Lookers Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Lookers Reviews

Updated Oct 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 320 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Lookers CEO Andy Bruce
Andy Bruce
249 Ratings
Pros
  • "Money happiness good hours great people(in 13 reviews)

  • "Forward thinking and Inclusive organisation, always proactive in their thinking and very Customer / Staff focused(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours and overtine not paid(in 24 reviews)

  • "Work life balance not great, management don’t do what they say they will(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "very well trained"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Chester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lookers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good on the job training

    Cons

    not very good at paying you your full pay at the end of each month always missing out on a deal or 2

    Advice to Management

    get better hr

    Lookers2019-09-11
  2. "Great money long hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lookers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay structure, a lot of money to be earnt

    Cons

    Long hours - need a good team to help with this

    Lookers2019-09-20
  3. Helpful (1)

    "meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lookers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    vehicle discounts, oppurtunity to look at fancy cars.

    Cons

    poor work life balance. minimal progression within company. nepotism and favouritism rife. workplace culture severely lacking/completely absent. not a very progressive culture.

    Lookers2019-09-26
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Lookers Volvo"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Apprentice Technician in Colchester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lookers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    When you work at lookers you feel a part of more than just a company you are a part of a family, it’s the only place where I’ve finished a day of work and not feel drained and waiting to go home, instead I feel excited for the next morning and what challenges I’ll be faced with

    Cons

    very old workshop in which I work in and not getting a good access to tools

    Advice to Management

    Try to be more approachable

    Lookers2019-08-07

    Lookers Response

    September 2, 2019

    Thanks for your review. Its great to hear that you feel part of the family and that you are excited to come to work! We wish you a long and successful career with us.

  5. "new employee of 3 months"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SERVICE ADVISOR in Bishops Stortford, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Lookers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    so far so good

    Cons

    working all day saturday

    Advice to Management

    scrap all day saturday working for service team

    Lookers2019-08-07

    Lookers Response

    August 16, 2019Lookers

    Thank you for your review. We're really pleased to hear you recommend working at Lookers.

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Lookers LTD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vehicle Technician in Stockton-on-Tees, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lookers full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits for working with lookers

    Cons

    Poor management, poor communication with staff, unpredictable

    Lookers2019-08-31
  7. "A PLC with family values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Sales Manager in Gateshead, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lookers full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Forward thinking and Inclusive organisation, always proactive in their thinking and very Customer / Staff focused

    Cons

    Have not come across any yet in nearly 3 Years

    Advice to Management

    Continue to request Feedback from those around you, together we can find solutions, improvements and genuinely be better tomorrow than today.

    Lookers2019-07-18

    Lookers Response

    August 16, 2019

    Thanks for your feedback. Its great to hear that you find Lookers to be forward thinking, inclusive and a great employer who offer excellent benefits. We really do strive to ensure our customers and people are at the heart of everything we do. We hope you enjoy and long and happy career with us.

    Show Less
  8. "good place clean wery frendly staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technician in Stockport, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lookers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    frendly staff management all ok

    Cons

    not see any wrong point

    Lookers2019-07-11

    Lookers Response

    August 16, 2019

    Thanks for your review. Its great to hear you enjoy working with us. We wish you long and successful career with Lookers.

  9. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lookers full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Benefits, Strong leadership within the IT Department ability to learn new skills and get exposure to new technologies

    Cons

    Long and sometime anti social working hours. Can be a lack of process in some departments

    Lookers2019-06-27

    Lookers Response

    July 12, 2019Lookers

    Thank you for your feedback. We're really proud of our IT department and it's great to hear you recognise the leadership team specifically. We'll continue to review working patterns to ensure we're delivering on the needs of our customers while looking after our teams.

  10. "A highly recommended profiled company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SERVICE ADVISOR in Wolverhampton, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lookers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Many employee benefits and discounts

    Cons

    Basic Training, lots of paperwork

    Lookers2019-07-11

    Lookers Response

    July 12, 2019Lookers

    Many thanks for your feedback. We're delighted you'd recommend working with Lookers. We're working hard to ensure the training we offer is best in class and will continue to do so.

Found 320 reviews