Mencap Reviews

Updated 5 Jul 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
54%
Recommend to a Friend
39%
Approve of CEO
Mencap CEO  Edel Harris (no image)
Edel Harris
3 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Incompetency throughout every aspect being left with support workers(in 17 reviews)

  • "Some support staff just not the right people to be in that Healthcare role & unable to grasp concept of person centred care for service users(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Employment Facilitator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Mencap full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Colleagues were friendly and genuinely cared for the learners, good work/life balance, very good support system from all areas i.e. colleagues, managers & above.

    Cons

    The pay was not the same in comparison to other companies doing the same role, but I know they are changing this.

    Continue reading
  2. "Great"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Worker 

    I have been working at Mencap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to work with all sorts of people, supporting them to be the best they can be and watching them grow and thrive

    Cons

    Staff teams don't always get on well as there are often different personalities but that is in any work place

  3. "Good job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coordinator 
    Recommends

    I worked at Mencap full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Leading a great bunch of people, empowering people.

    Cons

    Budget cuts and red tape

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Improvement needed"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Support Worker in Sudbury, East of England, England

    I have been working at Mencap full-time

    Pros

    Great colleagues and residents to work with

    Cons

    Very little regard for staff wellbeing or growth in career

  5. "Ok to work for but you will never get a pay rise"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Housing Caseworker in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Mencap full-time

    Pros

    They just let you get on with your job

    Cons

    The pay is very low and you will never get a pay rise no matter how long you stay with them.

    Continue reading

    Mencap Response

    May 5, 2020Recruiter

    Hi, Thank you for leaving your review on Glassdoor. We agree that it is a great place to work and we take a person centred approach to the support we provide. Our pay has been recently reviewed to ensure that we remain competitive and an employer of choice for those wanting to work within health and social care and we do offer a myriad of additional benefits. These will be based on your contract, however can include quarterly award schemes, discount and cashback at high street shops and free access to round the clock employee assistance program for advice and support. This list is not exhaustive and we have plenty more that we offer to those joining Mencap. Kind regards, Mencap

  6. Helpful (3)

    "Don't work here!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mencap full-time

    Pros

    Better salary than my previous one They employed colleagues with a learning disability, who made the office a lively place to be Mencap's attitude towards colleagues with a learning disability was good Good benefits and rewards scheme

    Cons

    Building based in an odd part of London There were many faults in my team: We were told when we could/couldn't take our annual leave Expected to work extra hours and some weekends with no time off in lieu offered Poor management, with little respect for colleagues High turnover of staff - a lot of new staff within the last year Not flexible and no working from home options Extremely high workload, which caused lots of stress Little to no career progression in my role Open plan office with lots of desks squeezed in so it felt that you were sitting on top of each other most of the day - not as important, but still a con to me My time at Mencap made me stressed and miserable. I feel a lot happier now I've left! Such a shame to see a well-known charity so badly run.

    Continue reading

    Mencap Response

    May 5, 2020Recruiter

    Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Glassdoor. You have detailed a few areas of concern and if you have not already – please do raise this further and escalate to the relevant persons. If we are not aware, we are unable to resolve this or take any further action and it is important that you do speak so that we can support you. Please do contact our AskHR team if you would like any further advice and guidance. Thank you again for your review. Kind regards, Mencap

  7. "employment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Support Worker in Leighton Buzzard, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mencap full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    enjoyed supporting clients, made good friends , good manager

    Cons

    long shifts, unsociable hours and had to work all bank holidays

    Continue reading

    Mencap Response

    March 23, 2020Recruiter

    Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Glassdoor. We agree that it is a great place to work and we take a person centred approach to the support we provide. We have now launched our refer a friend scheme and if you know someone that would love working for Mencap as much as you do, we will give you £250 as a thank you, subject to our T&C's which you can find on our Intranet. Thank you again for your review and wishing you every success in your position at Mencap. Kind regards, Mencap

  8. "Interesting and varied job, can be challenging"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Employability Officer in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mencap full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Varied, useful to the community, lots of internal training, good colleagues

    Cons

    Not much room to grow, can be very challenging emotionally

    Mencap Response

    March 23, 2020Recruiter

    Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Glassdoor. We agree that it is a great place to work and we take a person centred approach to the support we provide. We hope that you were able to speak to your managers about the concerns you had above and that they were resolved. Thank you again for your review and wishing you every success in the future. Kind regards, Mencap

  9. "Challenging all round, but rewarding."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Mencap part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Reliance on your colleagues is key, especially with those who have experience with the PWS (person we support), so learn as much as you can from them as they will know the PWS better than any care plan. Moral fluctuates, as in any role, but overall I found it to be positive. It takes a certain type of person to do this job, and pairing of personalities of the Support Worker to the PWS doesn’t always work, however, if you speak to management, they typically support transfers, as feedback from staff and the PWS in my experience has been taken into consideration. I particularly liked how full time staff are assigned more one-2-one positions aligned to the PWS’s needs. This gives the PWS a key member of staff who fully understands all their learning and medical challenges and advocates on their behalf. The training has been fantastic, though I would suggest gearing that training towards a nationally recognised standard to enhance career progression.

    Cons

    There has been a quick self weeding out of staff since I started, you’ll quickly learn that this job is either for you, or it isn’t. The salary isn’t the greatest, understandably so as it is a charity, and carers are typically low skilled positions, however the stress involved when working with a challenging PWS can be overwhelming, and there are other carer roles becoming available all the time that offer less challenging situations. My experience has been a positive one overall, so I’m finding it difficult to define any real cons.

    Continue reading

    Mencap Response

    January 29, 2020Recruiter

    Hi, Thank you for leaving your review on Glassdoor. We agree that it is a great place to work and we take a person centred approach to the support we provide. Our pay has been recently reviewed to ensure that we remain competitive and an employer of choice for those wanting to work within health and social care and we do offer a myriad of additional benefits. These will be based on your contract, however can include quarterly award schemes, discount and cashback at high street shops and free access to round the clock employee assistance program for advice and support. This list is not exhaustive and we have plenty more that we offer to those joining Mencap. Kind regards, Mencap

  10. "A well rewarded great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mencap

    Pros

    Seeing people have a great life in the community and in there own home with lots of happiness

    Cons

    There are cons in every job but there is not that many at Drummond court yes hours can be long but normally that’s your choice anyway to do them

    Continue reading

    Mencap Response

    January 21, 2020Recruiter

    Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Glassdoor. We agree that it is a great place to work and we take a person centred approach to the support we provide. We have now launched our refer a friend scheme and if you know someone that would love working for Mencap as much as you do, we will give you £250 as a thank you, subject to our T&C's which you can find on our Intranet. Thank you again for your review and wishing you every success in your position at Mencap. Kind regards, Mencap

Found 168 reviews