Paul Reviews

Updated Jan 13, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 100 of over 191 reviews

3.8
76%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Paul CEO Mark Hilton
Mark Hilton
11 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good company, good values and nice product(in 4 reviews)

  • "Nice colleagues from different backgrounds and cultures(in 3 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Mostly adolescent workers were expected to complete unreasonable tasks and stay long hours(in 6 reviews)

  • "minimum wage(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      What a great journey

      Jun 4, 2021 - Shop Manager in Marble Arch, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I joined Paul just less than two years ago and by far, this has been a great experience. Paul is one of the best companies I worked for in terms of ‘looking after their people’. Be ready to work hard and that will pay off at the end. Paul has multiple trainings to offer to everyone starting from a team member position to a more senior one. Be committed to the company and Paul will be committed to you, this is mutual at Paul. The food is to die for, all very fresh making this an easy selling tool! I must say that I have zero regrets for choosing Paul as my next experience and I know there are much more to come. Go for it - you will love your journey at Paul.

      Cons

      I don’t thing a challenge is a bad thing!

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Paul Response

      Recruitment Manager

      Hello, Thank you very much for your review. It is fantastic to hear about the positive journey you have experienced so far and we would like to Thank You for your commitment. We are consistently trying to improve to ensure we create the best environment possible for our team as well as constant growth for those who who want it. Kind regards, Your PAUL team

    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Overall good place

      Nov 5, 2021 - Supervisor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good attitude and trainings, spent long hours with colleagues that they became part of your life

      Cons

      Long hours, poor salary, awful uniforms

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Paul Response

      Hello, Thank you very much for your feedback. We are very happy to hear that you work with a great team and particularly enjoy the training and development opportunities we offer at PAUL UK. We are sorry to hear that you find you are working long hours and we are aware it is a particularly tough time at the moment so we would like to thank you for your commitment. We are also in the process of reviewing our uniforms so we hope you are going to like the new one. Kind regards, Your PAUL team

    3. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Time at Paul

      Nov 7, 2021 - Baker 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice team and relatively easy work.

      Cons

      Some of the customers were very rude.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Paul Response

      Hello, Thank you very much for your review. It is lovely to hear that you worked with a great team and found your role enjoyable. We are sorry to hear that you found some of the customers challenging but hope you also come across some very friendly ones. Kind regards, Your PAUL team

    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      not great working there

      Nov 11, 2021 - Team Member in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      the only advantage was free coffee and food sometimes

      Cons

      long shifts, short unpaid break and bad manangement. a lot of unnecessary food waste

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Paul Response

      Hello, Thank you very much for your review and constructive feedback. We are sorry to hear that you weren't happy with the management and that you found there was too much food waste. We will pass on your feedback to the relevant team to make sure they address the issues . We are consistently trying to improve to ensure we create the best atmosphere possible for our team. Kind regards, Your PAUL team

    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Waitress

      Oct 17, 2020 - Waitress in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Relaxing environment to be around

      Cons

      long standing hours due to serving customers

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Paul Response

      Recruitment Manager

      Hello, Thank you very much for your review. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed working within our environment. We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy the long hours working on your feet. We are very grateful for the hard work and commitment of all of our former and current employees to ensure the best service is delivered to our customers. Kind regards, Your PAUL team

    6. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Not good for people

      Oct 19, 2020 - Manager in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice colleagues and good locations

      Cons

      Lacks leadership and transparency, but they say this is what they believe in. No company bonding.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Paul Response

      Recruitment Manager

      Hello, Thank you very much for your review. It is lovely to hear that you worked with a great team and enjoyed the locations of our shops. We are sorry to hear that you weren't as happy with the leadership and will pass on your feedback to the relevant team. We are consistently trying to improve to ensure we create the best atmosphere possible for our team. Kind regards, Your PAUL team

    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Low salary

      Jul 2, 2020 - Sales Floor Team Member in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free meals and in my case lovely team and management

      Cons

      Schedule of work, you don’t know when will be your days off or if you will work morning or afternoon, I think it’s very demanding and consuming

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Paul Response

      Hello, Thank you very much for your review. It is lovely to hear that you worked with a great team and management. We are sorry to hear that your schedule of work was not communicated to you early enough. We always try to send the rota to the teams at least two weeks in advance to make sure everyone can plan their week accordingly. Kind regards, Your PAUL team

    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Nice team

      Jun 7, 2020 - Retail Assistant in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Workshops, monthly bonus, friendly team

      Cons

      White uniform that had to be washed almost every day

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Paul Response

      Hello, Thank you very much for reviewing your employment at PAUL UK. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the workshops and bonus we provided as well as the fantastic team you worked with. We are very happy to have finally changed our uniforms making them more modern, fun and practical to work with. Kind regards, Your PAUL team

    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Toxic culture

      May 11, 2020 - Human Resources Administrator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Met some great people that’s all I gained unfortunately

      Cons

      unconscious bias in the workplace due to the managerial relationships and the ‘this how things are done around here’ culture which is often toxic. some managers lack the managerial skills, knowledge and people skills to have their job titles but get them purely based on personal relationships. In short if management like you (which is more than often affected by unconscious bias) you will be given the job title you want. Although generally there are great initiatives for development, the power distance and hierarchy obsession makes it a hard and miserable place to work. There is a clear promotion path if you are willing to sacrifice work life balance, your sanity and time for very little pay. If you are driven and have a passion for what you do this place is likely to suck it out of you.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Nice Managers

      Mar 3, 2020 - Front of House Staff in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good management, managers that listen to you

      Cons

      long hours and the heavy customer flow makes the pay look meagre

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Paul Response

      Hello, Thank you very much for your review on your employment at PAUL UK. We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us and especially our lovely management team. Working in the shops can indeed be really busy and demanding but it is also a fun and rewarding environment to work in. Your PAUL UK team

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 100 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with Paul Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Paul? Share Your Experiences

    Paul logo
    or