Papyrus Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Papyrus Reviews

Updated 16 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.7
17%
Recommend to a Friend
35%
Approve of CEO
Papyrus President Dominique Schurman (no image)
Dominique Schurman
121 Ratings
Pros
  • "There is a good employee discount(in 23 reviews)

  • "Pretty good discount on non-sale items, quiet work environment most of the time(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "Poor communication between upper management & employees on the sales floor, aggressive monitoring via in-store cameras to micromanage employees(in 28 reviews)

  • "No benefits to part time employees(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing environment and coworkers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Associate Manager 
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Papyrus part-time

    Pros

    i loved the people i worked with

    Cons

    when the company was shutting down, they let us know by sending us "store closing" signs and not picking up our calls. they also purposefully withheld our final day of work so that no one would leave during the liquidation process, which made it hard to find another job.

    Papyrus2020-03-16
  2. "decent job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Papyrus part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    the store manager and the people I worked with were great.

    Cons

    Corporate headquarters does not really know what their customers want and pressure sales associates to sell loyalty program that makes no sense.

    Papyrus2020-02-15
  3. "Not the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I have been working at Papyrus full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great staff and good discount

    Cons

    Under paid and over worked

    Papyrus2020-02-25
  4. "Great products, too much time on single coverage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in South Portland, ME
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Papyrus full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Awesome products & amazing people

    Cons

    unrealistic sales goals and not enough payroll

    Papyrus2020-02-06
  5. "Worst company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Toronto, ON

    I worked at Papyrus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free cards free boxed cards

    Cons

    No growth No benefits poor management

    Continue reading
    Papyrus2020-03-12
  6. "Not so great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Manager in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Papyrus part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Love products, enjoy the working environment

    Cons

    Terrible management, lack of communication

    Papyrus2020-02-17
  7. "Better than most retailers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier 

    I worked at Papyrus part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They work around your school schedule and/or if you have a second job/internship It's a pretty relaxed environment and my co workers were nice Free cards for the different holidays You learn more about the greeting card industry The customers are nice for the most part The opening and closing times aren't crazy Paid time and a half for the holidays

    Cons

    Can get super busy during the holidays especially for Valentines/Mothers Day including during the holiday season so you need to learn to check out people effectively and efficiently You're on your feet a lot During my time there, some managers resigned, so I worked at about four different locations sometimes One store in particular had thieves and we had no security cameras The shorter 3 hour shifts were sometimes annoying

    Continue reading
    Papyrus2020-01-16
  8. "sucked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Papyrus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    none at all this company is hopeless

    Cons

    everything needs to change fast

    Continue reading
    Papyrus2020-02-18
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Store closing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Agent Manager in Tigard, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Papyrus part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The store is closing

    Cons

    Terrible pay And terrible upper management

    Papyrus2020-01-18
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Shame..all stores closing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Salesperson in Saint Louis Park, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Papyrus part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None Paycheck Part time Employee discount Nice products

    Cons

    All stores are closing and no one has been told...shame

    Continue reading
    Papyrus2020-01-20
Found 259 reviews