Hitachi Rail Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Hitachi Rail Reviews

Updated 10 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
64%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Hitachi Rail Group CEO Alistair Dormer (no image)
Alistair Dormer
35 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good working environment, clean(in 8 reviews)

  • "Great people, excellent office work space, good pay and a nice working environment(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "(in 3 reviews)

  • "Managers think they are better than everyone else and treat you like second class citizens(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Working culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hitachi Rail full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Supporting team and good environment to work

    Cons

    Not specific but work and life depends upon the team

    Hitachi Rail2019-04-19

    Hitachi Rail Response

    May 3, 2019Employee Relations Team

    Great to hear you've had a positive experience, thanks for sharing!

    Continue reading
  2. "So far so good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance Technician in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Hitachi Rail full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team, good shift patterns. Loads of time off, good pay. Good support and training

    Cons

    Have to deal with unpleasant task at times. But only. On rare occasions

    Hitachi Rail2020-01-30
  3. "Sold the dream"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Member in Newton Aycliffe, England

    I have been working at Hitachi Rail full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's well paid for factory work

    Cons

    Managers favour friends over others. Supplier parts shortages always seem to be big problem, leading to standing around with nothing to do. Get stuck on the same jobs for to long with not much rotation.

    Hitachi Rail2020-02-10
  4. Helpful (1)

    "My worst job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hitachi Rail full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Location of the office Location Location

    Cons

    They are proud of giving equal opportunity to men and women. Most women are in secretarial jobs and technical jobs are filled in by men. Japanese are the priority When they say there's opportunity for growth they mean you can grow from a receptionist to a secretary! There is no plan for training skilled workers.

    Continue reading
    Hitachi Rail2019-11-17

    Hitachi Rail Response

    January 3, 2020Employee Relations Team

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. At Hitachi Rail we have an extensive training programme, run by our Learning and Development team to enable colleagues to progress in their chosen careers.

    Continue reading
  5. "Reactive environment, negative culture, massive room for improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hitachi Rail full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The design of the trains are excellent and we offer an excellent end product to the customer

    Cons

    Lots of recent leadership changes have meant priorities keep changing and we are working in a very reactive environment which has got quite negative. There is a lack of clear and documented processes in a lot of areas. There often seems to be a conflict between the need to expand and deliver vs making financial savings.

    Continue reading
    Hitachi Rail2019-10-24

    Hitachi Rail Response

    January 3, 2020Employee Relations Team

    Many thanks for sharing your experience. At Hitachi Rail we are working to a three year business plan and tracking our performance against it. Regular updates can be found across all of our internal communications channels.

    Continue reading
  6. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance Technician 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hitachi Rail full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good salary, pension & benefits

    Cons

    Lack of organisation within the company

    Hitachi Rail2019-10-06

    Hitachi Rail Response

    October 7, 2019Employee Relations Team

    Great to hear you've had a positive experience, thanks for sharing!

    Continue reading
  7. "Discrimination"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Member in Newton Aycliffe, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hitachi Rail full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Clean job, to much time on SAP to do job I as to quick job which normally takes 28h. I done within 5 hours so plenty of time to complete task, very easy job even my 14 years old son will manage

    Cons

    Badly organized, I was discriminate by manager simply he try to find the way to kick me out. But Ieave myself.

    Continue reading
    Hitachi Rail2019-11-09

    Hitachi Rail Response

    January 3, 2020Employee Relations Team

    Thank you for your contribution. We are always looking at ways to make improvements and we thank you for your feedback.

    Continue reading
  8. "Hitachi Rail Europe is a decent company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Maintenance Technician in London, England

    I have been working at Hitachi Rail full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Shift pattern is very good.

    Cons

    Working 12 hour shifts can be tiring.

    Hitachi Rail2019-09-08

    Hitachi Rail Response

    October 7, 2019Employee Relations Team

    Thank you for your review - We really value your feedback.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Railway Technician at Hitachi London"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Technician in London, England
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Hitachi Rail full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent Pay package and benefits. Diverse and multicultural colleagues. Chances for progression/internal jobs availability to move up the grade.

    Cons

    Very disorganised and the budget and funding are not channelled at the right avenue, such as high quality training, tooling/equipment, diagnostic laptops etc. Nepotism which pretty much exists in most company, is sadly also present here. Very poor communication among different department. Dissemination of important technical and engineering information is difficult to obtain. Not much feeling of being appreciated and sometimes very mundane and repetitive task can demotivate. Higher management does not seem to care about the workers.

    Continue reading
    Hitachi Rail2019-08-30

    Hitachi Rail Response

    October 7, 2019Employee Relations Team

    Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion of working at Hitachi Rail. We take all feedback seriously and it's extremely helpful for us, so thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

    Continue reading
  10. "Not your typical rail company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hitachi Rail full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good wages, tidy colleagues. Interesting job

    Cons

    Poor middle management. No structure. Many ongoing issues and discrepancies across the business

    Continue reading
    Hitachi Rail2019-07-05

    Hitachi Rail Response

    July 8, 2019Employee Relations Team

    Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion of working at Hitachi Rail. We take all views on-board and share these with our management team, however we would also encourage you to speak with your HR business partner to resolve any of the frustrations you have outlined in your review. Thank you again for your comments.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 61 reviews