Lidl Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Lidl Reviews

Updated Dec 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
50%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Lidl CEO Jesper Hojer (no image)
Jesper Hojer
356 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, flexible working, opportunities(in 203 reviews)

  • "good salary developed people very fast if they see potential(in 61 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours; hard work; not rewaridng(in 154 reviews)

  • "Work life balance is not the greatest but then time can be taken back at a later date if you work more hours(in 152 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    "Amazing when working with the right team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lidl full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They look after the team and great opportunities to progress

    Cons

    Hard work but still well rewarded

    Continue reading
    Lidl2019-03-29

    Lidl Response

    May 22, 2019Employer Brand Team

    Thank you for your positive review - it's great to hear you're happy working with us. Our success wouldn't be possible without the hard work of you and your team. Thanks again and keep up the great work. - Team Lidl GB

    Continue reading
  2. "Well paid for a reason"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lidl full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Salary, company car, flexible working patterns

    Cons

    Negativity from certain senior management

    Lidl2019-12-05
  3. "Get paid for hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Assistant in Bristol, England

    I have been working at Lidl full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay Efficient company to work in

    Cons

    Hard work and long hours

    Lidl2019-11-23
  4. "Good starting job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Assistant in Newport, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lidl part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team Alright pay Opportunity to progress

    Cons

    Work / life balance Understaffed Hard work

    Continue reading
    Lidl2019-11-21
  5. "Working as a customer assistant at Lidl"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service in Hornchurch, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lidl part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - good pay - discount card - 30 days holiday - consistent pay

    Cons

    - long hours - very few free weekends - a lot of multitasking - Not enough staff to support on shift - Short breaks

    Continue reading
    Lidl2019-12-04
  6. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Deputy Store Manager 

    I worked at Lidl full-time

    Pros

    Good wage and co-workers there

    Cons

    Long hours And lack of social life

    Lidl2019-11-18
  7. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Lidl full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lidl is a great company to work for as there are a lot of opportunities to add value and make a difference. Given the growth you can see a long term career path for yourself.

    Cons

    Processes can be a little bit limiting, you need to work out what you can be creative in and what you can't.

    Lidl2019-11-15
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Okay pay, allot of hard work but opportunities for go getters."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Associate in Aberdeen, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lidl part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Salary is not bad for part-time work

    Cons

    Peddle to the metal 24/7. For the above market rate of pay, Lidl's expects you to put in 110% effort in at all times which, in my opinion is not sustainable over the long term.

    Continue reading
    Lidl2019-11-12
  9. "good hourly pay, physically demanding, poor management and staff treatment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lidl part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    hourly rate is well known to be good, a good variety of tasks so your not stuck to the tills etc

    Cons

    I'm working 5 days a week for £13k, poor management thrives and progresses, store managers have been caught lying to ensure that their favourites progress (3 stores through my own experience) leaving the experienced CA to look after the people who got the job over them, Poor management training, most of the management are clueless in their roles and have so little real world experience that it causes huge divides in the stores have to argue to get contract raised (most CA are working 20 hours over 5 days)

    Continue reading
    Lidl2019-11-29
  10. "Global environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service in Bournemouth, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lidl full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Careers opportunities and global environment

    Cons

    sometimes you have to do long shifts

    Lidl2019-11-12
Found 2602 reviews
</>Embed