Manulife Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Manulife Reviews

Updated 16 July 2018
938 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Manulife CEO Roy Gori
Roy Gori
78 Ratings

938 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "Not enough vacation for a work life balance" (in 23 reviews)

  • "Senior management totally lacks transparency" (in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "my review for my day job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    good job good salary which is nice

    Cons

    bad office and the staff are rude


  2. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Actuarial Associate in Montreal, QC (Canada)
    Current Employee - Junior Actuarial Associate in Montreal, QC (Canada)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Dynamic teams
    Ability to work from home
    very bilingual - work with other offices

    Cons

    Unclear corporate structure. Not sure how the corporate ladder (how to move up and what positions) is setup.

    Manulife Response

    16 Jul 2018 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your review. We are happy to know you are enjoying your experience with us!

  3. "Disability Case Manager Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Manulife full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    - Great team and learning opportunities
    - Able to work from home
    - There's a gym in the office building
    - Great benefits

    Cons

    - High workload
    - Difficult to advance into higher management roles

    Manulife Response

    16 Jul 2018 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for sharing your feedback. We are happy to hear you had a positive experience with us!


  4. "Disbursement Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends

    I have been working at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    Benefits
    Work/life balance
    Work from home
    Upgraded workspace
    Flexible work hours

    Cons

    High volume work environment that can be very stressful.

    Manulife Response

    9 Jul 2018 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are happy to know you are having a positive experience with us.


  5. "Good opportunity’s to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analysis Consultant in Diliman, Quezon City (Philippines)
    Current Employee - Business Analysis Consultant in Diliman, Quezon City (Philippines)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Offers fundamental training and great experience

    Cons

    Certifications are not for everyone and you might be assigned to a project that’s not Business Analysis related

    Advice to Management

    Never oversell your services just to meet metrics. You will end up with staff doing jobs not within their job description leading to high attrition rate

    Manulife Response

    3 Jul 2018 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your review. We are happy to know you are enjoying your experience with us!


  6. "Disability Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Disability Specialist in Vancouver, BC (Canada)
    Current Employee - Disability Specialist in Vancouver, BC (Canada)
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good sense of team work on the floor, always looking for efficiencies and modern processes

    Cons

    Leadership sometimes has troubles with letter of the law versus spirit of the law, high turn over recently, overload high performers during low staffing times.

    Advice to Management

    Show your high performers that you value them to keep them engaged, and when you say work life balance, own it and live it.


  7. "Accounting Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounting Assistant in Montreal, QC (Canada)
    Former Employee - Accounting Assistant in Montreal, QC (Canada)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Manulife full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Competitive salary and growth potential

    Cons

    Instability due to the restructuring of the company.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on on quality and excellent customer service.

    Manulife Response

    3 Jul 2018 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for sharing your feedback. We are happy to hear you had a positive experience with us!

  8. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Internship in Montréal-Ouest, QC (Canada)
    Former Employee - Internship in Montréal-Ouest, QC (Canada)
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Manulife (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good and low stress work environment.

    Cons

    The internship was somewhat mismanaged

    Advice to Management

    None

    Manulife Response

    29 Jun 2018 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your internship here with us.


  9. "Experience while at Manulife"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Toronto, ON (Canada)
    Former Employee - Director in Toronto, ON (Canada)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Manulife full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    New Management that is eager to change and improve efficiencies

    Cons

    Hierarchical Layer can really slow decision making.

    Advice to Management

    The world wants fast and hierarchies are not fast.

    Manulife Response

    29 Jun 2018 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your review. We're happy to hear you had a positive experience with us.


  10. "Ok place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Toronto, ON (Canada)
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Toronto, ON (Canada)
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Manulife full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    The option to work from home, even full time.
    Large company with opportunities to move around
    Good Drug Plan

    Cons

    Salary is slightly below national average.
    Constant re-structuring - job security

    Manulife Response

    16 Jul 2018 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to share your review.


Showing 938 of 1,108 reviews
Reset Filters