Informa Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Informa Reviews

Updated 14 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Informa CEO Stephen A. Carter
Stephen A. Carter
188 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place, recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Informa full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work life balance, home working, feel trusted, able to get on with job, management don't interfere

    Cons

    Tech is a bit dated and no strategy to update. Need to leave if u want latest skills.

    Advice to Management

    Overall great place to work. All u need is an ambitious tech strategy and invest to implement it.

    Informa2019-09-18
  2. "."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Group Financial Accountant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Informa full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It is a family feel in a large organisation, they employ candidates of a high standard meaning everything happens quickly and efficiently

    Cons

    Career progression stopped at a certain level in finance

    Informa2019-09-30
  3. "Great place to learn but felt very underappreciated by upper managment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst II in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Informa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good training, good people around, shame about upper managment

    Cons

    Poor salary, progression promised but rarely delivered

    Advice to Management

    Look after the people at the bottom and they will stay longer!

    Informa2019-10-14
  4. "Excellent Graduate First time sales role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - DRM in London, England
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Informa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great teams to work with. Good benefits.

    Cons

    Basic is quite low. No formal sales training.

    Informa2019-09-25
  5. "Working at Informa"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Service Desk in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Informa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Staff Get to learn a lot from different departments

    Cons

    HR department is horrible

    Informa2019-09-24
  6. "Good Benefit Scheme but bad staff progression and pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Delegate Relations Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Informa full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefit scheme, large office environment, corporate culture and activities

    Cons

    progression, personal development, pay review, does not reward high acheivers

    Informa2019-10-01
  7. "I work at Informa more than 8 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sponsorship Sales in London, England

    I worked at Informa full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexible working , nice colleagues and great kids Christmas parties

    Cons

    Low salary, poor management, no progression

    Informa2019-09-19
  8. "Amazing Organisation To Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Membership Coordinator in Oxford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Informa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits all round

    Cons

    No cons of working at this organisation

    Informa2019-08-30
  9. "Many cogs to this company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technology in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Informa full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Joined Informa in 2013 as they were restructuring into 4 operating and 1 supporting divisions (Technology being the latter). I didn't know what they did, just that they had many separate 'companies' to them. They didn't really know what they needed either, which gave me great scope to carve my own career there. To be honest, it's such a large group of acquired companies, I still couldn't tell you what they all do!... That's not so much of a bad thing since the remit in technology meant you got to work on many different, interesting and often extremely challenging projects. That said, the other side of the coin was 'too many cooks and only one pot'; often leading to overly-bureaucratic decision-making, confusing messages and opinions for opinions' sake. That in turn led to personal and private agendas within the business, that - in my opinion, and from someone who saw considerable parts of the company, both veritcals and horizontals - meant the best or most-carefully thought out options weren't always taken. The benefit of this confusion meant I could look at a variety of solutions as I no agenda, save my own interest in providing the best solutions that I could muster. This allowed me to improve my own technology experience and knowledge, and all with a big-budget company behind me. I grew and improved considerably in many areas, and I am extremely grateful for my time there, having made some good friends. The remuneration was adequate but moved little each year. Bonus was good. The restructuring and company growth (+30% share price and FTSE 250 -> 100 entry for example) meant that Informa was always on the up and there were opportunities for personal and professional growth, such as gym subsidies, courses and other perks. However, I put a lot of that down to my own manager wanting a team of self-motivated, educated and curious-to-learn staff. I often felt the burden of team appointment and management fell to me which I was happy to do to gain experience and has resulted in me achieving the job I wanted once I left. Socially, there were a number of events through out the year but they seems to become more exclusive and lower in budget. I remember one Christmas they forgot (or a cynic might say deliberately omitted..) to invite the IT teams who they'd just shipped off to another office. Oops. Walk The World was always fun and brought everyone together. Charity Days were good - like Techie tea party where seniors were invited to the office to talk and receive help with their technology. Just a good excuse for a cuppa and chat about everything and nothing! Overall, I joined at the perfect moment: a growing company, in the throws of a restructure. Quite naive in their ITbobjectives which meant I could develop my own path and was there for the taking (a good thing) and where I made genuine friends. All things cannot last and it's on to their next growth for Informa. I (and my shares) are happy to have worked there when I did.

    Show More

    Cons

    Some of the staff I dealt with (in Technology) were more than a little asinine! I mean WOW! I genuinely struggled to work out *how* they weren't found out. Perhaps tellingly, the main culprits were from the least successful division(s). To Informa's credit they have restructured/tweaked those divisions again but I believe there's not been a purge, so I feel very sorry for my colleagues when I hear the names of usual... suspects! As I mentioned, remuneration was adequate but for such a growth in share prices, I was surprised they didn't work harder to keep and attract better talent. I still think they are missing some significant steps on the route to better technology processes, but - ahem - I feel I left them A LOT further along than before I joined. One area that Informa and I never quite succeeded at was mergers and acquisitons from a tech perspective, and bringing those companies on board. I recall one large US acquisition was incredbly poorly handled and to this day i still don't think it's completed (cough Globe cough cough) but I put that down to lack of clarity about the objectives set by the then management. As for the other main acqusition, I hear integration still rumbles on! And for goodness sakes, stop with the belief that their outsourced technology arm is a good thing, not to mention the contactors involved in the integration...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    TBH I don't think I could offer much advice that would be taken but it would be good if you tried to bring your technology teams back into the fold, socially speaking; you shipped them out, around and moved them back with little care. And you've GOT to do something about the GS dial-in meeting... Categorically don't believe that outsourced IT (such as the recently acquired company has) is the way forward.... Whatever you think, that just isn't true. Quality suffers, innovation falters, stress climbs.

    Show More
    Informa2019-08-30
  10. "So much opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Fellow in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Informa full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    endless opportunity for those who put there hands up strong mentorship great variety

    Cons

    less process than companies of this size (that can also be a positive!)

    Advice to Management

    keep investing in opportunities for young people!

    Informa2019-08-28
Found 623 reviews