Lush Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Lush Reviews

Updated 16 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
73%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Lush CEO Mark Constantine
Mark Constantine
293 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Sales tactics are also ridiculously pushy and senior staff were forcing them upon you throughout the day(in 32 reviews)

  • "Managers and supervisors try to be supportive but do gossip about you to other members of staff(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "AMAZING COMPANY TO WORK FOR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Worcester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lush part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Treatment towards staff is second to none. Amazing ethics and values.

    Cons

    could not say anything bad

    Lush2019-11-08
  2. "Trial Shift"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lush part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free products, always smell nice!

    Cons

    Have to be a bit over the top with customers

    Lush2019-11-16
  3. "Fun, Sociable & Relaxed Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Eastbourne, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lush full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Laid-back and fun working environment

    Cons

    Hours were not exactly 'full-time'

    Lush2019-11-14
  4. "Great company to work for if you throw yourself into it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lush full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They are actively trying to make the cosmetics industry more ethical and sustainable. The company tries to make itself an inclusive and diverse workplace which is great. Because it is a large company that is still run like a small one, you will get to try your hand in many different areas of the business and really have an impact - this is good for building skills and finding out what you are interested in. Most of... the people who work in the company are incredibly friendly, and there isn't such a toxic hierarchy like you might find in other corporations - generally everyone talks to everyone! There isn't really a dress code so you can wear what you want and express yourself - plus you have the opportunity to get hands-on with lots of gorgeous products (and maybe take some home if you are lucky)!

    Show More

    Cons

    It can be slow to progress as people tend to stay with the company which means new roles do not open up. There are no structured pay reviews so it can take a while to be approved for a pay rise. They are still struggling with their diversity in management positions, it would be nice to see more people of colour championed in senior management.

    Advice to Management

    My management are great! I believe that they have my best interest at heart which is wonderful. There are some teams/shops in the business that have a more elitist structure and are not so kind - my advice for them is to remember where you have come from and try and treat people as you would like to be treated.

    Lush2019-11-10
  5. "White City Store London"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Part Time Sales Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lush part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great training in product knowledge (done through fun workshops, games and demonstrations), a lovely team of sales associates, flexible hours. Regular opportunities for promotion, amazing ethics. Free products!

    Cons

    Management in that particular store formed cliques and favourited certain sales associates. Rules would be bent for these people, then management would be unnecessarily harsh towards others, and it became so mentally draining that I left. Sales tactics are also ridiculously pushy and senior staff were forcing them upon you throughout the day – to pester customers up to three times to try and link-sell items even if... customers clearly did not want to be approached or could not afford it.

    Show More
    Lush2019-11-10
  6. "It’s good for flexibility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lush part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Depending on what store you work at and the people in your team, it can be a really fun environment. Suitable for when you’re studying because it can allow you the flexibility you need.

    Cons

    Can take holidays during December.

    Lush2019-11-05
  7. "Good, but turbulant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Store Supervisor in Southampton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lush full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits Great products Lots of training and feedback Great atmosphere

    Cons

    Retail hours Micromanagement sometimes present Management structures unreliable

    Lush2019-10-30
  8. "Tough work culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lush full-time

    Pros

    Free products, excellent training, values based company

    Cons

    Toxic work environment, lack of care for employees

    Lush2019-11-11
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lush full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lovely people, great training, free products, ethical and fun.

    Cons

    We had to open every day at 7am. Totally unnecessary to seek soap and bath bombs. Also staff get very (weirdly) obsessed with the products and lush life. It's very odd.

    Advice to Management

    Try not to make the job your entire life. It's weird.

    Lush2019-10-25
  10. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Supervisor in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lush full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great staff discount Friendly people Ongoing training In charge of own development

    Cons

    No cons at all. Nice place

    Lush2019-10-21
Found 573 reviews
</>Embed