Lingo24 Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Lingo24 Reviews

Updated 8 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.6
39%
Recommend to a Friend
19%
Approve of CEO
Lingo24 CEO Andrew Campbell
Andrew Campbell
8 Ratings
Pros
  • "The possibily to work from home occasionally(in 9 reviews)

  • "(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "never proactive with suggestions presented and keep blaming other hubs instead(in 4 reviews)

  • "Management pressure; not enough career opportunities(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Experience of working for Lingo24"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lingo24

    Pros

    I joined Lingo24 as I wanted to work with one of the world’s fastest growing translation agencies. I’m very passionate about my role as an Account Manager as it allows me to utilize my knowledge, experience, and skills to benefit both Lingo24 and their impressive list of clients. With the company culture they have created being at the forefront of everything they do, along with the friendly, entrepreneurial and inspirational environment, this is a company I am proud to be part of.

    Cons

    Nothing, I'm really happy within my role.

    Lingo242016-07-12
  2. "Great mix of small office in larger company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Development Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Lingo24 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good management and a real sense of a supportive team make the job much easier and more rewarding

    Cons

    There are still a lot of challenges in adapting to a more tech based solution meaning some things take longer than they should

    Continue reading
    Lingo242017-05-02
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Beware!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lingo24 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Could be ok as a start to your career and there are a few travel opportunities if you like that.

    Cons

    - The running of the company is very strange - Fear and sometimes bullying appears to be used as a way of getting things done - Numerous people are made redundant - not a place for job security! - Constantly changing plans and chasing silver bullets - Intimidation and humiliation used by people at the top when things don't go their way

    Continue reading
    Lingo242017-05-04
  4. "Challenging but great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lingo24 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are some great people at Lingo24, people who care and give everything to the business and people you just want to share a beer with which was one of the main reasons I joined. The work is diverse and for me at least the fact no two days are the same adds to the fun.

    Cons

    There have been a lot of changes and it sometimes seems to be harder than it needs to be in a number of ways.

    Continue reading
    Lingo242017-02-28
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Enjoyable place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Lingo24 full-time

    Pros

    Very supportive Manager Good work-life balance Your opinion is listened to Trusted and given a lot of responsibility You can make a real difference Friendly, enjoyable working environment Great team of people, globally Company has big plans to grow

    Cons

    Different time zones can make it difficult to speak to certain team members

    Continue reading
    Lingo242016-07-12
  6. "Small business. Big plans."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lingo24

    Pros

    Supportive management. Relaxed environment. Passionate people. Growing business. Ambitious plans. Views get listened to. Inclusiveness. Small company means you feel like you can make a real difference. Fast pace. Lots of opportunities to be sociable. Good mix of personalities.

    Cons

    Infrastructure - smaller/newer business means lots of evolving processes. IT - lots of logins and different systems. Split offices sometimes feels like there is a disconnect within teams. Induction could be more structured. Expectations can outweigh realistic targets. Budget travel!

    Continue reading
    Lingo242016-07-12
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lingo24 full-time

    Pros

    A organisation you will thrive in if you have ambition, drive and a willingness to work hard. There are lots of great minds, lots of great people and the only limitiations are the ones you put on yourself. The only environment i have worked in whereby an entry level employee can can make himself heard directly to the CEO if he chooses to do so and feels strongly about something. Culture at Lingo24 is considered as important as any other aspect of the business and is fiercely protected. The most important thing however, is that it is also lots of fun!

    Cons

    We're a global company and sometimes communication and consistent messaging is tricky to get right.

    Continue reading
    Lingo242015-07-29

    Lingo24 Response

    October 9, 2015Culture Chief

    Thank you for submitting this review. We are indeed looking to create opportunities for ambitious people to grow and develop all the time. We are committed to supporting people achieve their career goals as much as possible. We agree with you - our CEO feels very strongly about keeping communication channels open and wants everyone to feel their voice is heard. Openness and clarity are very important aspects of our culture, which we try to nurture and protect, as it is what defines us as an organisation.

    Continue reading
  8. "Good culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lingo24 full-time

    Pros

    Everyone worked their hardest to make things happen. The company gives as much responsibility at they can to each individual, even from day 1.

    Cons

    Communication between all the different offices seemed difficult sometimes.

    Lingo242015-07-30

    Lingo24 Response

    October 8, 2015Culture Chief

    Thank you very much for this review and for your contribution to Lingo24. With regards to your comments on communication between our different hubs, it can be difficult at times, yes, but that's also a source of good dialogue and exchange of ideas.

    Continue reading
  9. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lingo24

    Pros

    It's a small, young company which still has a kind of start-up mentality. Its a fun place to work - great bunch of people and managers who really listen to their team and care about work-life balance. Opportunities to travel to other hubs.

    Cons

    Teams spread across different hubs and time zones mean there can sometimes be communication issues.

    Continue reading
    Lingo242015-07-17

    Lingo24 Response

    October 28, 2015CEO

    Thanks very much for the positive review! It is really heartening to read that you see much of what I see – I do think we have an exceptional group of people at all levels in Lingo24. And when I say exceptional, I mean that they’re both good at their jobs and decent people who look after their customers/partners/suppliers and one another. Coffee! Yes! I wish we were in a position to invest more in coffee. We will do when the timing’s right. And regarding social stuff, yes, I think sometimes people are so busy, and so keen to keep that work-life balance right, that things slip. Several of us have recently become parents, so it’s trickier to make work socials happen. But in our Edinburgh office, there is now a critical mass of people who are generally up for spending time outside the office together. Re: communication, I couldn’t agree more. It is one challenge I’m always harping on about, and I feel that no matter how hard we try, we’ll never be perfect. Of course that’s not a reason not to try. Right now, we have our daily newsletter, the Daily Banter; monthly video updates from the Senior Management team; and we’ve just started monthly bulletins on our Tech Products and from our Sales team. Andrew and Carol lead regular update calls with our more remote hubs in Panama and the Philippines, and we seem to be getting better ratings as an SM team (ref. recent Lingo-ist engagement survey). That said, we are always open to new ideas. I wonder, for example, whether using video conferencing more might help? Something to consider. Thanks again for your review and all the best, Christian

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (17)

    "CEO is a moody child!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Lingo24 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good co-workers Global opportunities Good business sector

    Cons

    Salary is lower than similar companies will generally offer. The CEO is the majority owner of the company and thinks he can run the business as he pleases, offending employees and treating them like garbage.

    Continue reading
    Lingo242015-07-02

    Lingo24 Response

    July 7, 2015CEO

    I’m very sorry to read this view, both personally and for the company. On the points raised: Lingo24’s history as a bootstrapped start-up meant the company was not in a position to pay market-leading salaries. Since we began professionalising the business and attracted significant investment for the next phase of growth, salaries and overall packages (including share options) have increased markedly and we are attracting more and more top talent. We have much, much stronger corporate governance and have a very experienced Senior Management team of nine professionals across all major functions. We also have market-leading proprietary technology, world class clients and a world class Chairman. Regarding my role as CEO, I think there is some truth in what you say. My most recent review highlighted the need to channel feedback through our management structure, and to pay more attention to communicating sensitively, particularly to grassroots Lingo-ists. I think I’ve made some progress, but know there is some way to go. Our Global MD runs the business day to day now, and I am engaged in meeting with important clients and strategic partners, and making sure that our company evolves ahead of client requirements. I’m also charged with defining and communicating our vision internally and externally. Here’s hoping my increased focus on these areas, along with the appointment of a very gifted management team, are the right steps along the path to making Lingo24 an ever stronger company.

    Continue reading
Found 66 reviews