ICR Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

ICR Reviews

Updated 24 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
77%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
ICR CEO Tom Ryan and Don Duffy (no image)
Tom Ryan and Don Duffy
7 Ratings
Pros
  • "I think ICR attracts hard-working, professional and nice people and the low turnover rate overall demonstrates that people like working here(in 5 reviews)

  • "Flexible work environment - make it very easy to work remotely(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "I struggle a bit with work/life balance as there can be long days and you're expected to be on call at all times(in 8 reviews)

  • "Expected to be on-call 24/7 without a salary to match this expectation(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Positive, a good place to postdoc."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bioinformatician in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at ICR full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    ICR Sutton has a good and open culture and the on-site bar and other social facilities are good.

    Cons

    Underpaid compared to other academic institutes, ICR Sutton is effectively in the middle of nowhere. Little in the way of career development, but that's just academia.

    Advice to Management

    Beware idiots in your ranks. Some people talk the talk but appear to know nothing.

    ICR2014-10-11
  2. "Great job, but hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Managing Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ICR full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Learn every day, work with very motivated but friendly and helpful colleagues. Work on important projects and see your impact on company clients. Flexible work environment - make it very easy to work remotely.

    Cons

    Work a lot, even on vacation.

    ICR2019-09-24
  3. "Career Advancement & Opportunity; No Two Days are the Same"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Managing Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ICR full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    ICR is a fast paced strategic communications and advisory firm with an incredibly smart, talented and hard-working team. We are relentless in pursuit of helping our clients achieve their communications and business goals, and team members are rewarded for doing so with significant opportunities for financial and professional growth. I have worked at three other communications firm as well as in-house and have been... with ICR for more than 7.5 years – there is no other firm like it in terms of diversity of clients and workload, exposure to subject matter, career advancement and financial upside. On a daily basis, we are helping our clients navigate a range of communications challenges and opportunities, which exposes team members to nearly every conceivable business issue, topic and situation – keeping us sharp and engaged. The diversity of our client base and the challenges and opportunities we help them navigate means that no two days are ever the same, which keeps things very interesting and exciting on a daily basis. At ICR, you have the opportunity to create your own career path based on your strengths and interests, with significant financial upside as you prove your value to clients and the firm over time. ICR is a very entrepreneurial firm and management encourages team members to carve their own path, which motivates and inspires team members to work smart and hard on a daily basis. While we work very hard, management is keenly aware of the importance of having a work/life balance, and provides ample opportunity and flexibility to ensure we have personal and family time.

    Show More

    Cons

    We are in the client service business so it simply not realistic to fully leave work at home. Our clients and team members expect us to be reachable and responsive after work and sometimes on weekends as client situations can be unpredictable and arise at off hours/times. ICR is not for everyone because of this, but as a client service business in today’s fast paced world - it is inevitable. That said, technology... allows for the flexibility to manage client situations away from the office and not tied to our desks.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Management has made significant strides with employee communications and engagement, but there is always room for improvement. Continue to provide a flexible work environment to enable a work/life balance while still meeting our clients’ needs and team/firm goals.

    ICR2019-09-23
  4. "A Great Place to Work/Live"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Managing Director in Norwalk, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ICR full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I have worked at ICR for 20 years and while the Company has grown significantly during my time it has always maintained the feel of a small firm with open lines of communication throughout the organization. ICR rewards hard work with very competitive compensation and this is true across all levels. At the same time, the leadership team has always made it clear they value their employees' time outside of the office... by providing resources and opportunities that allow individuals to properly balance life and work.

    Show More

    Cons

    With ICR being a client service business, employees need to be responsive to client needs and demands. And with each team operating multiple clients, work days can be long and demanding at times especially during earnings season. Being reachable and responsive means it is difficult to "unplug" however thanks to technology you don't need to be tied to your desk to execute the job.

    Advice to Management

    Continue adding resources that allow all employees to improve at their job and creating opportunities for associates to advance their careers at ICR.

    ICR2019-09-17
  5. "Work Hard, Add Value, Be Rewarded"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Vice President in Norwalk, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ICR full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I've been at ICR for nearly 12 years and it was one of the best decisions I've ever made. You are working with a group of extremely smart people, and you can't help but build your base of knowledge and become an expert in many areas over time. Vast majority of colleagues are very friendly, and I've always able to tap them for knowledge or help when dealt with an unfamiliar situation. It is a very meritocratic... environment - create value and you will be rewarded - your ability and talent dictate your success. While you are expected to work very hard for your clients and the firm, you don't need to put in "face-time", and management continues to work hard on improving the overall work-life balance for everyone. Healthy culture - you're expected to execute for your clients, but there's also plenty of opportunity to have a little fun.

    Show More

    Cons

    ICR is in the service business, which means you are on call constantly for your clients, particularly during earnings season or special situations. If you're expecting to work 9-5 and then clock out, this is not the place for you. The job demands that you be near your phone, and yes, you may need to work while on vacation (I imagine 95%+ of VPs and above have done this at least once). While not a "con", employees... that are not detail-oriented are a poor fit - you are expected to be efficient, timely and accurate. Interactions outside of your group can be fairly limited - not because of any animus between groups, but typically because everyone is focused intently on their own work.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    One thing that may help younger, less tenured employees advance would be to offer them more online courses in business writing, accounting, etc. It can be difficult for SVPs/MDs to guide their associates given the number of responsibilities already on their plate, but giving associates/VPs the opportunity to take initiative, learn more on their own and take on greater responsibilities could lead to greater... employee retention, smaller turnover and less time needed to train replacement hires.

    Show More
    ICR2019-09-16
  6. "Good, smart people in a mismanaged firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Account Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at ICR full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Smart, hard-working team Firm promotes flexible work schedule Strong compensation & bonuses

    Cons

    Firm runs too lean; very challenging to devote 100% to any one client Pace can be manic and chaotic Harder to get promoted compared to other agencies Employees spread across more accounts than what is typical at other PR firms

    Advice to Management

    Put your employees first and the rest will follow

    ICR2019-09-23
  7. "Hard Work Reaps Big Rewards"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Vice President in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ICR full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    • Competitive salaries and advancement opportunities • Incredibly smart, versatile and highly-skilled teammates • A “can do” M.O. that speaks to anyone with an entrepreneurial spirit • You’re always heard – and senior management will actually make changes based on employee feedback (no lip service here) • Granted autonomy to really create something meaningful with your work – if there’s a will, you will... be granted the way to make it happen • Extensive travel opportunities • Work from home Fridays, in-office happy hours, massive company events and an incredible conference that truly make the long hours spent on the day-to-day worth it in the end • Caliber of agency-client relationships at ICR is unlike anything I’ve ever seen at other agencies (and I’ve worked at both major, international firms and small boutiques); you truly do become an extension of every client’s team (a “right arm” as I often call it), and that leads to long client tenure and some amazingly creative and incredibly successful work

    Show More

    Cons

    • Group structure can sometimes make it difficult to cross-pollinate with other teams or team members, even when/if they might be highly skilled and better suited for a particular client, project or situation • While the talent is truly top-notch, teams are very lean (a “win the business, then hire,” versus a people-first investment mentality); team members can be spread thin across accounts, which sometimes... prevents us from giving each client the full attention that need and deserve • Culture is one that demands a lot from its employees, which can include very long hours and occasional weekend work • If you’re not a Type A personality, ICR may not be the right fit – yes, the volume of work is demanding, but so is the quality of execution (great for clients, asks a LOT of employees who might not be categorically detail oriented)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    While the opportunities for advancement are great and salaries are competitive, not all employees are (solely) monetarily motivated – building on all that's already been established to push for a more inclusive, purpose-driven culture within the four walls of ICR would go far. Management has always been so good at listening to and responding to employee feedback, but the next step is to define what “working for/at... ICR” stands for on a personal level. Building that purpose and rallying the troops behind it can only lead to longer employee tenure, higher engagement, etc. (and make the long hours all the more worth it!).

    Show More
    ICR2019-09-07
  8. "Long-tenured employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Managing Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ICR full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I have been a long-time employee (15+ years) and have risen from VP to MD during my tenure. I think ICR attracts hard-working, professional and nice people and the low turnover rate overall demonstrates that people like working here. In my experience ICR people are the kind of people that you would like to be friends with in your personal life as well. Promotions are based upon ability and willingness to take on... additional work and demonstrate a “can-do” attitude as well as source new clients (this is especially true at the SVP level and at the MD level the revenue that you generate for the firm defines your total comp package). It is a merit-based environment. Over time, get to work on a variety of client situations for both small and large companies. I have generally learned more from the smaller companies than the large as there is less bureaucracy and they have fewer outside advisors.

    Show More

    Cons

    As with other professional service organizations, it is not the environment for everyone. There is often an expectation that one has to “drop everything” to service a client – late night phone calls, answering emails at similarly late hours, and writing communications materials over the weekend is generally considered fair game. During busy earnings seasons, I often spend half of every Sunday “catching up”.... Traveling, sometimes at a moment’s notice, is similarly expected – and not always convenient or possible given personal situations. The work has a certain rhythm to it (four earnings seasons a year in the IR function) that after a while is often monotonous too.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Improve internal communications - little idea of what is going on at the firm beyond my group.

    ICR2019-09-06
  9. "Great workplace and full of opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Norwalk, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ICR full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I've been with ICR for 13 years, and since the beginning, I've had nothing but the best workplace experience. Very collaborative work environment with MDs ready and willing to help associate and VP level workers to improve within the company. Truly a team-oriented group of people. They also compensate their employees fairly.

    Cons

    None so far. I've had great experience in the past 13 years as a full time employee

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work. You've created a learning environment that has made ICR a great place to work.

    ICR2019-09-05
  10. "Engaging environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ICR

    Pros

    I found the atmosphere to be very comfortable among employees. Interacting with members of other divisions was encouraged. This environment was conducive to learning about all the company had to offer.

    Cons

    Honestly, I had an amazing experience.

    ICR2019-08-25
Found 54 reviews
</>Embed