Rentokil Initial Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Rentokil Initial Reviews

Updated 24 September 2018
389 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Rentokil Initial Chief Executive Officer Andy Ransom
Andy Ransom
247 Ratings

389 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Senior Management are very visible at all levels" (in 18 reviews)

  • "A good work / life balance having started a young family during my years with Initial whilst maintaining a successful career" (in 9 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. "There's a lot worse out there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Surveyor in Birmingham, England
    Current Employee - Surveyor in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rentokil Initial full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Management leave you alone if you're doing well and give you help if you're not. Not bad salary and good job security

    Cons

    Lots of hours and fair bit of stress from time to time

    Advice to Management

    Keep recruiting from within they know how the business works


  2. "Good to Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Camberley, England
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Camberley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rentokil Initial full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Rentokil Initial is a fast moving, hard working business. It is great to be working somewhere in growth; with the momentum and drive to get better. RI is keeping up with technology and digital advancements - very impressive! I enjoy having contact with friendly colleagues all round the RI world.

    Cons

    There is obviously room for improvement on some things but importantly RI is working to be world-class and is making progress.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up.

  3. "Surveyor - survey properties for pest infestations and sell pest control products"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Surveyor in London, England
    Current Employee - Surveyor in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rentokil Initial full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Monthly targets keep you motivated and push you to succeed. Commission is uncapped, so the sky is your limit.

    Cons

    Sometimes you are required to work out of hours to catch up on admin and quotes, but you will reep the rewards in commission from this.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work and answer your phones more often.

    Rentokil Initial Response

    18 Sep 2018 – PR & Communications Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review. Your point about management answering their phones has been noted.


  4. "Great Employers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Administrator in Haydock, England
    Current Employee - Office Administrator in Haydock, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rentokil Initial full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    This company are a very fair company, if you work hard, its noticed and rewarded.
    Senior Management are very visible at all levels.
    So much scope to move around the businesses with training, courses etc.

    Cons

    I honestly cannot think of a con. I have worked here over 20 years so if I had one, I would not be here.

    Advice to Management

    Keep motivating us with the Roadshows

    Rentokil Initial Response

    18 Sep 2018 – PR & Communications Manager

    Thank you for leaving us a 5 Star review. It's great to hear from a colleague who has been with the company for over two decades and who is still clearly motivated by their job. You are right... More


  5. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Inverkeithing, Scotland
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Inverkeithing, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rentokil Initial full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Fantastic place to work :) Everyone is so easy to get on with regardless of their job role/title, and you are respected as an individual. A very down to earth company to work for.

    Cons

    I don't have any con's.

    Advice to Management

    Keep investing in your staff.

    Rentokil Initial Response

    18 Sep 2018 – PR & Communications Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review. Our colleagues are the life blood of the organisation and it is important that they feel respected.


  6. "Opportunity to realise your potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rentokil Initial full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    The opportunities for career progression within both the business, and your chosen career and very real, and there are numerous examples of internal promotions.

    Cons

    The job is a career and more than a job, giving so much back if you are prepared to put in the time and effort to progress, and may not suit all.

    Rentokil Initial Response

    5 Sep 2018 – HR Manager

    Thanks for leaving us a 5 star review. Totally agree the opportunities are there for our colleagues who work hard and are willing to put in the effort. Our colleagues are the life blood of the... More


  7. "Great company with a fantastic supportive culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing Executive in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing Executive in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rentokil Initial full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Throughout my time at RI I can honestly say that I have enjoyed everyday working for such a fantastic company. Within your role you are given both the tools and support to do an excellent job and on top of that a lot of trust and responsibility given towards you.

    I had the pleasure of working within a fun and supportive team who I fully enjoyed working within. On top of this you can learn so much from a vast range of different people as everybody is so supportive.

    Finally, they are very supportive with training and encourage you to be the best person you can be, so alot of hard work is needed if you want to do well. But the hard work is all worth it for the praise at the end.

    Cons

    None whatsoever! Keep up the good work and don't change the culture.

    Advice to Management

    All run perfectly to me.

    Rentokil Initial Response

    18 Sep 2018 – PR & Communications Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed and positive review it is a joy to read and you clearly enjoy your work which is great. It is lovely to hear that you find your team both fun... More

  8. "Lack of career progression in the “graduate scheme”"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pest Control Technician
    Current Employee - Pest Control Technician
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rentokil Initial full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Range of different scenarios each day
    Van
    Nice techs in the branch

    Cons

    Graduate scheme- no progression, ask for help but don’t get it
    Management don’t listen as it’s always about profits and bonus’s
    Amount of holidays per year aren’t great.
    Key accounts is too much on top of other calls
    Too many emails per day (want to through phone away)

    Advice to Management

    Buy stock when it’s asked for and don’t skimp just because you want want a good profit.
    Listen to techs when they want to progress and actually help them to do so.


  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Online Marketing Executive in Camberley, England
    Current Employee - Online Marketing Executive in Camberley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rentokil Initial full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    It's true what they say. You get out what you put in.

    Since starting here a year ago I have loved every day. Not a day goes past that I'm not excited to go to work. There's always trust and flexibility with RI, and it's great to be treated with respect by management.

    Whilst I've been here I've had some family issues arise, and management have offered all the help and support I could ask for both in a work capacity, and in a personal capacity.

    Thanks all for everything you've helped with so far, and I look forward to continuing to push what we can do as a team to improve ourselves and our processes.

    Cons

    I can't think of any. My work environment has been great so far!

    Rentokil Initial Response

    4 Sep 2018 – PR & Communications Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed and positive review it is a joy to read. It is great to hear that you are enjoying your role and that you feel trusted and respected by... More


  10. "Making strides to be world-class"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rentokil Initial full-time

    Pros

    Fast moving and hard working which makes the days go quickly. Making steps to be bigger and better, investing in digital and innovations successfully. A good place to work with lovely people.

    Cons

    Room for improvement around being a great employer for women. Maternity pay is poor and ability to work flexibly depends on the manager. A FTSE 100 should be better and being world-class in this area will reap rewards.

    Advice to Management

    Statutory isn't World-class. If you want a family feel - support families - both parents. Be fresh thinking and up there with the best and there will be financial benefits.

    Rentokil Initial Response

    17 Sep 2018 – HR Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review and your comments. We will discuss these at our next senior team review meeting.


Showing 389 of 397 reviews
Reset Filters