IFRC Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

IFRC Reviews

Updated Nov 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
36%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
IFRC President Tadateru Konoé
Tadateru Konoé
26 Ratings
Pros
  • "Working environment was condusive(in 4 reviews)

  • "Independence and mission driven individuals maintain a focus on delivering important assistance around the world(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "(in 2 reviews)

  • "Extreme level of corruption, high level of frustration due to idiotic burocracy(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "GIS Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - GIS Analyst in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IFRC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Multi culture environment which is adoptable to every fresher as well

    Cons

    coffee maker need to be repaire

    Continue reading
    IFRC2017-09-17
  2. "Finance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at IFRC

    Pros

    Perfect job with a lot of managerial responsibilities.

    Cons

    There are not any defect.

    IFRC2017-06-16
  3. "It did great work by helping people in Haiti after the earthquake."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Administrative Officer in Port-au-Prince
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IFRC full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It was satisfying work because I was helping people.

    Cons

    The work environment could be at some times very stressing.

    IFRC2019-12-01
  4. "yay team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Volunteer in Sydney

    I worked at IFRC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great community vibe, positive colleague and management communications, I really enjoyed my time there, worked flat out yet that's easy when it's a great place to be.

    Cons

    I found Red Cross to be old school hierarchical and clicky as far as upper management went. This is a large company, so I guess this is my response/reaction after a lifetime of working in smaller retail independant businesses. If you can get a job there, go for it.

    IFRC2019-11-22
  5. "Volunteered at Danish Red Cross in Copenhagen Denmark"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Volunteer in Copenhagen

    I worked at IFRC part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very exciting and meaningful work. I worked as a guide for the Red Cross virtual reality experience in which groups of students, mostly elementary and middle school children but also college students would come visit the Danish Red Cross headquarters in Copenhagen Denmark and learn about Red Cross intiatives through interactive virtual reality workshops. The experience covered topics from natural disaster relief, aid in war and conflict, domestic abuse intervention and first aid. The main goal of the experience was to teach children about the state of the world, what red cross does to improve peoples lives and inspire people to pay it forward and think about what they can do to make the world a better place. The staff was also very friendly and it was a blast helping out.

    Cons

    Work is volunteer so there is no pay.

    IFRC2019-09-24
  6. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Officer in Las Américas
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IFRC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Professionality and food peoole in general

    Cons

    Not easy to work in this environment

    IFRC2019-09-05
  7. Helpful (2)

    "A beaucracy's bureaucracy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Officer in Geneva
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IFRC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    In theory, there is so much good that could happen.

    Cons

    - Rules change depending upon the person you speak with. - Favoritism and allocation of staff and resources is heavily swayed by personal relationships rather than need and workload. - The internal structure is unnecessarily duplicative (paper and digital copies, physical signatures, digital sign-offs with paper replicas). - Industrialism mentality to work (must be physically present and under a strict eye of a supervisor in order to complete the task) - High tendency to hire a single person when two are needed (long hiring delays and gross under resourcing of staff) - Leadership is predominantly white male with echo chambers within some of the circles - Policies are endorsed without testing (resulting in endless frustrations when accidentally caught as the first person trying to follow the rules) - Nonchalance to employee contracting. Received a contract the day my prior contract ended, as well as after my contract had started. At the National Society level, acceptance of staff members becoming "volunteers" when payments and contracts lapse.

    Continue reading
    IFRC2019-10-07
  8. "Very Satisfied"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Volunteer Partner in Fort Bragg, NC

    I have been working at IFRC part-time

    Pros

    Great environment and very supportive leadership

    Cons

    I personally don't have any bad comments

    IFRC2019-08-30
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Daily frustration"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Officer in Geneva
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IFRC full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I love the mission and mandate of IFRC. In the field, IFRC does great work in supporting National Societies

    Cons

    The bureaucracy and inability of co-workers to find solutions rather than place roadblocks at every turn is mind-numbing. A toxic environment with lots of people whose poor performance or inaction is tolerated and seemingly encouraged.

    Continue reading
    IFRC2019-08-19
  10. "Great workplace with a mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at IFRC full-time

    Pros

    A great workplace with a mission

    Cons

    Beaurocracy can be convoluted at times.

    IFRC2019-07-11
Found 54 reviews
</>Embed