QinetiQ Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

QinetiQ Reviews

Updated 11 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
62%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
QinetiQ CEO Steve Wadey
Steve Wadey
110 Ratings
Pros
  • "Interesting work, clever people (without big heads(in 37 reviews)

  • "The work/life balance is good and I'm able to work with the flexibility I need to perform at my best while also tending to a young family(in 33 reviews)

Cons
  • "Middle management do not live the company values(in 23 reviews)

  • "Some senior management or 'leaders' operate completely separately from the Subject Matter Experts (SME's) on the shop floor(in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Professional Organisation great training and development."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Farnborough, Hampshire, South East England, England

    I worked at QinetiQ full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Training and development is very good.

    Cons

    Can’t think of anything really.

    QinetiQ2020-01-03
  2. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Communications Specialist in Portsmouth, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at QinetiQ full-time

    Pros

    Great flexible working at QinetiQ

    Cons

    Pay is a little lower than market rate

    QinetiQ2020-02-11
  3. "Going the right way, albeit with hiccups"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at QinetiQ full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Mature approach to working patterns, great tech, unique mindset, highly ethical

    Cons

    Slow moving, fails to act as one company.

    Continue reading
    QinetiQ2020-01-20
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good experiences - poor progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Boscombe, Wiltshire, South West England, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at QinetiQ full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Big, interesting company with lots going on and lots to be involved in

    Cons

    Keen to talk about progression but slow to execute

    Continue reading
    QinetiQ2020-01-31
  5. "Interesting work but flaws"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Agency Producer in Farnborough, Hampshire, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at QinetiQ full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Meaningful work that makes a difference. Ability to buy 5 days extra leave. Gold sponsor of Reservists, so an additional 15 days leave. Ability to move between roles.

    Cons

    Poor leadership at business-level. Leaders rarely present and seem in it for themselves- they don't seem to show any responsibility for their staff. Stories of senior leaders not following the expenses policy with regard to travel i.e booking higher class travel. Communication from leadership is poor i.e too many grandiose diagrams which don't really communicate any specific message. Many of the functions seem to be making it up as they go along. I had very poor initial support when I joined the company.

    Continue reading
    QinetiQ2020-01-31
  6. "Interesting work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at QinetiQ full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible working, interesting work, good people

    Cons

    Red tape, average salary, poor IT

    QinetiQ2020-01-04
  7. "Variety of work, many people pigeon-holed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Engineer in Farnborough, Hampshire, South East England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at QinetiQ full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Interesting work, flexitime, some really nice people

    Cons

    Large bureaucracy, can be hard to progress within a role.

    QinetiQ2020-01-16
  8. "Excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Bid Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at QinetiQ full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly flexible place to work with lots of support.

    Cons

    Needs more staff as it is a growing business.

    QinetiQ2019-12-28
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Heart in Right Place, Poor Direction from Upper Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Consultant in Farnborough, Hampshire, South East England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at QinetiQ full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Open to new ideas and work processes/Frameworks Good exposure to IT technologies within the core business space. Drive by management to digitally transform across all aspects of IT business Exposure to training Great Canteen and head office in Farnborough Very intelligent work colleagues Management open to feedback from staff

    Cons

    management impatience with results of new processes and frameworks(baby out with the bathwater springs to mind) Poor Pay (resulting in rapid staff turnover and difficulty hiring quality candidates) Castle building and siloed approach to IT between departments. Poor direction and enforcement from upper management. Bullying is a big issue (personally witnessed bad eggs abusing administrative privileges to access work colleagues laptops and mobile phones over the head office network for non-work related activities).

    Continue reading
    QinetiQ2019-12-17
  10. "Expect a lot of stress and low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Scientist in Great Malvern, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at QinetiQ full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours. Onsite gym membership.

    Cons

    Low pay. High pressure that treats Scientific Research as a turnkey job.

    QinetiQ2019-12-20

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 269 reviews