Manulife Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Glassdoor uses cookies to improve your site experience. By continuing, you agree to our use of cookies. OK | Learn More

Manulife Reviews

Updated 22 October 2017
801 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Manulife CEO Roy Gori
Roy Gori
7 Ratings

801 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • Work life balance isn't the best (in 21 reviews)

  • Manual processes in silos; certain senior management members are aggressive and confrontational to lower ranking staffs (in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "my review for my day job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    good job good salary which is nice

    Cons

    bad office and the staff are rude


  2. "Senior Investment Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Investment Analyst in Toronto, ON (Canada)
    Current Employee - Senior Investment Analyst in Toronto, ON (Canada)
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great work place and has work from home.

    Cons

    Not enough researching in current role.

    Manulife Response

    23 Oct 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experience with us. We appreciate your feedback!


  3. "Great culture, Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Configuration Analyst in Toronto, ON (Canada)
    Current Employee - Configuration Analyst in Toronto, ON (Canada)
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great culture
    High autonomy
    Managers seem to care

    Cons

    Work is repetitive
    Not much other cons

    Advice to Management

    Streamline slow organization processes

    Manulife Response

    23 Oct 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and share your feedback. We are happy to know that you are having a positive experience with us.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Boston, MA (US)
    Current Employee - Manager in Boston, MA (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Great benefits, flexible working arrangement, maternity/paternity leave, 401K, commuter benefits, great location in the Back Bay, strong leadership and management, tuition reimbursement, and community involvement. Potential opportunities in the long run depending on which group you are in.

    Cons

    Depending on which group and department you are in, you may really enjoy or hate your job, or feel neutral about it. The organization has been going through a lot of changes, especially in the IT/Technology space. This is a great initiative since they are now aligning their technological space with the current times. However, the changes may be difficult for some to handle or adjust to. Functional roles are being realigned or consolidated with other groups. This can be hard for those that have been here for 15+ years, that have been doing the same job over the past years and can't understand or adapt to changes, as opposed to those that are fairly new to the organization. The changes can be constant and is now considered as the "norm." I think it's a good place to be in, overall, since the benefits are great and you'll be able to meet some pretty amazing colleagues, but you'll have to adjust to the perspective that changes are inevitable, constant, and challenging.

    Advice to Management

    I think management is doing a good job with the transparency and communication on these changes. It would also be helpful to assign SME to specific projects that will have a direct impact to their team's roles/functions. It's not always a pretty picture to be told how changes will impact them, without allowing them to have a say or suggestion. Not all of the consultants that are hired will fully understand the job function, nuances, and challenges faced everyday. Keeping the lights on is also critical for the business.

    Manulife Response

    17 Oct 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share detailed feedback as well as suggestions of improvements. We are happy to know that you are having a positive experience with us.


  6. "Great place to work with bright future ahead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great people, management, benefits, etc.. Compensation is fair and those who perform well are rewarded.

    Cons

    Culture is very difference between teams and across divisions.

    Manulife Response

    23 Oct 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We're happy to hear you enjoy our benefits and are having a positive experience with us.


  7. "Manulife"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior IT in Manila, Manila (Philippines)
    Current Employee - Senior IT in Manila, Manila (Philippines)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Manulife is providing what is best for employee.

    Cons

    The organizational restructuring around the global

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up, job well done

    Manulife Response

    17 Oct 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    We are happy to know that you are enjoying your experience with us. Thank you for posting a review.


  8. "Actuarial Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits. Working environment is really fast-paced.

    Cons

    Work-life balance is not really good during peak seasons.

    Manulife Response

    17 Oct 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    We appreciate you taking the time to write a review, thank you.


  9. "Manulife"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance Manager in Toronto, ON (Canada)
    Current Employee - Finance Manager in Toronto, ON (Canada)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Flexible work location and time

    Cons

    Like any other big financial institution

    Advice to Management

    Build more leaders, not just managers

    Manulife Response

    13 Oct 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your experience!


  10. "actuarial analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Manulife full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    excellent conmpany to work and enjoyed

    Cons

    there is a lot of politics going aroung

    Advice to Management

    improve

    Manulife Response

    10 Oct 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review, w e appreciate honest feedback from valued employees!


  11. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    There is a lot of activity in this company as they are always looking to innovate. That innovation leads to opportunity.

    Cons

    Some teams work from home which has a lot of pros but a con is that you can be a bit out of sight and out of mind

    Manulife Response

    12 Oct 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and value your feedback.


Showing 801 of 924 reviews
Reset Filters