Reddam House Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Reddam House Reviews

Updated 5 Sep 2018

To filter reviews, or .

2.3
23%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Unreasonable treatment of staff and awful teaching facilities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Reddam House part-time

    Pros

    Students are mostly nice Staff are lovely

    Cons

    Facilities are dreadful. Classrooms look like classrooms from an impoverished school. Grounds are awful - no grass in sight. Music teaching rooms are the width of an upright piano, approx size (no joke) of a small walk in robe. Some rooms are too small to even fit a piano (!!). Scheduling is a nightmare. Rules and regs are like nothing I've ever seen. Hourly rate is low with parents paying a lot of money for the... COMPULSORY music program while the staff are paid over $15 per hour LESS than what the parents have paid. No pay rise for many years. Groups of young children not adequately supervised (1 teacher for over 60 students for a before school compulsory class) which was very upsetting when not able to care for students properly. Cost saving strategy, but just waiting for something to go terribly wrong. All a money making exercise, not education. This school is merely a business. AVOID.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Do not build programs without adequate facilities to accommodate. Pay staff in line with current rates (last year was $15 per hour under) Lose the unnecessary rules and regs re scheduling Develop management systems to assist with scheduling Develop a streamlined payment system to get rid of unnecessary and time consuming paperwork. No need to double up on everything with a sign in system, a timesheet and a... weekly schedule! Roll it all up into one thing! Care for students-1 teacher per max 25 students. All before school activities to have adequate staffing, especially if walking children to the hall, along a road (!!) to avoid injury and assist in the event of an ill child.

    Show More
    Reddam House2018-09-05
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Terrible Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Reddam House

    Pros

    Kids are kind and loving.

    Cons

    Treatment to all staff is not equal, management of school are horrible and on a power trip. This does not achieve anything. Focusing on hierarchy instead of curriculum and results is appalling.

    Advice to Management

    Learn to treat everyone the same - get down off your high horse and show respect to everyone no matter what they do, where the come from or who they are. I would never ever recommend anyone to go to this school unless you like being treated like a peasant. It's time for you guys to treat everyone equal to better the school.

    Reddam House2017-09-07
  3. "Excellent education"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in Johannesburg
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Reddam House full-time

    Pros

    Reddam House offers excellent education where the individual needs of each learner is enriched. Resources are of a high standard and appropriate to each grade. Teachers are passionate and highly qualified.

    Cons

    None - there are no cons to Reddam House

    Advice to Management

    As teachers guide and positively nurture children, management continues that ethos with staff.

    Reddam House2017-05-26
  4. "Happy teaching at Reddam"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Teacher in Bedfordview

    I have been working at Reddam House

    Pros

    Wonderful caring staff with whom I work. Enjoy my interaction with parents and pupils. Support from management is good.

    Cons

    Traffic congestion at busy times can be a problem.

    Reddam House2017-05-26
  5. "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Teacher in Woollahra
    Recommends

    I worked at Reddam House for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Teachers put in 100%. Great results. Students valued most.

    Cons

    There is no parking on site

    Reddam House2017-04-22
  6. Helpful (1)

    "I nearly gave up teaching"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Reddam House

    Pros

    The location was great to go shopping at Westfield Bondi Junction.

    Cons

    I was intimidated and berated by Parents to ensure that their children recieved "top marks". This was often met with follow up from the Hirachy. I almost gave up teaching

    Advice to Management

    Royal Commission Enquiry

    Reddam House2017-01-21
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Corruption at its finest"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Reddam House for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The students are kind and are very friendly. The math teachers are very nice and are passionate about teaching highschoolers.

    Cons

    The higher level teachers are beyond corrupt and have a vindictive agression towards students that they deem to be unprofitable

    Advice to Management

    All you care about is your retirement fund, one day treating children like currency will comeback and bite you.

    Reddam House2016-09-21
  8. "Teachers are underpaid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Reddam House for more than a year

    Pros

    High level of education provided

    Cons

    Underpaid, long hours and extra work that does not belong to the teacher. No paid holidays as the children have...

    Reddam House2016-03-30
  9. Helpful (3)

    "All show no substance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Teacher in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Reddam House for less than a year

    Pros

    Good facilities for children Strives for high level of education

    Cons

    Under pays staff Feels unethical in its dealings - presents like its this wonderful place to families but really feels like all they care about is money Overwork teachers do not pay them for it

    Advice to Management

    Place feels too business like, all about money and profits, doesn't really care about children families or community. Check that processes in place actually comply with legal policies and procedures. I was hired without a proper interview or reference check.

    Reddam House2016-04-15
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Feel like a mercenary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Reddam House

    Pros

    Students are pushed too hard

    Cons

    Teachers are pushed too hard

    Reddam House2015-12-02
Found 12 reviews