Philips Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Philips Reviews

Updated Jun 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 51 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Philips CEO Frans van Houten
Frans van Houten
29 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work life balance enforced by managers(in 486 reviews)

  • "Good work environment with great opportunity for upgrading your professional skills(in 241 reviews)

Cons
  • "Druck im Vertrieb sowie teilweise schlechte work life balance(in 117 reviews)

  • "A little slow in some decision-making due to layers and hierarchy(in 96 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Philips Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Guildford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Philips full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Treated with respect and given full ownership from day one - Great work/life balance - Good office culture - Healthy incentives - 5/6 levels from CEO; Flat hierarchy

    Cons

    Large organisation makes change extremely slow

    Philips2019-04-03

    Philips Response

    April 4, 2019Talent Brand Manager

    Hi there, thank you for telling us about your experience as Philips intern. It sounds like you've happily worked for our company; that's good to hear! We very much appreciate it that you've decided to share the aspect that you think needs to be improved as well. Our management is ...

    Show More
  2. "BCD manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Brand Communications Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Philips full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Respectful in every way. Plenty of opportunities for everyone

    Cons

    Conservative management. Some times it’s hard to be bold.

    Philips2019-05-23

    Philips Response

    May 24, 2019Talent Brand Manager

    Hi there, we're glad to hear you feel well respected, that's really important to us! Of course, there's also always room for improvement, so many thanks for sharing your feedback.

  3. "Management team don't have a clue"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Guildford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Philips full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Products, Headquaters team, Some smart people in HQ

    Cons

    Local management team are clueless

    Philips2019-06-01

    Philips Response

    June 6, 2019Talent Brand Manager

    Hi there, thanks for taking the time to share some of your feedback, we greatly appreciate it and we'll look into it!

  4. "electrical engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hamilton, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Philips full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good staff protection, union rep strong good training and CPD autonomy within the organisation, although old school management style

    Cons

    old school management style not great salary- no clear progression path focus on faddy ideas - black belts in lean, black belts in sigma, given repsonsibility rather than experienced staff

    Advice to Management

    look at engaging across the levels- lots of young staff not given any input , esp when looking at new techniques etc

    Philips2019-04-18

    Philips Response

    April 18, 2019Talent Brand Manager

    We appreciate that you've taken the time to share quite some thoughts on your work with us. That's definitely interesting to read. Whilst our teams read these pages as well, I hope you've also provided feedback to our management during your time there. As in certain instances that ...

    Show More
  5. "Philips Healthcare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ops Manager in Gloucester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Philips full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great company to work for, being with them for 6 months I really feel they are focused upon the customer & the employee Excellent opportunities for career (up/down and sideways)

    Cons

    Standard large company where you need to find out how everything works on your own/who to talk with to get things sorted - but this is standard in large companies

    Philips2019-03-08

    Philips Response

    March 14, 2019Talent Brand Manager

    Hi there, I'm glad to hear that you've been happily working for our company for 6 months now and that you've noticed how important both our consumers and employees are for us. Thank you for sharing your thoughts here and all the best in your Philips career!

  6. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Guildford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Philips full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Work-life balance thanks to agile working mentality. Managers keep you engaged and recognize efforts. Respectful environment across different teams.

    Cons

    There are several processes that cold be improved and leaner. Perhaps some investment on more advanced software would free staff from doing some admin job.

    Advice to Management

    Provide more support and resources to help improving current tools and processes.

    Philips2019-02-20

    Philips Response

    February 21, 2019Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for taking time to look back on the work you've done with us for the last years. It is very nice to hear that you feel activated and are very much happy with the environment you're working in. I hope that you'll consider talking to your acquaintances about looking into working ...

    Show More
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great company... if you get in with the right people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Services in Reading, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Philips full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Brand, opportunity’s & immediate colleagues.

    Cons

    Too much churn in the business. The department I worked in have 100% staff turnover in the time I was there. A mixture of poor middle management too busy to support you being focused on their own career and a constant threat of redundancy where the business was not preforming. It’s interesting reading the other comments on here about poor training. It’s all very true.

    Advice to Management

    Not sure what to say. It’s the culture that’s wrong and it’s echoed from the top down.

    Philips2019-01-14

    Philips Response

    January 17, 2019Talent Brand Manager

    Hi there, thanks for taking the time to look back at your time working with us, even though there have been quite some things you're unhappy about. Your feedback is most definitely appreciated, as our management reads these pages as well. For now I'd like to wish you the best going ...

    Show More
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Achieve genuine work-life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Privacy Officer in Guildford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Philips part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This is the only company I have worked in to date that genuinely recognises outputs rather than presenteeism. Their working practices allow you to work flexibly to accomodate out of work commitments. This level of trust in employees is especially refreshing.

    Cons

    Due to the level of trust, this can lead to lower performers being tolerated for longer than necessary, leading to frustrations within the workforce.

    Advice to Management

    Be a bit stronger on performance management

    Philips2018-12-12

    Philips Response

    December 13, 2018Talent Brand Manager

    Thanks for your stunning review! I'm glad to hear you feel this way in our team, and that you feel you're able to produce quality. It might come with a downside sometimes as well, but it might also be the thing that allows this attitude. That being said, we should stay critical. Thanks ...

    Show More
  9. "Average salary in the UK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Territory Sales Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Philips full-time

    Pros

    Flexible work hours, home office,

    Cons

    Average Salary for the UK

    Advice to Management

    Raise the salary

    Philips2018-11-30

    Philips Response

    December 6, 2018Talent Brand Manager

    Thanks for your honest review, relating back to your experience working with us in the past. We appreciate that you've taken the time to share this, as our managers are reading these pages as well, looking for feedback to improve our talents their experience working for us.

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Philips"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Philips full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Innovative company. I was part of their new business development team in the U.K. but managed from Eindhoven. Lean team, excellent leadership & management with a clear desire to learn from customers & adapt the technology & service accordingly.

    Cons

    Business unit was pulled shortly after being successfully launched into the U.K. market.

    Advice to Management

    Need for a longer term investment plan in new business choices to reap rewards.

    Philips2018-08-02

    Philips Response

    August 16, 2018Talent Brand Manager

    Many thanks for sharing some points related to your time with us. It's great to read your passionate feedback on the project you were working on. I would certainly advise you to keep an eye on our page careers.philips.com, in case something pops up again in the future. All the best.

Found 51 reviews