Provident Financial Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Provident Financial Reviews

Updated 5 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.4
30%
Recommend to a Friend
20%
Approve of CEO
Provident Financial CEO Peter Crook
Peter Crook
24 Ratings
Pros
  • "potential to growth, robust processes, good people(in 4 reviews)

  • "(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Forced to work unnecessary Saturday shifts and late nights(in 3 reviews)

  • "(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Provident in Dartford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Provident Financial full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Provident was always there to support you in your time of need

    Cons

    Can't find fault with provident Financial

    Continue reading
    Provident Financial2018-06-08
  2. "Awful company to work for, Employees are not valued one bit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Provident Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive pay, Other than that I struggle to find any Pros!

    Cons

    Constant working hours, No flexibility at all & management dictate how you should treat your team. CEMs were not valued at all & the poor management flowed down from above to create a horrible working atmosphere.

    Provident Financial2020-02-05
  3. Helpful (1)

    "CEMs are not valued"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Manager in Worcester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Provident Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good prospects though heavily dependant on which branch you work in and management.

    Cons

    Some branch managers have been found guilty of bullying staff. Customers tend to be more valued than staff.

    Continue reading
    Provident Financial2019-10-10
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - N/A in Bradford, Yorkshire and the Humber, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Provident Financial full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    People are approachable. There are a lot with long service who are happy to share their knowledge.

    Cons

    Too many changes in close succession which had led to uncertainty and has bred a challenging cultural environment

    Continue reading
    Provident Financial2019-08-27
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Its a shame"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Business Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Provident Financial full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good money for local work

    Cons

    Very long hours, lack of field support

    Continue reading
    Provident Financial2019-09-28
  6. "Good company, good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Support in Bradford, Yorkshire and the Humber, England
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Provident Financial full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I enjoyed the working environment, the teams I worked with were good fun and made me enjoy working there

    Cons

    Didn't feel much opportunity for progression

    Provident Financial2019-06-06
  7. "Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Provident Financial full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The people - I’ve never worked anywhere else like it for people constantly going the extra mile. Decent pay Great on-site facilities - parking, restaurant and gym

    Cons

    Need to plan better - stop trying to do so much in a short space of time. Lack of training investment

    Continue reading
    Provident Financial2019-06-04
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Clueless management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Provident Financial full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    On site gym, casual dress code

    Cons

    Everything, this company is going down the pan, they lie to everyone about how things are going, staff arent stupid though and are jumping ship. No options to improve, no training. It used to be a great place to work but has now turned into a horrible atmosphere with everyone on edge. I wouldn't recommend anyone to work here, you are wasting your time and frankly better positions and indeed companies are out there.

    Continue reading
    Provident Financial2019-07-08
  9. "Good culture but bad decision makers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Provident Financial full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility, Culture, Technology, diversity, relaxed dress code

    Cons

    Commute, Lyoffs, Decision making, communication, vision

    Continue reading
    Provident Financial2019-03-24
  10. "Sales Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Provident Financial part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some clients would pay on time

    Cons

    Not every client would pay you, management just wanted you to hit targets that was not always possible

    Provident Financial2019-04-03

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 72 reviews