Rentokil Initial Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Rentokil Initial Reviews

Updated 29 November 2018
414 reviews

Filter

Filter


4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Rentokil Initial Chief Executive Officer Andy Ransom
Andy Ransom
261 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Senior Management are very visible at all levels" (in 20 reviews)

  • "A good work / life balance having started a young family during my years with Initial whilst maintaining a successful career" (in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Getting the work/life balance right" (in 9 reviews)

  • "No cons come to mind at this stage" (in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (2)

    "WOW, what an amazing interview process!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Sales Executive in Birmingham, England
    Current Employee - Area Sales Executive in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rentokil Initial full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Very friendly and easy to approach everyone + talk to, huge company with all the support you need to succeed, good salary, amazing incentives and much much more.

    Cons

    This job is about what you put in to it, if you put a lot in to it, you get a lot out of it. If you don't do as expected then its natural for a manager to ask why and push you to do what you need to be doing. It's not really a con but there is nothing else to put in this box.

    Advice to Management

    Keep being as great as you are!

    Rentokil Initial Response

    6 Nov 2018 – HR Manager

    Thanks for leaving us such a positive review and glad you are enjoying the role. There are so many opportunities when you have the right attitude so i wish the best in your career with us.


  2. "Pest control Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pest Control Technician in London, England
    Current Employee - Pest Control Technician in London, England

    I have been working at Rentokil Initial full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Good training, overtime if you want it, some nice customers / colleagues.

    Cons

    Staff turn over is high, you get familiar with technicians around you and then they have left or been promoted and you get to the point where you don't know many people.Bonus scheme is a joke ! Unachievable, due to the fact you are dependant on other members of your team who don't care , so you miss out.Way too much work / contracts because they keep buying companies , this in turns leads to poor service or no service.Surveyors selling more jobs/ contracts that make you even busier ! Managers bonus kicks in at 95%...Technicians at 98 % ...How is this right ? The technicians are not rewarded properly for the work they do.No real prospects / progression as a technician( unless you want to be a surveyor or manager)

    Advice to Management

    The technicians are the life blood of the company. In the field facing customers, demands from key accounts, callouts, SOS, residential customers....Technicians deserve more respect and perhaps more will stay in the job.Managers can very un-supporting thus leading to bad moral...better training is needed here.

  3. "A company that needs to catch up with it's size"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Camberley, England
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Camberley, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rentokil Initial full-time

    Pros

    Great colleagues and lots of passion

    Cons

    Some senior management (promise but never deliver)
    Pay
    Benefits are very basic

    Advice to Management

    Improve the compensation & benefit packages. For such a large company it's pretty basic.

    Rentokil Initial Response

    13 Nov 2018 – HR Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are regularly reviewing our benefits packages and i will raise your feedback at the next management review.


  4. "Customer support consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Support in London, England
    Current Employee - Customer Support in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rentokil Initial (More than a year)

    Pros

    good work ethics, nice colleagues

    Cons

    life work balance and salary are quiet low.

    Rentokil Initial Response

    22 Oct 2018 – HR Manager

    thanks for leaving us a 5 star review we appreciate the feedback


  5. "A Job with LOTS of opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Operations and Customer Services in Glasgow, Scotland
    Current Employee - Head of Operations and Customer Services in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rentokil Initial full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    A well known, world wide organisation that provides that secure feeling of a well run company who invest in their own people. I have only been with the company for a short period of time but have already secured a promotion along with many of my colleagues. Rentokil definitely like to promote from within.

    Rentokil have various training and development courses designed for employees to develop the necessary skills required to move on and upwards.

    The discounts and benefits (Internal Rewards) is massive! Huge discounts on big retailers which will save us a small fortune in the run up to Christmas. You can even add up to 2 friends or family members onto the scheme.

    Working for Rentokil and having such great opportunities for personal development and career progression really has changed my expectation of what an employer should deliver for its employees.

    If you are prepare to work hard and kick around then Rentokil can potentially be a job for life.

    Cons

    Pest Control and Damp Proofing isn't the most exciting of subjects. Some Saturday shifts required in my role but every role is different.

    Rentokil Initial Response

    22 Oct 2018 – HR Manager

    Great to hear you are enjoying the role and the opportunities that are available. We do invest heavily in our people and always aim to promote from within. We find that works for the business and... More


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rentokil Initial full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Very straightforward people and still an entrepreneurial spirit

    Cons

    Sometimes there is a lack of consistent processes

    Rentokil Initial Response

    22 Oct 2018 – HR Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review.


  7. Helpful (1)

    "A career not just a job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Key Account Manager in London, England
    Current Employee - Key Account Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rentokil Initial full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Fantastic company to work for. First class training is provided and I feel fully supported in my current role. I truly feel I am a valued member of the business. Rewards are high for those who are prepared to work hard.

    Cons

    Internal systems can be frustrating and can hold you back.

    Advice to Management

    Continue listening to front line colleagues.

    Rentokil Initial Response

    2 Oct 2018 – HR Manager

    Thanks for leaving us such a positive review and to read that you feel a valued member of the business. I appreciate internal systems can be frustrating and we are working to reduce these issues... More

  8. "There's a lot worse out there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Surveyor in Birmingham, England
    Current Employee - Surveyor in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rentokil Initial full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Management leave you alone if you're doing well and give you help if you're not. Not bad salary and good job security

    Cons

    Lots of hours and fair bit of stress from time to time

    Advice to Management

    Keep recruiting from within they know how the business works

    Rentokil Initial Response

    2 Oct 2018 – HR Manager

    Thanks for leaving us a review and highlighting that there is ongoing support there for those colleagues who require it. We are continuing to actively recruit our roles from within as we agree that... More


  9. "Still finding our way round after being acquired."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Manchester, England
    Current Employee - Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rentokil Initial full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Large secure organisation with defined visions and goals, Number of opportunities to progress inbetween various parts of the company.

    Cons

    Tend to instigate changes without fully working through so front line staff end up having to adapt and sometimes work respectively...

    Advice to Management

    Take more heed of staff concerns and opinions over organisational and procedural changes.


  10. "Great career progression if you work hard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Management in London, England
    Current Employee - Senior Management in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rentokil Initial full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Great career progression if you are prepared to work hard - open door policy encouraged by upper management and they are always accessible .

    I have been promoted 3 times within 8 years to a senior management position and have had a great experience working at Rentokil Initial .

    Cons

    Be prepared to work some very long days !

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up !

    Rentokil Initial Response

    2 Oct 2018 – HR Manager

    Thanks for leaving us a review and well done on your promotions. Great to hear you progressed and agree the opportunities are there for those colleagues who are prepared to work hard. Keep up the... More