make them wait for 30 mins whilst I tap away on the till to finish my procedure lol... you couldn’t Make it up but thats a daily occurrence, There are so many targets we have to aim for now that it is impossible to “talk” to the customer, we have driven the customer away and it will only get worse, with less customers returning every year it’s only a matter of time until Halfords says it’s goodbyes

    Show More
    Halfords2019-10-29
  7. "Better places to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stock File Support 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Halfords part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots of training opportunities

    Cons

    Lack of appreciation of colleagues from management

    Advice to Management

    Show your colleagues they are appreciated rather than only punishing them when they do wrong

    Halfords2019-10-24
  8. "A lot of expectation, not much loyalty"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Halfords full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good hands on work, days off in the week, good holiday allowance if you dont mind working bank holidays

    Cons

    Lack of resources. No support when medical issues arise (Especially mental health). No exit interviews. Expectation to work more for no overtime.

    Advice to Management

    Be prepared to second into a role for a while without getting the full salary. - I was for 2 years. Training is good until you try to out it into practise with the resources you're given. All very well knowing how to manage a team, but when your team is 2-3 people it becomes less relevant. Progression is slow and low priority, especially from within. A very 'Ofsted' approach to senior management visits, make it... look good for the day then back to normal.

    Show More
    Halfords2019-10-15
  9. "Fairly poor pay, very busy during peak season"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Leamington, England

    I worked at Halfords part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice team ethos, will improve time management & multitasking ability

    Cons

    Poor pay, not enough staff for peak seasons

    Halfords2019-10-09
  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Sheffield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Halfords full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great training programmes, clear career progression process, conduct services as well as selling products which varies the day

    Cons

    Low wages until progression to store manager in comparison to other retailers. Tough work conditions in winter with the services that Halfords provide.

    Halfords2019-09-19
Found 415 reviews