Metropolitan Police Service Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Metropolitan Police Service Reviews

Updated Dec 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
53%
Recommend to a Friend
38%
Approve of CEO
Metropolitan Police Service Commissioner Sir Bernard Hogan-Howe
Sir Bernard Hogan-Howe
148 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Police Constable 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metropolitan Police Service full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employees are trustworthy, positive environment, lots of learning

    Cons

    unsociable hours, horrible shiftwork, lack of family and friends life.

    Advice to Management

    Mine are brilliant

    Metropolitan Police Service2019-12-06
  2. "A rewarding career more than a job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Police Officer in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Metropolitan Police Service full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Being able to assist people in times of need

    Cons

    Abuse and violence suffered on occasions

    Advice to Management

    Ensure morale above all else is maintained.

    Metropolitan Police Service2019-12-10
  3. "Shift work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Police Officer 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Metropolitan Police Service full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    No 2 days are the same

    Cons

    Shifts long hours night shifts

    Advice to Management

    Family work life balance

    Metropolitan Police Service2019-11-26
  4. "Admin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Worthing, South East England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Metropolitan Police Service full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Secure standard governmrnt work office based

    Cons

    Life draining, hard work, not enough resources

    Metropolitan Police Service2019-11-25
  5. Helpful (1)

    "I love it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Police Officer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metropolitan Police Service full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyday is different. You never know what to expect. Adrenaline, the thrill, the challenges, the satisfaction of getting a charge, even more satisfaction for a long conviction, the laughs, the gear, shiny badge, free transport.

    Cons

    Paperwork, lack of resources for the BCUs, the BCUs themselves, when we have to go on 12 hours shift, 7 days week with one day off, late shifts.

    Advice to Management

    The direct management is good. Sergeants, Inspectors and Superintendents always try their best to be fair in their decisions. I’m very fortunate that on my borough, we have a great Superintendent for my unit.

    Metropolitan Police Service2019-11-06
  6. "Brill job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Police Constable in London, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at Metropolitan Police Service full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Different job every day enjoy it

    Cons

    there are a few but never put me off the job..

    Metropolitan Police Service2019-10-24
  7. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Police Officer in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Metropolitan Police Service full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Interesting and varied career Lots of skills to be learned

    Cons

    Treated like a number rather than a person Exhausting

    Metropolitan Police Service2019-11-07
  8. "Generally very positive and enjoyable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intelligence Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Metropolitan Police Service full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Interesting, job satisfaction, sense of pride

    Cons

    Bound by financial constraints, frustrating at times

    Advice to Management

    Allow staff to specialise in subject areas, experiences counts!

    Metropolitan Police Service2019-10-09
  9. "Information security analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Police Staff in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metropolitan Police Service full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Exiting jobs on daily bases

    Cons

    Varieties of opportunity and progression

    Advice to Management

    Be rewarding to hard work

    Metropolitan Police Service2019-10-07
  10. "The end of an Era"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Detective Constable in London, England

    I have been working at Metropolitan Police Service full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I have been privileged to work on many fascinating and complex cases. Now that I am reaching the conclusion of my time in the service I realise that I will be sad to leave this behind.

    Cons

    The promotion process is long and tedious. It is not a case of those that work the hardest receiving recognition or promotion.

    Advice to Management

    Value the skills of your employees - many of your employees want to take responsibility and grow - help people to develop. It is not always about rank be creative and exploit the skills of those around you.

    Metropolitan Police Service2019-10-06
Found 310 reviews