MapR Technologies Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

MapR Technologies Reviews

Updated 12 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 157 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
MapR Technologies CEO John Schroeder
John Schroeder
45 Ratings
Pros
  • "The product is really a game changer in Big Data spaces(in 17 reviews)

  • "Great technology with extremely satisfied customers and high retention(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "Very competitive environment noSQL & Hadoop(in 6 reviews)

  • "Company Culture lost in the management swap out(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "I joined MapR 2 years ago and have no regrets"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales and Marketing in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MapR Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employees are treated well and equally. The Executive team are "normal" people who talk to you. The company try to keep employees informed, with a super friendly culture. Colleagues are very supportive, with great knowledge and experience, not just in EMEA, but throughout the organisation - from my colleagues at HQ in Santa Clara, to those I have met during our Sales Kick-Offs in the U.S. Working in sales / marketing,...

    Show More

    Cons

    When a company is growing there will be growing pains and certain challenges. But that also makes MapR and exciting place to work and keeps my job interesting. Each day brings new challenges, but if you are prepared to work hard, then the satisfaction of genuinely contributing to the success of a business outweighs any negatives.

    Advice to Management

    As we grow across all departments, hiring the right people at the right time is crucial to our success. Make sure our employees aren't too stretched and be proactive rather than reactive.

    MapR Technologies2019-03-01
  2. "Not for the in the box thinkers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MapR Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Challenging, diverse, Great people, Rewarding, Great technology

    Cons

    Long hours, Vision limited, Marketing alignment

    Advice to Management

    Look beyond the US market for innovation.

    MapR Technologies2018-10-08
  3. "Sales Role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MapR Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Great technology and in a hot space

    Cons

    Product led Company so sales & marketing are a bit leaderless

    Advice to Management

    hire heavy hitting growth experts in Sales, Marketing and Product strategy

    MapR Technologies2018-10-05
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Field SE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field SE 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MapR Technologies full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I've been with MapR for over 4 years. There has been some challenges over the time but getting the current CEO back is a major improvement. The work you get to do is challenging but also rewarding , its on the cutting edge of today's IT . The software is selling well and has a lot of household names . You are trusted a lot in the field, the freedom to do the right thing still amazes me working at MapR.

    Cons

    If you are not prepared to work hard, MapR is not the place for you. There are successful people at MapR and they work hard. If you think the purchase orders are just going to roll in like other places i.e. Oracle then move on. Its competitive.

    Advice to Management

    The new leaders in 2018, keep doing what you are doing. i.e. being honest and transparent. and open a few more offices outside USA ;-)

    MapR Technologies2018-03-07
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Interesting place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MapR Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You will learn a lot of new technology rewards are good culture is good It's a startup, if you haven't worked in one before then go elsewhere.

    Cons

    Too much technology to learn at times. Industry is full of marketing crap.

    Advice to Management

    keep up the good work, keep the technology lead we have.

    MapR Technologies2015-06-17
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Chance to transform an industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MapR Technologies full-time

    Pros

    IT hasn't been this changed in over a decade. This is bigger than cloud was. Change to get in and see how Hadoop is transforming companies, and effect change.

    Cons

    It's hard work. There's a lot of new technologies to learn, so you have to spend a lot of time learning.

    Advice to Management

    Keep focusing on making differentiated product

    MapR Technologies2015-04-22
  7. "Great Products"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director Alliance and Channels 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at MapR Technologies full-time

    Pros

    MapR technology and products are very unique and strong in IoT and big data industry.

    Cons

    Still small company. Need to expand with more budget.

    MapR Technologies2019-06-12
  8. "Sollutions Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sollutions Developer in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MapR Technologies full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Very good workplace Friendly management Good employee benifits

    Cons

    Not observerd any cons till now

    MapR Technologies2019-06-05
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Mapr Technologies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Specialist in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at MapR Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working at Mapr gives very good exposure to Hadoop ecosystem. People are highly skilled and it is the best place for learning distributed systems.

    Cons

    Poor marketing and sales. Engineering needs to share their knowledge more often.

    MapR Technologies2019-05-27
  10. "Great people, hectic company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at MapR Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced, collaborative, people who really care and go the extra mile to help each other. The technology is exciting, and the teams start to feel like family very quickly

    Cons

    company has become an absolute mess since Matt Mill's departure. Very engineering focused, sales is looked at as more of a nuisance and an expense than a value add. The fact that the entire sales force was let go is very indicative of the culture - as a sales rep you are expendable to executives and the CEO John Schroeder.

    Advice to Management

    Clean house and start over, or seek acquisition

    MapR Technologies2019-06-10
Found 157 reviews