Lookers Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Lookers Reviews

Updated 9 July 2018
238 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Lookers Chief Executive Andy Bruce
Andy Bruce
196 Ratings

238 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Friendly staff made to feel welcome feel a valued member of the driving team" (in 7 reviews)

  • "Great forward thinking team of professional leaders" (in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours bad manager not very good to much verbal abuse from the manager" (in 19 reviews)

  • "Work/Life balance is very limited" (in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (5)

    "Company experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technician/Mot Tester in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Current Employee - Technician/Mot Tester in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lookers full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    From start to finish my experience has been overwhelming. My interview was relaxed, my start date and salary and all important information was easily explained. When I started I was nervous but everyone made a point of introducing themselves and making me feel like part of there team. I have been there a month now and I honestly do not have a bad word to say about the company or staff I work with. I have already been sent on a coarse to welcome me to the company and that was a fantastic experience too.

    Cons

    I do not have anything bad to say. My wage is very good. My hours are very good.

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for the opportunity


  2. "Great Manager that cares about You!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in Stourbridge, England
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in Stourbridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lookers full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Ophelia Camille King is a Sales Manager that pushes us to exceed our targets, but she is also understanding, caring and genuinely tries to help you succeed. She understands that sometimes family must take president but she also makes sure that your time at work is at its optimum to get the job done.

    Cons

    I thought when we became part of a big plc, staff would just be a number. But if you have the right management in place, you just feel part of an even bigger family.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure management take a leaf out of Ophelia’s book and understand that there is room to have a successful work life and family life balance.

    Lookers Response

    13 Jul 2018 – Lookers

    Thank you for your review. It's fantastic to hear about your experience of working with a wonderful Manager. We really do believe a great work life balance is possible in our business and are so... More

  3. "Good employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lookers full-time

    Pros

    Nice environment and good work life balance.

    Cons

    Head office location could be better.

    Lookers Response

    13 Jul 2018 – Lookers

    Thanks for your review. It's great to hear you work in a nice environment and have managed to achieve the right work life balance here at Lookers.


  4. "So far a great company to work for seem very employee focused, with good visions for the future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in Crewe, England
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in Crewe, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lookers full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Employee focused, great work life balance with days off

    Cons

    Not come across any yet

    Advice to Management

    More focus within dealerships to take days off, holidays etc without penalties.

    Lookers Response

    13 Jul 2018 – Lookers

    Thanks for your review. It's great to hear you're enjoying life at Lookers.


  5. "Top Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lookers full-time

    Pros

    Laid back attitude, no high pressure targets. One of the best company's I've worked for.

    Cons

    Some longer serving staff can be stuck in a negative mindset.

    Advice to Management

    A round of anonymous staff surveys would help.

    Lookers Response

    13 Jul 2018 – Lookers

    Many thanks for your feedback. We're delighted to hear we're one of the best companies you've worked for! We will be carrying out our annual anonymous people survey over the next few months.... More


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good company to work for, well paid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Parts Advisor in Gatwick, England
    Current Employee - Parts Advisor in Gatwick, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lookers full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good money, have a laugh at work and good company to work for. Managers are easily to approach and have a good laugh with staff. Andy Bruce makes you feel like a person and not a number

    Cons

    Longer hours less time with family

    Lookers Response

    13 Jul 2018 – Lookers

    Thank you for your review. It's great to hear you're enjoying life at Lookers!


  7. "Fantastic Structure and values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Harpreet Thind in Guildford, England
    Current Employee - Harpreet Thind in Guildford, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lookers part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Lookers teach you great knowledge and values and allow you to feel apart of a growing, striving group.

    Cons

    Nothing for the moment.

    Lookers Response

    13 Jul 2018 – Lookers

    Thank you for your review. We're delighted to hear you're enjoying the development available and feel part of our growing business. We wish you continued success!

  8. "Great start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lookers full-time

    Pros

    Finally a company that values it's employees

    Cons

    There aren't any at the moment

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing

    Lookers Response

    13 Jul 2018 – Lookers

    Welcome to the team and thank you for your review. We really do value our people and hope you enjoy and long and successful career with us!


  9. "2nd coming"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in London, England
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Lookers full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Family feeling
    Feeling welcomed
    Modern thinking company

    Cons

    Long hours but I have a job to do

    Advice to Management

    Keep me in a nice demo and I’ll keep grafting

    Lookers Response

    13 Jul 2018 – Lookers

    Many thanks for your feedback. Glad you're enjoying the demo!
    It's also great to hear you feel welcome and part of a forward thinking company.


  10. Helpful (2)

    "salea executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in Birmingham, England
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lookers full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Looking ia an fantastic company to work for. if your ready to make the next chapter in your career lookers is tge place to be. they work with all brands in the motor industry an off great benefits and training. yiu can earn a great wage for you and your family and be successful and grow into the business. thats my dream and thats why im here.

    Cons

    i think i was pushed into the deep end because of my experience.Iv been here 3 weeks and have no training on anything. my experience has not been great been called all names disrespect and put down as man and even used my hight ans my colour of skin as an example which i believe qas not relevant. Luckly i know my worth and know i can be an asset to lookers hence iv still here..

    Advice to Management

    Dont put your staff down and belittle him infront of other staff and customers. her/she could be a great asset to the company.

    Lookers Response

    17 Jul 2018 – Lookers

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are concerned about the experience you’ve described and we’d urge you to get in touch with you HR Manager directly who will investigate.


Showing 238 of 238 reviews
Reset Filters