MSI Group Reviews

Updated 14 May 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
82%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
MSI Group CEO and Founder  Nick Simpson
Nick Simpson
27 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great staff and working environment(in 11 reviews)

  • "Fun, work together as a team, nice offices(in 8 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours, which is expected in recruitment(in 10 reviews)

  • "The working hours are quite long(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good place to work

      15 Mar 2021 - Senior Recruitment Consultant in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good culture and nice office

      Cons

      Can sometimes feel not listened to

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      MSI Group Response

      HR Director

      Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you sometimes do not feel listened to. I would encourage you to share when this has happened with the directors or HR. We work hard to listen and knowing when we haven't quite managed to, is important to us, so we can try to improve.

    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Made redundant due to Covid but based on former job role

      24 Apr 2021 - International Support Officer in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice people to work with. Compliance management team have the best training.

      Cons

      I initially worked at MSI in 2019 as a compliance officer but was asked to interview for a new role in the international team. I got the job and started working there from December 2019. First week with not much training as the team didn't know what I was supposed to do, after a month I was working with no targets but I was still having probation reviews each month after 5months covid hit and I was put on furlough then in May 2020 they made me redundant but based on my compliance role. I had not worked there for 5 months so I was very surprised and disappointed as I was not there long enough to pass probation. As I assume they based my redundancy on that. I understand its hard to make people redundant and that covid did impact them. I don't appreciate that they based my redundancy on my previous job with them.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      MSI Group Response

      HR Director

      Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Should you wish to escalate anything you are welcome to get in touch with HR.

    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good Agency

      14 May 2021 - Agency Nurse in Worcester, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Plenty of shifts available for nurses

      Cons

      Nothing to complain about as most of my time was good with the company

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      First Impression

      9 Mar 2021 - Compliance Officer in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      MSI has really impressed me. Before I joined in January I was sent out welcome pack for joint them. Which amazed me as I have never received this from any job I’ve worked. I got stuck straight after 2 days of training and realised straight away, how supportive and super friendly everyone is here. Everyone works as a team, everyone is polite, there’s no blame culture here. Coming from the companies I have worked I was in Awe of how much MSI value the people that work for them. The company is very informative and want you to build on your career, there is training to help you achieve this. Which I appreciate highly. It’s nice to come to a company where you are valued, respected and considered. Really enjoying working here can’t praise it enough.

      Cons

      No cons about it at all

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Fun company

      25 Apr 2021 - Recruitment Consultant in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people, great location and supportive back office

      Cons

      None that I can think off

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Not the worst but far from the best

      11 Feb 2021 - Administrative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Certain individuals within the business take pride in the work they do and have a genuine interest in the business doing well.

      Cons

      It can be difficult to achieve what you need/want to achieve if you aren’t respected or trusted by the Directors - personal relationships create an unfair work ethic and balance as some people are allowed to get away with poor performance and conduct while others struggle to pass probation and just need a little support. Benefits tick all the right boxes on paper but in reality aren’t beneficial to everyone- more consideration and care to work- home life balance would be nice as either working hours are long and the expectation is that you work more if you are not achieving. This can be very demotivating if you’re working your socks off and genuinely don’t understand why you are not achieving. Performance management appears to be a formality to get someone out of the business rather than offering real support or training. The general attitude and vibe to the office and atmosphere feels like ‘fur coat, no knickers’. Quick to splash the cash for incentives and awards but there doesn’t seem to be a real understanding of what makes majority of their staff happy or the struggles they face daily. Management teams do not always set the best example to their teams including some of the senior managers and directors.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Company and Great People

      24 Feb 2021 - Recruitment Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Without doubt the people. MSI has a real family atmosphere.

      Cons

      Hours can be a little long but that's recruitment for you

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      DO NOT JOIN - THEY WILL AVOID PAYING YOUR COMMISSION BY TERMINATING YOUR CONTRACT

      12 Jan 2021 - Senior Recruiter in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I can't think of any.

      Cons

      MSI hired me In January 2020. I brought in new business within 2 months and I filled the role myself worth $60,000. They then made me redundant knowing they could avoid paying me the $8,000 commission I was owed. I have now taken them to a civil court and hope to win my case. I didn't even get a thank you for bringing in the money to the company. This is a spivvy organization who try to pocket sums of money from employees who work hard. Anyone who is potentially joining the company should be aware that there is a high risk they will not be paid their commission. Absolutely disgraceful organisation with no moral compass.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Supportive

      13 Jan 2021 - Back Office 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I'm really impressed with the focus on supportive management. I do feel that the managers really care about their staff.

      Cons

      They are quite long hours - but that's to be expected in Recruitment

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      OK

      17 Mar 2021 - Consultant in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Its was OK, better places out there

      Cons

      A very laddish culture in the company

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      MSI Group Response

      HR Director

      Thank you for taking the time to write a review. MSI is much changed in the last few years and in the last week we have received notification that we are one of the UK Top 100 Mid-Size Companies to work for, a Top 40 Recruitment Company to work for and a Top 50 London Mid-Size Company to work for. This would suggest that the changes we have been making have been well received.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 128 Reviews

    Popular Careers with MSI Group Job Seekers

    Functional Assessor
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Senior Recruitment Consultant
    Learn About the Job

    Work at MSI Group? Share Your Experiences

    MSI Group logo
    or