Method Studios Reviews

Updated 14 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
43%
Recommend to a Friend
15%
Approve of CEO
Method Studios President and GM Ed Ulbrich (no image)
Ed Ulbrich
21 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great atmosphere also nice people and the stuff(in 11 reviews)

  • "mostly good people (especially the Reception/Production staff)(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "nice for income bad for work-life balance(in 10 reviews)

  • "some long hours, some pipeline issues nothing too serious(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Method Studios"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Method Studios

    Pros

    Nice people, bug set up

    Cons

    Technology sucks, lots of politics

    Method Studios2014-12-25
  2. "Not great."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Method Studios full-time

    Pros

    Some really great talented people to work with.

    Cons

    Long hours, unpaid overtime. Not much of a team spirit.

    Method Studios2019-03-28
  3. "Great Place"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Coordinator 

    I have been working at Method Studios full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Personal and professional life balance

    Cons

    Management can do better. Scheduling can be done more efficiently.

    Method Studios2020-05-14
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Third-rate with a big title portfolio"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - 3D Artist in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Method Studios full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Free bread and coffee - Extended health benefits for staff members - Good opportunity for junior artists and junior TDs

    Cons

    - No dental care for contractors - Lack of coverage (80%) in benefits kit for permanent employees (the GWL) - Studios are run by short-term contractors (3 months or less)

    Continue reading
    Method Studios2020-05-12
  5. "Company Culture"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - VFX Coordinator in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Method Studios full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Brilliant team of artists and production staff.

    Cons

    There are some old mindsets, clique-like groups that do not foster a sustainable and healthy work culture. Upper management should not be reluctant to address.

    Method Studios2020-02-17
  6. "Challenging but Educational"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - VFX Production Coordinator in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Method Studios full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you like a challenge for show production, you've come to the right place. Nice Facilities Excellent Location Nice Employees Good Company Spirit

    Cons

    A lot of projects are poorly managed and under resourced. Overwhelming amount of work; not evenly spread out. A lot of overtime is a must; not really optional in many cases (feel pressured to stay often) Neglect from Management

    Continue reading
    Method Studios2020-02-16
  7. Helpful (1)

    "No complaints"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Lighting Artist 

    I have been working at Method Studios full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Nice people. Reasonable work hours when not on crunch.

    Cons

    The same as everywhere else.

    Method Studios2019-11-28
  8. "Vancouver versus Montreal"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - VFX Artist in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Method Studios full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Method is a good company to work with in Vancouver. I do not work in Montreal but my fellow artists tell me that all Montreal vfx vendors are expanding in Montreal. This happening while we are seeing some shops sizing down a bit in Vancouver.

    Cons

    The "race for the rebates" is continually in full swing. The trade off is that Vancouver lifestyle is very nice. The rental prices are sky-high in Vancouver while the rental prices in Montreal are lower. The big however here being the provincial tax is higher in Montreal so there is a bit of a wash in that respect for the cheaper housing in Montreal.

    Continue reading
    Method Studios2019-10-15
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Pretty good place"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Roto/Paint Artist in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Method Studios full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of great shows, not much OT, available if wanted though. Good experience and opportunity for promotion. You gotta push for it though.

    Cons

    Management changes can be difficult as they switch styles. Some are very laid back other sare micromanagers

    Continue reading
    Method Studios2019-10-11
  10. "Good to work here - but sudden layoffs in 2018"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lighting in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends

    I worked at Method Studios full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good studio and quality movies. Great Lead and Supervisors. Tools worked. Maya and Nuke.

    Cons

    Sudden layoffs the studio lost a movie maybe more than one. Layoffs were not handled well...people notified late Friday were not able to say good by etc.

    Method Studios2019-09-29
Found 88 reviews