RELX Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

RELX Reviews

Updated 5 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 350 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Erik Engstrom
83 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Senior management is much more concerned with making the finances look good than with actually growing the business(in 11 reviews)

  • "Upper Management especially in the Philippines(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Top notch"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RELX full-time

    Pros

    I love working here. You can be yourself and become successful. It's a company that is performing well too - which helps.

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    RELX2018-06-29
  2. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RELX full-time

    Pros

    Great people to work with, lots of experience Many people stay at the company for years

    Cons

    Some of the office locations are not the greatest.

    RELX2019-02-26
  3. "Marketing Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at RELX full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I had good benefits and work life balance

    Cons

    no room for advancement or salary increase

    Advice to Management

    Promote more within and try to limit outsourcing. Focus more on your employee and you might see better ROI

    RELX2018-12-06
  4. "Flexible employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at RELX full-time

    Pros

    Flexible working hours for most.

    Cons

    Slow processes with regards to changes.

    RELX2018-12-03
  5. "Friendly, well-organised"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RELX part-time

    Pros

    Strong bonds with co-workers, good wages, positive environment

    Cons

    none that spring to mind

    RELX2018-10-19
  6. "Sales Contract Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England

      I have been working at RELX for more than a year

      Pros

      Great company benefits are provided

      Cons

      Management structure is very challenging

      RELX2018-09-05
    • "Project Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at RELX full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Benefits and work-life management is good

      Cons

      The management works biased, not valving the employee talents

      Advice to Management

      Encourage, grow and recognize the talented employee

      RELX2018-08-31
    • "Solution Sales Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
      Recommends
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at RELX full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      A well-known brand offering industry-specific solutions. Attainable goals. Good people.

      Cons

      Near constant change, which causes some to stumble.

      RELX2018-07-18
    • "Great team of people, miss the human environment..."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Telesales Executive in London, England
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at RELX full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I worked for ICIS (the energy side), we made team of great people, very hard working, but very friendly at the same time, always willing to help each other to success. Decent incentive / rewards for the sales team, basic salaries were at the time below what other companies were paying.

      Cons

      Some of the leadership higher in the hierarchy was a bit shortsighted in recognising the efforts of the sales team, and in understanding the clients.

      Advice to Management

      Develop a better understanding of the client base, and what their needs are, so that the product development could be more successful. Probably this has gotten better by now.

      RELX2018-06-28
    • Helpful (1)

      "Good Employer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Operations Analyst in Oxford, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at RELX full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Flexible working, good people, family friendly.

      Cons

      re-orgs often, very big global company so there is a lot of communication issue between different parts of the organisation

      Advice to Management

      reduce the number of changes in the org structure, and have a big picture view of the entire company.

      RELX2018-03-28
    Found 350 reviews