Mountbatten Program Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Mountbatten Program Reviews

Updated 28 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
65%
Recommend to a Friend
40%
Approve of CEO
Mountbatten Program Director-General Paul Beresford-Hill CBE
Paul Beresford-Hill CBE
22 Ratings
Pros
  • "You get to live in New York City, which is pretty amazing(in 22 reviews)

  • "You get to live in New York or London for a year without the hassle of having to sort out a visa(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "The accommodation isn't the best in terms of finish(in 7 reviews)

  • "For anyone who has worked post-uni (which is a requirement of the programme) you will feel like you have taken a huge step backwards and be bored(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mountbatten Program full-time

    Pros

    Amazing opportunity to experience what it's like to be a New Yorker - both in terms of professional experience and the chance to take continue your hobbies, interests and activities in the city. Great chance to test your skills in a new environment and to gain experience in a large multinational organisation. Meet like minded people, make friends for life and have stories to tell for years to come.

    Cons

    Have to travel to London for the interview. Internship only lasts 12 months.

    Mountbatten Program2018-10-30
  2. "Mountbatten Program Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - HSBC Intern 

    I worked at Mountbatten Program full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great for those who are a graduate and are unsure about what they want to do but still want to build upon their CV

    Cons

    Hardly get paid anything so you will need some support from home and you have to pay for PGC or Masters which is worthless in my opinion.

    Mountbatten Program2020-01-28
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Don't waste your money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Mountbatten Program full-time

    Pros

    The host organization will look good on your resume

    Cons

    The job you'll work will be somewhere in the back office, if you're lucky. You will be doing a job that your host organization doesn't want to offshore because they're going to automate it away soon. The skills you gain aren't really marketable outside of your niche field. The pay is horrible for someone working towards an advanced degree. If you are an ambitious individual hoping to work in finance, this program is not for you.

    Continue reading
    Mountbatten Program2019-11-02
  4. Helpful (1)

    "awful organisation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student 
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mountbatten Program full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    An amazing time in NYC. The best year

    Cons

    It is important to be aware of the ineffective, and rude way the staff run the program.

    Mountbatten Program2019-09-22
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Don’t do it! Think and consider other options first"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mountbatten Program full-time

    Pros

    Great idea of a program in terms of offering culture and work experience

    Cons

    Absolutely the worst experience. The London staff are extremely incompetent and need training. If you turn down an offer they will make a big deal and guilt trip you when it’s your right to choose. Do not fall for it or lower your expectations. The pay is a joke and can be considered as modern day slavery. Working over hours and just as hard as employees in NY but getting paid minimal is shocking. I have realised there are other opportunities that are better for one’s career profile (consider global companies in your field that offer worldwide promotions)

    Continue reading
    Mountbatten Program2018-12-14
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Just do it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mountbatten Program full-time

    Pros

    Amazing year in New York City! Mountbattens create a great community with like minded outgoing people. The work is great experience but the lifestyle is something else. You will have the year of your life!

    Cons

    Mountbatten staff need to sort out organisation skills, however new management and staffing being out in place to hopefully turn this around.

    Mountbatten Program2018-10-26
  7. Helpful (17)

    "THINK BEFORE YOU APPLY HERE!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mountbatten Program full-time

    Pros

    Great concept if you’re lucky to get one of the few good placements.

    Cons

    Awfully excuted. It is ran by a collective of unprofessionals who do no know how to treat adults. The programme have their ‘favourite’ trainees which usually goes against ethnics. If you have a placement or housing issue forget about getting any help from the programme. They will waste your time and give you false hope. The academic side is also poorly ran, lecturers are not good and most will not invest their time in you. Finally and most importantly the CEO, Richard Sexton is the most disreputable person I have ever come across, he has no control over his emotions has a short temper and will shout at you as if you were his child.

    Continue reading
    Mountbatten Program2018-10-10

    Mountbatten Program Response

    October 12, 2018Administrator

    If you are reading this review I would encourage you to dig just a little bit deeper to find the truth about the Program and myself. We have a fabulous track record and passionate alumni who will speak to the transformative nature of the Program. We do get a very small number of people who it doesn’t work out for and it’s not the right fit for them. I personally advocate a community approach where we all work together as a team across the year. My staff are talented and committed and have an open door policy to support all trainees. Best wishes Richard Sexton, CEO

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Awesome Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Business Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mountbatten Program for less than a year

    Pros

    Good opportunity to work in London in the financial industry Well structured classes (I completed the MA programme)

    Cons

    Need to have a little bit saved to enjoy the year (traveling, activities in London, etc.) Lots of work to balance full time job with the MA, but worth it

    Mountbatten Program2018-06-13

    Mountbatten Program Response

    July 24, 2018Administrator

    We are so glad that you have enjoyed your Mountbatten experience and that both your academic program and work placement was valuable. We really enjoy staying connected with our alumni, so please do keep in touch. Best wishes Gary Ball Deputy Director General

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mountbatten Program full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working for a great company and learning a great deal.

    Cons

    No support after your one year internship.

    Continue reading
    Mountbatten Program2018-04-03

    Mountbatten Program Response

    May 1, 2018Administrator

    We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your year on the Mountbatten Program and found the experience beneficial for your professional development. If you haven't already, we recommend that you sign up to Mountbatten Connect https://mountbattenconnect.com/. The platform is only available post-program and has more than 3,000 alumni already registered. On Mountbatten Connect, alumni post about meet-ups, ask for and offer help, as well as post jobs with their organizations. The supportive network has helped a number of alumni secure roles and make connections, outside of their original intake. We always enjoy hearing from alumni, so please do stay in contact. Best wishes Gary Ball Deputy Director General

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Positive Transformation of Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mountbatten Program

    Pros

    You will have the incredible experience of living in NYC. Mountbatten push you to study and learn, ensuring you take something from the internship. You will become a more well rounded professional and experience things you would never have if you were working in the UK.

    Cons

    The pay is understandably minimal so you will either have to have some financial support or keep to a budget.

    Mountbatten Program2018-03-23

    Mountbatten Program Response

    March 27, 2018Administrator

    Thank you for your review, I’m delighted that you enjoyed your time in NYC and that your experience was a valuable element of your professional development. Unlike other internship programs, we do offer a monthly living allowance of $1275 and as you mention we also encourage, where possible, for interns to come with some savings. Although, there are always creative ways to enjoy NYC on a budget! Please do stay in contact with us and should you wish to discuss anything further, do not hesitate to get in contact. Best wishes Richard Sexton CEO, Americas

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 39 reviews