NOVA (Japan) Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

NOVA (Japan) Reviews

Updated Nov 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
51%
Recommend to a Friend
Pros
  • "Working with nice people, some of the students are great, and an overall easy job(in 7 reviews)

  • "Get to meet interesting students, visa sponsorship, textbooks are easy to get used to(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "No health insurance or pension paid as a contract employee(in 11 reviews)

  • "3 hours a week; the legal requirement to provide health insurance etc(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Not the best but not the worst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at NOVA (Japan) full-time

    Pros

    Easy work Resources Provided Pay on time

    Cons

    Repetitive work Micromanagement You are just a number

    NOVA (Japan)2019-03-11
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Overall good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    English Instructor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at NOVA (Japan)

    Pros

    Initial training is given to help ease you into the role. Would be helpful to first-time teachers. Ongoing training is given as you work to familiarise you with other courses that they offer apart from their main textbooks. Time spent on both initial training and ongoing training is reimbursed. Students are generally really nice and friendly. You get to make friends with a lot of the other teachers as well, and... enjoy Japan together.

    Show More

    Cons

    Because of how the class booking system works, sometimes teachers get very little time to prepare for the class they are expected to teach. Sometimes you get assigned a course that you haven't had training for, which could be a bit daunting. Generally the Japanese staff are there to support you but sometimes even they're unsure of what materials you require.

    NOVA (Japan)2018-04-09
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Small company with good management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at NOVA (Japan) full-time

    Pros

    flexible, colleagues are good good benefits

    Cons

    small company, limited progression, high work load

    NOVA (Japan)2019-11-12
  4. Helpful (1)

    "NOVA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at NOVA (Japan) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy to get a working visa. Nice students, the work is quite easy.

    Cons

    Power harassment is rife within the upper (Osaka) Japanese management. It is quite shocking and upsetting to see. Apparently, she thinks you have to treat your employees like garbage to be a good manager. The native foreign managers are not bad though, they are quite friendly and they treat their staff with respect. Let’s be clear. NOVA is a black company. They have no shame, ripping off their teachers and... students. $230+ penalty if you’re late. $900+ if you move out of your NOVA apartment early and the list goes on. Also, even though your working time is over 8 hours, there’s a lot of unpaid time, almost 40 hours per month. If you understand that, then you have no problems working for them.

    Show More
    NOVA (Japan)2019-11-03
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Flaming Dumpster Fire Leave Japan While You Still Have Your Dignity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instructor in Tokyo
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at NOVA (Japan) part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lowest hours in the eikaiwa gulag

    Cons

    -No benefits, the part time schedule is a Ponzi scheme to have you work 40+ hours without government mandated benefits. -Japanese staff can hardly speak English, many are petty and vindictive towards the teachers. One especially bitter staff made me clean a toilet my first day. Welcome to Japan, where power harassment is encouraged! -Multiple schools, locations, horrible hours, low pay -No upward mobility,... nothing rewarding at all, students are ignorant about other cultures

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Just quit

    NOVA (Japan)2019-10-23
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Decent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - English Teacher in Tokyo
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at NOVA (Japan) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Get to meet interesting students, visa sponsorship, textbooks are easy to get used to

    Cons

    Feedback from some managers is unhelpful, no company health insurance, salary can often be lower than similar positions at other companies

    Advice to Management

    Try to support employees more with feedback and advice

    NOVA (Japan)2019-08-29
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Treated me well"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Teacher 

    I have been working at NOVA (Japan) full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Help with housing -Classes are fairly easy to teach -Some students are lots of fun to talk to

    Cons

    -Little time to prepare for classes -Kinder classes are basically babysitting

    NOVA (Japan)2019-07-24
  8. Helpful (3)

    "It all depends on where you are"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher 
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at NOVA (Japan) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working with nice people, some of the students are great, and an overall easy job.

    Cons

    The company itself is very shady and doesn't provide health benefits to its teachers.

    NOVA (Japan)2019-07-08
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Teach English in Japan!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Instructor in Umeda, Osaka
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at NOVA (Japan) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You get out of it what you put into it. It’s as simple as that. Just follow the rules. The interview process was simple and stress-free. The lessons are fairly simple to teach. Training was useful.

    Cons

    No benefits like regular Japanese workers. Shift patterns won’t suit everyone.

    Advice to Management

    More feedback at the start would have been nice.

    NOVA (Japan)2019-06-26
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Not as bad as I'd heard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher in Sakai, Osaka
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at NOVA (Japan) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Individual managers make the difference I think. Company has many long running students and most branches are nice to work in (ie. fairly new, colleagues, close to train stations). I made some great friends with the other teachers. Working evenings and having mornings off was nice.

    Cons

    It's mostly the culture shock of working in a Japanese company which is quite different to a western company.

    NOVA (Japan)2019-06-26
Found 75 reviews