Method Studios Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Method Studios Reviews

Updated Oct 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.5
43%
Recommend to a Friend
17%
Approve of CEO
Method Studios CEO Ed Ulbrich (no image)
Ed Ulbrich
19 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great atmosphere also nice people and the stuff(in 10 reviews)

  • "great projects, good people, good memories(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "nice for income bad for work-life balance(in 10 reviews)

  • "some long hours, some pipeline issues nothing too serious(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Method Studios"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Method Studios

    Pros

    Nice people, bug set up

    Cons

    Technology sucks, lots of politics

    Method Studios2014-12-25
  2. "Not great."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Method Studios full-time

    Pros

    Some really great talented people to work with.

    Cons

    Long hours, unpaid overtime. Not much of a team spirit.

    Method Studios2019-03-28
  3. "Vancouver versus Montreal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - VFX Artist in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Method Studios full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Method is a good company to work with in Vancouver. I do not work in Montreal but my fellow artists tell me that all Montreal vfx vendors are expanding in Montreal. This happening while we are seeing some shops sizing down a bit in Vancouver.

    Cons

    The "race for the rebates" is continually in full swing. The trade off is that Vancouver lifestyle is very nice. The rental prices are sky-high in Vancouver while the rental prices in Montreal are lower. The big however here being the provincial tax is higher in Montreal so there is a bit of a wash in that respect for the cheaper housing in Montreal.

    Advice to Management

    Survive the re-org, and get investors that want to be involved in Animation & VFX.

    Method Studios2019-10-15
  4. "Pretty good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Roto/Paint Artist in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Method Studios full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of great shows, not much OT, available if wanted though. Good experience and opportunity for promotion. You gotta push for it though.

    Cons

    Management changes can be difficult as they switch styles. Some are very laid back other sare micromanagers

    Advice to Management

    None

    Method Studios2019-10-11
  5. "Good to work here - but sudden layoffs in 2018"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lighting in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends

    I worked at Method Studios full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good studio and quality movies. Great Lead and Supervisors. Tools worked. Maya and Nuke.

    Cons

    Sudden layoffs the studio lost a movie maybe more than one. Layoffs were not handled well...people notified late Friday were not able to say good by etc.

    Method Studios2019-09-29
  6. "Home away from home"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Artist 

    I worked at Method Studios full-time

    Pros

    Some of the nicest people in the industry, team got along well

    Cons

    Layoffs come on suddenly and are unexpected

    Method Studios2019-09-03
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Avoid if you're serious about VFX"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Compositor in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Method Studios full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good wage if you're coming while crunch times

    Cons

    - Low quality expectations - Terrible pipeline and methodology (ironic) - Non-existent personal growth opportunities and management

    Advice to Management

    - They wouldn't care about what I'd write here so none.

    Method Studios2019-09-14
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Bad experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Artist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Method Studios full-time

    Pros

    - Friendly artists. - Talented people. - Good facilities. - Fairly paid. - Some dupes are nice but they are swamped in the global messy management.

    Cons

    - Awfull underbid projects. - Supes and prod. people are unexperienced and you have to deal with their big egos. They never listen to you even when you flag issues, resulting in delivery struggling months after. - The management doesn't care about their employees. The company is now a big sausage factory delivering cheap vfx. - They layoff people without any explanation ("Hey! By the way, today is your last day")

    Advice to Management

    Start to listen to the people that are on the field. Give them the proper resources so that they can do the job properly. If your team is saying that they need 5 artists and 4 months on a task, believe them and don't pretend that they can do it in 2 months and 2 artists. Start to say no to the client when you know that a delivery is impossible.

    Method Studios2019-09-20
  9. "Awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technician in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Method Studios full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Beer Fridays and that's about it to be honest

    Cons

    Everything else, including old technicians who work with outdated technology and are simply waiting to retire or the company to shut down. Avoid.

    Advice to Management

    Shut the place down.

    Method Studios2019-09-14
  10. Helpful (1)

    "I've worked here for 4 years. Not a place I would return to."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Artist in Santa Monica, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Method Studios full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great team. Some good projects. Good facility. Some nice people here and there.

    Cons

    lies fed to employees in studio meetings. big projects turned away because it doesn't fit the brand. Artists and production staff let go from team to make a higher margin. Urinals always overflowing. Food truck operators caught sharing homophobic ideology still scheduled by studio. More craft service people than actual artists at this point. Off-site parking 20 to 30 minutes away depending on train crossing or... traffic. Not many food options close by.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    They wouldn't listen to anything I would say. So why bother.

    Method Studios2019-09-08
Found 85 reviews