Handy Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Handy Reviews

Updated 24 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
77%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Handy CEO  Oisin Hanrahan
Oisin Hanrahan
74 Ratings
Pros
  • "3 - After 3 months working as a cleaning I got very good returned customers and the job got easy(in 47 reviews)

  • "Flexible schedule is the only pro(in 32 reviews)

Cons
  • "Cleaners pay A LOT of "service fees"(in 90 reviews)

  • "The Customer cancellation rate is extremely high(in 69 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "good m8"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Handy full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    decent however long work days

    Cons

    work for over 50 hours each week

    Continue reading
    Handy2018-08-28
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Not Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Handy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Concept People working there were really cool

    Cons

    They have complete disregard for the cleaners and employees. Wouldn't describe as the most ethical company around

    Handy2016-11-25
  3. "Company lacking meaningful mangement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Handy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - good hours - ok-ish pay - simple work - more people less work

    Cons

    no growth prospect bad management average engineers

    Handy2020-01-25

    Handy Response

    February 6, 2020

    Hi - The issues you raise are inconsistent with our core values and what I experience leading the engineering team. The problems we are solving are complex, multi-faceted, and the decisions we make affect millions of users. The engineers we hire are highly skilled and we strive to create an open and collaborative environment where people can express their ideas. I've personally worked with many engineers on their growth trajectory here at Handy and beyond, and wish you brought your concerns to our attention while you were here. Because we do value growth and act on feedback, I would like to take the opportunity to talk to you about this directly if you are open to it. Thanks. Kulesh Kulesh Shanmugasundaram SVP Engineering

    Continue reading
  4. "Great people, great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Handy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Highly collaborative. Everyone can jump in with ideas, no matter their role. More importantly, any shared ideas or questions are heard out and addressed. - People here are great to work with. Everyone is excited about the work and are eager to help one another. - Individual and team achievements are recognized and celebrated on a regular basis. - Flexible PTO - Catered lunch

    Cons

    Haven't run into any, and don't think I will.

    Handy2019-12-23
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Handy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment focused on growth. The company definitely acknowledges peoples' hard work and successes. Feedback is highly encouraged across all levels. Alongside quarterly and annual reviews, most people have regular 1:1s with their team leader as well. Accessible C-Suite/Execs. Good Benefits & Perks (for the most part) - Unlimited PTO (they really do mean it, so long as you get your work done!), great family leave policy, catered lunch and dinner, regular team outings

    Cons

    Nothing major. No 401K match - but fingers crossed it's happening soon.

    Handy2019-09-03
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great culture."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Handy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - There's a huge focus on feedback. There are channels set up to encourage feedback across all levels and all departments. Hiring managers go through extensive training to ensure they know how to support people as *real* people. Consistent quarterly reviews + annual review for everyone. - So many brilliant and creative coworkers! I feel lucky to work along side the team at Handy. The executive team is well respected but has not been put on some sort of pedestal. Very easy to talk to. Open door policy. - Work hard play hard. Teams are encouraged to go on team outings to get to know each other outside of their day to day jobs. The company wide retreat is something I look forward to every year. - Free snacks, lunch and dinner are always a nice perk too.

    Cons

    Continue to work on communication and transparency to broader org. It's critical everyone is aligned and has a clear view into upcoming goals and growth.

    Handy2019-08-29
  7. "Best Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Handy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Frequent acknowledgment of your hard work, constant new, challenging projects to work on, visibility & transparency on company performance and high-level goals, people managers who actually care and develop their teams, unlimited vacation as long as you're getting your work done, best maternity/paternity leave policy of anywhere I've worked, nice & cool co-workers.

    Cons

    If you want an easy job where you just coast this isn't the place for you.

    Handy2019-08-29
  8. "Amazing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Online Marketing Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Handy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Catered lunch, great office, amazing people.

    Cons

    wages are lower than average

    Handy2019-09-10
  9. Helpful (13)

    "shady company with shady business practives"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Handy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    typically tech company benefits, unlimited* vacation

    Cons

    this company engages in duplicitous and unethical business practices towards its customers and contractors alike. It's even trying to change laws to screw its contractors even more

    Handy2019-07-28

    Handy Response

    August 30, 2019SVP of People

    Thank you for taking the time to post this review to our Glassdoor page. With millions of completed jobs & an average customer rating of 4.7 out of 5 stars, we are proud of our service offerings and disagree with your characterization of how we treat customers & pros alike. And we proudly support efforts to modernize laws that allow companies to provide additional support to workers while also supporting the platforms by clarifying existing laws, ultimately keeping existing jobs and paving the way for future growth. Unfortunately, when someone posts a message to our page, Glassdoor is unable to fully verify their identity in relation to their employment. This means you may or may not actually work here. But if this review is indeed from a Software Engineer at Handy I strongly encourage you to talk to me personally about your concerns. I am likely only sitting a row or two away from you. Or, you can use any of the multitude of internal feedback channels and we will work hard to address any issue that you raise. Thank you, Mike Wanderer SVP, People Operations

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great job for early career development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Experience Associate in New York, NY

    I worked at Handy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fairly easy to get in Friendly staff Straight forward expectations

    Cons

    Metrics driven You will be watched like a hawk

    Handy2019-05-18

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 112 reviews