Lookers Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Lookers Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 290 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Lookers CEO Andy Bruce
Andy Bruce
230 Ratings
Pros
  • "I am made to feel at home whenever I have to travel to any of our dealerships across the UK(in 8 reviews)

  • "Money happiness good hours great people(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours but that’s the same for all the the motor trade(in 23 reviews)

  • "Work life balance not great, management don’t do what they say they will(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technician in Colchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lookers full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Really positive company who really push me to reach my goals

    Cons

    Due to work pressure sometimes can be a bit stressful

    Advice to Management

    Have a meeting with staff often to obtain an understanding where the company can improve

    Lookers Response

    February 10, 2019Lookers

    Many thanks for your review. We're delighted to hear you feel you work in a positive environment and are encouraged to reach your goals. We look forward to hearing what you achieve!

  2. Helpful (1)

    "6 weeks in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lookers full-time

    Pros

    Very professional, loads of training

    Cons

    None so far, nice company to work for

  3. Helpful (2)

    "Going places! 👍🏻"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lookers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work with a real ambition to improve, add value, build a great team and do things right.

    Cons

    Some pain as the company transforms.

    Advice to Management

    Drive through your strategy. Keep progressing and trust in your people to deliver success.

    Lookers Response

    February 25, 2019Lookers

    Many thanks for your review. It's great to hear you recognise our ambition. We're confident in our strategy and our people and thank you for your support in delivering.

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Slightly above average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lookers full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Nice people, friendly environment, good opportunity to grow and learn new skills.

    Cons

    Disappointing office space. Senior management often neglect office staff, this is a sales team driven business.

    Lookers Response

    February 22, 2019Lookers

    Thank you for your feedback. We're pleased to hear you had the opportunity to grow and learn new skills and have taken on board your comments about office space and Senior Management. We wish you well for the future.

  5. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lookers full-time

    Pros

    Good environment and good team of people to work with. Plenty support to develop skill set.

    Cons

    Work life balance not great, management don’t do what they say they will.

    Lookers Response

    February 10, 2019Lookers

    Many thanks for your review. We appreciate work life balance can at times be challenging which is why we've implemented enhanced holiday entitlement after 1 year. It's great to hear you worked in a good environment and were given plenty of support to develop.

  6. "No life but well paid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Lookers full-time

    Pros

    Pay and colleagues are good

    Cons

    Work life balance is horrible

    Lookers Response

    February 10, 2019Lookers

    Thank you for your review. As you have recognised we do offer industry leading pay and benefits which include enhanced annual leave as we appreciate that our team's work extremely hard and invest significant hours in supporting our customers.

  7. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lookers full-time

    Pros

    Best in the trade Uk

    Cons

    Brexit may impact the business

    Lookers Response

    February 10, 2019Lookers

    Many thanks for your review. We have to agree about the "best in the trade"!

  8. "Honest company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lookers full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Rewards hard work. Provides training and scope for promotion Great benefits with share scheme, pension contributions and 12 months full pay for maternity leave. Flexible working hours for people who require child care flexibility and personal commitments Customer focused

    Cons

    Can be stressful (nature of the job) Must be flexible and willing to work over time to maintain high customer service

    Advice to Management

    Approachable

    Lookers Response

    February 10, 2019Lookers

    Many thanks for your review. It's great to hear you feel rewarded for your hard work and appreciate the benefits that come with working for Lookers. Thank you for your several years of service and here's to many more!

  9. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lookers

    Pros

    Great Career progression and benefits

    Cons

    Long hours and overtine not paid

    Lookers Response

    February 10, 2019Lookers

    Thank you for your review and the recognition of the progression and benefits available here at Lookers.

  10. Helpful (1)

    "no progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Lookers full-time

      Pros

      great team, free water, no pressure

      Cons

      no chance of progression, poor pay

      Lookers Response

      February 10, 2019Lookers

      Thank you for your review. We're pleased to hear you work with a great team however we're disappointed that you can see no chance of progression. There are several ways to develop your career with Lookers and we'd love to help you find the right path for you. Please email capabilitydevelopment@lookers.co.uk ...

      Show More
    Found 290 reviews