Powell Tate Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Powell Tate Reviews

Updated May 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
85%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Powell Tate CEO Pam Jenkins (no image)
Pam Jenkins
13 Ratings
  1. "Great Clients, Bland Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Public Affairs Intern in Washington, DC
    Recommends

    I worked at Powell Tate for less than a year

    Pros

    -amazing clients -awesome manager -my team won win week -attentive HR team

    Cons

    -obvious lack of diversity in company -VPs can be a bit biased and give preferential treatment in accounts -lack of flexibility in choice of account to work on -competitive atmosphere

    Advice to Management

    Bring more diversity to the firm PLEASE Beer on Thursdays won't hide the fact that some of these accounts are kind of useless

    Powell Tate2019-05-09
  2. "Internship - Great Resume Builder, Intense Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Powell Tate

    Pros

    This looks amazing on your resume, and you're exposed to top-knoth clients. The most senior-level staff members are incredibly talented, and you should strive to get to know them. You'll learned a ton, and you'll rarely be board. The firm does pay interns, but regular staff compensation is on the lower end.

    Cons

    The culture here is intense. No one actually takes a lunch break. Communication is not always great between staff members because things are so fast-paced. Seniority is engrained even amongst the lowest levels. If you want a solid job offer, you need to go above and beyond. Also, if there's already a junior staff member on your account, that's not great for your prospects. You need to become essential to an... account if you want to stick around. Job offers are not as common as you may be led to believe.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Reform company culture to be more supportive. Also, the fast-paced culture can sometimes be detrimental to the quality of the work that is produced.

    Powell Tate2018-05-05
  3. "Best Internship Experience--by far!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Digital Intern in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Powell Tate

    Pros

    -amazing company culture -ability to work across multiple teams -always busy, always working directly on client work -the intern work is equivalent of an AAE or AE -if you have a specific interest, employees will work to ensure you get exposed to it (i.e. analytics)

    Cons

    -for those trying to get hired, you won't know until the very very end of your internship, which is quite stressful (however, they do emphasize that if they are hiring, they are going to choose someone they've invested more in the company than an outsider)

    Advice to Management

    -make sure the work interns are doing grows to maximize their invaluableness to the team

    Powell Tate2017-09-20
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Powell Tate part-time

    Pros

    I loved working with my fellow interns and those that worked full-time . I also loved the intern project. I learned a lot about a campaign from start to finish.

    Cons

    Work flow was pretty up and down and work-life balance was hard -- even as an intern. My friends that work there now are also not compensated that well.

    Powell Tate2017-10-02
  5. "Fantastic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 

    I worked at Powell Tate

    Pros

    great atmosphere and boss. good mobility and opportunities

    Cons

    none that i can think of

    Powell Tate2017-04-20
  6. "SVP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Powell Tate full-time

    Pros

    Great firm with lots of really smart people. Tremendous opportunities learn and grow cutting edge skills. The diversity of the work also allows you to try several different things.

    Cons

    Long term projects can make folks feel stuck

    Advice to Management

    Offer more opportunities for working across practice areas.

    Powell Tate2017-03-28
  7. Helpful (1)

    "A mixed bag, crap shoot, hot or miss experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Powell Tate full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazingly talented and diversely qualified group of people, clients which include some of the most recognizable brands on earth, and a global network of resources and individuals that blow our competition out of the water.

    Cons

    Clients and teams are really a crap shoot. A good manager and some interesting accounts can really make a world of difference, but unfortunately senior management doesn't have time to make sure mid-level and junior staff is being trained or supported. As a result, many can expect long hours, low pay, and little recognition for the privilege of working for and among "the best."

    Advice to Management

    Junior staff deserves a voice. We are professional comms folks and we don't follow the advice we give our clients. Survey the staff, listen to what they have to say, and make them feel heard.

    Powell Tate2016-11-13
  8. "Good opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Powell Tate

    Pros

    Opportunity to work with multiple teams on multiple accounts. The office's energy was positive and ideal for completing work.

    Cons

    There seemed to be a lack of direction at the Director level within the organization. There also seemed to be tension in the office between different members.

    Powell Tate2016-06-15
  9. "A great starting place for interns"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Powell Tate

    Pros

    A lot of opportunity to learn about different parts of the PR process, work with different clients, and it was paid! Also got the opportunity to visit Capitol Hill and a couple museums during work hours!

    Cons

    There wasn't as much to do during the summer months, as compared to other times of the year. Also, some of the work was basic, but that's part of the job of being an intern.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to get the interns involved as much as possible! Continue to expose interns to as much variety in work projects and client types as possible.

    Powell Tate2016-04-22
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Executive in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Powell Tate full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's a great place for creative people. Leadership there has actively created a positive work culture that I have not found in other offices in D.C. Hard work is rewarded.

    Cons

    It can be easy to become overwhelmed, especially if you're on too many accounts. Can be difficult to leave an account you don't like.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing.

    Powell Tate2016-03-25
Found 20 reviews