Medical Protection Society Reviews

Updated 13 Jan 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
86%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Medical Protection Society Chief Executive Simon Kayll (no image)
Simon Kayll
22 Ratings
Pros
  • "Interesting cases, good work/life balance(in 7 reviews)

  • "Been at mps for a long time they really try to progress you in your career(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "There has to be further communication between departments, further transparency from the executive team and much more career progression opportunities(in 5 reviews)

  • "None so far that I have come across(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. "Supportive and Realistic"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Architect in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Medical Protection Society full-time

    Pros

    Committed to extensive use of IT generally and data in particular Generally 'can do' mentality Not scared to undertake significant business change Have supported me during my initial probation period e.g. with learning materials and attendance at a conference Realistic view of required tooling/support needed to undertake activities

    Cons

    Not many, maybe not as dynamic as some organisations and the wider industry may be subject to future regulatory constraints, but overall this is one of the best employers I have had (after 30+ years in tech)

    Continue reading
  2. COVID-19

    "The FM team are brilliant and feel like a family, very sad to be leaving the team."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Facilities Coordinator in Leeds, England
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Medical Protection Society full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The FM team are amazing to work with. Free onsite parking on a rota basis.

    Cons

    Too many senior managers who seem to be in meetings all the time so it can take a while to get an answer. Pay isn't as good as at other companies but is ok.

    Continue reading

  3. "Good company would recommend highly"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Medical Protection Society full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Been at mps for a long time they really try to progress you in your career. Funded me for my law training.

    Cons

    A lot of decisions have to go through lots of people so sometimes can be difficult.

    Continue reading

    Medical Protection Society Response

    December 16, 2020Recruitment Adviser

    Great that you have taken the time to review your 8 years at MPS and we are so glad it has been a positive experience. The aim of refreshing our Employee Engagement Forums has been to get colleagues from around the organisation more involved in decision making as we are aware this is an area that we can always improve. Good luck in your next steps in your law career.

  4. COVID-19

    "Great place to work, good opportunities and plenty of flexibility"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Executive in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Medical Protection Society full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Long standing, well respected company which has performed well during an economic downturn and the coronavirus pandemic. The staff and teams in all departments are warm, friendly and welcoming, it is a nice place to work with good people to interact with. There are opportunities available for people who work hard. There is a real focus on developing the next group of leaders within the organisation.

    Cons

    There are no negatives about working at Medical Protection.

    Medical Protection Society Response

    December 11, 2020Recruitment Adviser

    Thanks for taking the time to post your review. It's great that you seem to really enjoy working at MPS and especially nice to see your comments about the colleagues and teams you work with being friendly and welcoming.

  5. "Business relationships"

    5.0
    Current Employee - International Business Relationship Manager in Leeds, England

    I have been working at Medical Protection Society full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly and great teams mates

    Cons

    Shrinking, as market is contracting

    Medical Protection Society Response

    November 11, 2020Recruitment Adviser

    Thank you for your review. We always appreciate people taking the time to feedback on their experience of working at MPS, especially when it’s a 5 star review. We always strive to create a positive culture and having teams that work well together is something we aim to have in the DNA and culture of the organisation. There is no doubt that we face some challenges in the markets in which we operate, but there are also exciting opportunities for us to to grow our current and future markets. We know this will take lots of hard work and talented people to be able to do this, but it’s something we are ready to face into.

  6. "amazing company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Advisor in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Medical Protection Society full-time

    Pros

    Great company to work for with a great wage, hard work but worth it. Amazing team everyone so kind and helpful.

    Cons

    I am unable to think of any cons

    Continue reading

    Medical Protection Society Response

    September 18, 2020Recruitment Adviser

    Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on Glassdoor. It's great that you have such a positive view of MPS and your career here over the last 10 years +. It's so good to know that you have such a good relationship with your team and other colleagues. Head of Talent Leadership and Culture

  7. Helpful (1)

    "uncomfortable working environment"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Solicitor in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Medical Protection Society full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Lovely colleagues, good quality of work. Very much enjoyed helping the members

    Cons

    bullying and aggressive behaviour by senior management

    Continue reading

    Medical Protection Society Response

    October 8, 2020Recruitment Adviser

    Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I was obviously disappointed to read some of your comments. Bullying and aggressive behaviour is not something we tolerate at any level of the organisation. If you'd like to discuss these concerns further please contact any member of our People and Culture team.

  8. COVID-19

    "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Procurement in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Medical Protection Society full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I joined the role during lockdown, the engagement and sense of belonging has been extremely good from the organisation. They have handled the current situation immensely well and I felt part of the organisation from day 1, even without having the ability to physically meet people or see the office. The work is great and there is always opportunity to challenge yourself, and a real sense of empowerment to progress and make decisions.

    Cons

    The only downside thus far is one that is unable to be controlled, working from home and not getting the physical interaction with colleagues. That said, MPS really have dealt with the situation well and reacted.

    Medical Protection Society Response

    September 18, 2020Recruitment Adviser

    The last few months have been quite a rollercoaster ride and we appreciate how challenging it is to get to know your team and colleagues around the organisation when they only exist on screen!!! You are not on your own, between 1st March and 30th June we had 49 new colleagues join MPS across 5 different countries. I’m really pleased that you have joined the team and are already enjoying your role.

  9. "Brilliant Company with amazing support"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Case Manager in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Medical Protection Society full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The best company I have worked for in terms of learning, support and pastoral care.

    Cons

    Extremely busy, but then not sure that's a con?

    Continue reading

    Medical Protection Society Response

    September 18, 2020Recruitment Adviser

    Fantastic feedback, thank you. As an organisation we strive to provide lots of learning opportunities and support to develop and I’m really glad you have seen this in your first year at MPS. It would be great to get feedback from you on the new approach we have implemented to support the continued development of our Case Management teams.

  10. COVID-19

    "amazing"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Litigation Assistant in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Medical Protection Society full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    genuinely interested in letting people develop personally and professionally. Offices are spacious and well equipped with kitchens, library and gym with showers hairdryers etc. I started in February so only had one month in the office before lockdown and since then I have had to learn my new role whilst working remotely. Everyone has been really helpful and been willing to answer my questions and show me how to do things. The team are amazing and all seem like they are genuinely interested in helpibg to develop my skills and knowledge.

    Cons

    I havent come across any yet!!

    Medical Protection Society Response

    September 18, 2020Recruitment Adviser

    Thank you for your feedback. It’s been a very interesting time to join any organisation. Going through induction and learning a new job in lockdown must have been a challenge. It is great to hear that everyone has been helpful and your team sound as though they have been fantastic in appreciating these challenges and making you feel at home. See you back in the gym when we are able!!

Viewing 1 - 10 of 45 English Reviews