Hobsons Reviews

Updated Aug 19, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 300 of over 321 reviews

4.0
80%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Hobsons Chief Executive Officer Kate Cassino
Kate Cassino
62 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work-life balance/benefits(in 48 reviews)

  • "You are able to work from home once a week(in 18 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper management tends to value the bottom line far more than taking care of employees(in 16 reviews)

  • "Last year, sales lost half the entire team with most quitting and few getting let go(in 10 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Tech

    Join the conversation on

    Tech

    1y

    a 

    Sales Engineer

    Let's see what we are all making. Include current salary, location, job role (e.g. Software Engineer; Product Manager) and YoE please. Reply using your comapny.

    678

    219 Comments

    Tech

    82K Members 

    Ask candid career questions

    -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.co.uk&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Hobsons~123072
    Join the conversation on
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      N/A

      Feb 8, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Sheffield, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A good employer to work for

      Cons

      There is not anything that comes to mind

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee

      good company

      Jul 9, 2019 - Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people are well looked after

      Cons

      Leadership could do with a bit of direction

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Worst but best experience

      Apr 25, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - it paid when i needed a job

      Cons

      - the amount of pay - the work culture - career progression - pretty much almost everything, was the worst place I ever worked.

      5 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Quite possibly the worst job I have ever had

      Aug 30, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Not many beyond the salary

      Cons

      Micromanaging, bullying people, non-inclusive culture

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Terrible experience

      Aug 12, 2017 - Sales and Marketing in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I'm not really sure there are any to be honest. Nice office space? Everything looks shiny and nice on the surface...

      Cons

      Everything about the place. Majority of staff are aggressive, rude and foster a horrible working environment. People all out for themselves, with no real teamwork

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Fantastic team - loved working there!

      May 18, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great, young workforce. Social life is fantastic.

      Cons

      Work is a bit repetitive.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Account Manager- SSO

      Nov 16, 2016 - Account Manager SSO in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      flexibility- they allowed me to go part time so that I could undertake a full-time masters

      Cons

      Wooden, SOP- driven role. Any suggestions re doing things differently were discounted.

      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Unsustainable turnover of employees

      Aug 26, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Peer group and other employees are supportive and fun. Environment is fairly flexible for some people

      Cons

      Where to start... Senior Leaders (internationally) are self serving and completely disconnected from the EMEA business but continue to make (terrible) decisions on behalf of that office. Good employees with extensive knowledge of the market are leaving by the handful. The attitude tends to be 'it was time for them to move on anyway' rather than any level of introspection as to why everyone is leaving. There is no ownership or accountability in the EMEA business as everything is owned globally, therefore there are now plenty of leaders with nothing or no-one to lead. The global matrix structure means that decision making is incredibly slow and frankly ridiculous! Everyone is very secretive, leading to a culture of distrust and a very unpleasant working environment. Senior management need to step in very quickly and turn things around before the EMEA business goes under.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Losing good staff and clients

      Aug 7, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The work/life balance is good. Casual clothing.

      Cons

      I work in the London office and Hobsons are currently bleeding so many good staff that there is a new policy that people leaving are not to be announced by e-mail nor given any kind of leaving speech. Employees that have worked here for 5 or 8 years are leaving without so much as a thank you from management. When clients leave it's quietly swept under the rug whereas any gain is loudly talked about in several e-mail chains where senior management loudly congratulate themselves to the office wide e-mail distribution list. Instead of looking to retain employees, deal with the reasons they're leaving or introspectively look at why clients are not renewing contracts the policy from above is radio silence. It's patronising and also telling of the company at the moment. It's just keeping up appearances at the moment. Promotions are often given without interview to those the hiring party is friends with. A company in decline.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Glad to be gone

      May 26, 2015 - Anonymous in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Met some great people, and can honestly say they do tend to recruit really likeable people who are fun to work with. There are some good benefits such as a yearly bonus, travel loan, yearly awards and the opportunity for international travel.

      Cons

      Generally had poor management towards the last few years of my tenure, which is important to me. Team led abysmally, non-existent development plans, patronising, bullish and unapproachable. A manager who is constantly saying how busy they are wears thin quickly and doesn't lead by example. One of my main reasons for leaving. Senior management seem to spend most of their time reorganising the company like it's a boardgame or something. I understand they are going through another one as I type this. I rated the work/balance poor simply because I had a manager that would look down on you for leaving at 5pm despite working hard throughout the day. When I once mentioned that I had a lot of work to do and was struggling, I was told that 'it's not a 37hr week job, you know that'. Erm, actually, my contract did say 37hrs a week and working late should not be mandatory or encouraged. There's more to life than work. It belies the strength of the resource available meaning the team was constantly stretched and stressed. In my time there was some odd hiring moves. I once had to be interviewed 3 times for an internal position, yet a colleague for the same position was not interviewed at all. People getting the prefix 'senior' added to their job title out of the blue, what was that about?

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 300 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Hobsons Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Hobsons? Share Your Experiences

    or