Mitie Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Mitie Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 283 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
41%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
Mitie CEO Phil Bentley
Phil Bentley
67 Ratings
Pros
  • "Mitie are a good company to work for you get out what you put it(in 15 reviews)

  • "There were some great people who worked there(in 11 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good and very helpful comapny"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cleaning Assistant in Tenterden, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mitie part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Really friendly staff and understanding

    Cons

    No Cons in my experience

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    Mitie2019-05-21
  2. "Great People, Poor Pay and no staff loyalty"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Helpdesk in Portsmouth, South East England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Mitie full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Nice people in my section

    Cons

    Poor pay No care for staff No progression

    Advice to Management

    look after your loyal employees

    Mitie2019-04-26
  3. "office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Mitie full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Superb people, some of the most talented and insightful teams ive worked with Local management allow you to breathe, push you to hit potential, great working environments

    Cons

    Senior management transformation a total wreck. Zero due dilegence done, seeminly forgot about satellite offices when researching what work people were doing

    Advice to Management

    Get better and listening and sharing best practice rather than thinking a one size fits all formula works

    Mitie2019-05-10
  4. "Chaotic. Insecure low level bosses that reward incompetent staff while relying on the competent ones to do work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shared Services in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mitie full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Camaraderie with the other competent colleagues with decent work ethic.

    Cons

    Low level managers hired and put in positions that mean they have power to effect their subordinates work lives but they do not have enough integrity and/or not adequately trained to do it fairly. If a manager perceives you really need the job then they will use that to pay you less than others doing same role. Even if you don't take leave and work outside your hours they keep taking advantage. I got promise to be paid...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Ensure anyone with authority to have impact on other people and their work lives are up to job.

    Mitie2019-05-10
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Support in Chorley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mitie full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Perks include staff discounts and cashback on many companies and services. Finance loans available. Good company values.

    Cons

    Current managent are inexperienced and do not follow the company values. They do not give positive feedback and micromanage. It's a shame because otherwise this would be a fantastic place to work. Long hours.

    Advice to Management

    Undertake management training for line managers and follow Mitie values. Motivate rather than nit-pick.

    Mitie2019-04-23
  6. "Dissapointed with career opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Receptionist in Basingstoke, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mitie full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Nice team, not over pushing management, good work-life balance.

    Cons

    No career opportunities, not useful training courses

    Mitie2019-04-23
  7. "Worst company I ever worked for. Thanks for the change to 4 week pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Guard in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mitie full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    none just another security firm

    Cons

    They pay every 4 weeks which means your paydate is always moving back. after working for 5 years and getting pay increases to get the wage you get taken over and your wage drops by £300 a month some months they tell you over a year its the same wage but that doesnt matter when you suddenly have £300 less a month. If your new to them it wont affect you if your taken over by them it may affect you massively.

    Advice to Management

    Its simple dont pay every 4 weeks nobody else does that. Nobody except you benefits from that. Staff will leave on mass and move to other firms and you will be left with the guys that are no good and cant get jobs elsewhere. you will rush to fill the roles and get more guards that are no good and in turn this will lead to even more staff leaving. 3 staff from my site alone now want to leave It is very wrong to take over...

    Show More
    Mitie2019-05-19
  8. "Don't waste your time."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Officer in Watford, East of England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Mitie full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    I honestly cannot think if of a single positive thing about working for mitie.

    Cons

    Too many to mention but to keep it brief the wages are appalling, staff turnover is high although probably linked to wages again, expected to work beyond normal shift times and that never seems to be paid for, agency guards often sent who cannot do the job and have no knowledge whatsoever which is rather frustrating and just adds more pressure through out the day, constantly underpaid, no sick pay, very hard to get certain...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I think management should seriously look into staff complaints and actually put forward some suggestions before more staff get fed up with mitie and leave.

    Mitie2019-05-16
  9. "Security officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Officer in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Mitie full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Your salary Overtime work are always available

    Cons

    No worklife balance Minimum wage 12 Hours shift No career progression

    Mitie2019-04-24
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Fairly good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Administrator in Chichester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mitie full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexi time available - overtime sometimes available. fair and nice staff in the small office i worked in

    Cons

    no chance or no obvious chance to progress.

    Advice to Management

    offer career and progression path

    Mitie2019-04-06
Found 283 reviews