MapR Technologies Reviews

Updated 12 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
54%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
MapR Technologies CEO John Schroeder
John Schroeder
51 Ratings
Pros
  • "The product is really a game changer in Big Data spaces(in 19 reviews)

  • "Great technology with extremely satisfied customers and high retention(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "Very competitive environment noSQL & Hadoop(in 6 reviews)

  • "Company Culture lost in the management swap out(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "I joined MapR 2 years ago and have no regrets"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales and Marketing in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MapR Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employees are treated well and equally. The Executive team are "normal" people who talk to you. The company try to keep employees informed, with a super friendly culture. Colleagues are very supportive, with great knowledge and experience, not just in EMEA, but throughout the organisation - from my colleagues at HQ in Santa Clara, to those I have met during our Sales Kick-Offs in the U.S. Working in sales / marketing, the product is fundamental to my pride at work and career prospects within an organisation. Since joining MapR I have met multiple clients from a variety of industries and the all have been extremely happy with the product and service delivered. My job allows me to be part of an exciting hyper-growth journey at MapR - it is a great time to be at MapR!

    Cons

    When a company is growing there will be growing pains and certain challenges. But that also makes MapR and exciting place to work and keeps my job interesting. Each day brings new challenges, but if you are prepared to work hard, then the satisfaction of genuinely contributing to the success of a business outweighs any negatives.

    Continue reading
    MapR Technologies2019-03-01
  2. "Big Data Platform Company"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Representative in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at MapR Technologies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working from home , which helps with someone who has Kids.

    Cons

    no focus on the EMEA team, no office in the UK, no strategy , Marketing...

    MapR Technologies2019-11-11
  3. "Not for the in the box thinkers"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MapR Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Challenging, diverse, Great people, Rewarding, Great technology

    Cons

    Long hours, Vision limited, Marketing alignment

    Continue reading
    MapR Technologies2018-10-08
  4. "Sales Role"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MapR Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Great technology and in a hot space

    Cons

    Product led Company so sales & marketing are a bit leaderless

    Continue reading
    MapR Technologies2018-10-05
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Field SE"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field SE 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MapR Technologies full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I've been with MapR for over 4 years. There has been some challenges over the time but getting the current CEO back is a major improvement. The work you get to do is challenging but also rewarding , its on the cutting edge of today's IT . The software is selling well and has a lot of household names . You are trusted a lot in the field, the freedom to do the right thing still amazes me working at MapR.

    Cons

    If you are not prepared to work hard, MapR is not the place for you. There are successful people at MapR and they work hard. If you think the purchase orders are just going to roll in like other places i.e. Oracle then move on. Its competitive.

    Continue reading
    MapR Technologies2018-03-07
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Interesting place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MapR Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You will learn a lot of new technology rewards are good culture is good It's a startup, if you haven't worked in one before then go elsewhere.

    Cons

    Too much technology to learn at times. Industry is full of marketing crap.

    Continue reading
    MapR Technologies2015-06-17
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Chance to transform an industry"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MapR Technologies full-time

    Pros

    IT hasn't been this changed in over a decade. This is bigger than cloud was. Change to get in and see how Hadoop is transforming companies, and effect change.

    Cons

    It's hard work. There's a lot of new technologies to learn, so you have to spend a lot of time learning.

    Continue reading
    MapR Technologies2015-04-22
  8. "Great engineering team and management, poor financial planning"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal Software Engineer in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MapR Technologies full-time

    Pros

    MapR has some of the best and brightest engineering talent in the industry. On the most part, the engineers are motivated, talented and co-operative and willing to share and exchange ideas. Engineering management is also talented - many . of them come from the top tier universities with excellent track records. I also love the fully stocked break room with drinks and snacks, the ping-pong table, massage chair, and many other amenities.

    Cons

    MapR has been acquired by Hewlett-Packard Enterprises in August 2019 and is now a division of HPE. Due to poor financial management by executives leading to cash flow issues, many talented staff have left the company in the last few months.

    Continue reading
    MapR Technologies2019-11-12
  9. "Great learning opportunities in MapR"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Engineer in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MapR Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Got a learning opportunity to learn a lot of technologies. Good Career Growth Work from Home Options No Micro-Management Good Technology

    Cons

    Cant think of anything. Please carry on the good work

    Continue reading
    MapR Technologies2019-09-18
  10. "Great company to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MapR Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Best platform for big data. No need for additional clusters for HBase and Kafka. It is all in one platform.

    Cons

    API's for MapR-DB JSON could be improved.

    MapR Technologies2019-07-31
Found 160 reviews