RichRelevance Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

RichRelevance Reviews

Updated 5 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 98 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
RichRelevance CEO Carl Theobald (no image)
Carl Theobald
22 Ratings
Pros
  • "Laid back atmosphere with great work life balance; generally lax (unlimited) paid time off and work from home policy(in 10 reviews)

  • "Incredibly smart people- some of the most brilliant you'll find(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Loss of some good people in the last years(in 5 reviews)

  • "Lots of smart people let go without any safety net(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great Experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Reading, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RichRelevance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I never thought I would have an opportunity like this again in my career but I work with some of the most dynamic, intelligent, friendly and hard working people doing something that is not only fun, but adding great value to our customers. We work with the world's most prominent retailing brands - helping them innovate their customer's experiences.

    Cons

    Hard work means having to balance personal and professional life

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the efforts to improve the product suite and innovate

    RichRelevance2015-07-06
  2. Helpful (9)

    "Do what I say, not what I do"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at RichRelevance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Surrounded by smart people. The quality of life is good: work hard, play hard and good package. The portfolio of clients is the company’s best asset. The core product still exceeds that of the competitions. If MicroStrategy is written on your CV, you are guaranteed a job at RichRelevance (Wait! Is this a Con?)

    Cons

    The on-boarding is poor. The C-level executives have no idea of how to drive the boat. As a result, the company is very unstable and flaky: last month they laid off 40 (forty) % of their employees. There is constant re organisation: 4 or 5 in the space of 14 months. No credit or respect is given to the most experienced employees who have the knowledge and know the war stories: most of them have been laid off... too! As always, the strategy is to bet all the money on one horse and hope for the best --> Appalling for a company that preaches the value of data and fights against gut decisions

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    “Own it, Keep it simple, Get it done” - CEO The problems have been identified but not dealt with properly. There is a problem with the cash flow of the company, a problem with selling the platform and a problem with securing additional funding. Own it: understand that we are where we are because we have followed the strategy put in place by the executives. Own the problem and accept that the people at the top... of the company are constantly doing the wrong things. Keep it simple: stop re-organising the company every other month. Treat the problems rather than the symptoms. Get it down: If the platform is not sellable then the marketing strategy and message is incorrect or the market research prior to the creation of a new product was not done correctly (CMO’s and CEO’s faults) OR the products are not doing what they should do (CPO’s fault). If there is a problem with the cash flow of the company then the CFO must have been functioning poorly for a while (CFO’s and CEO’s fault) If we can not get additional funding then the Chairman is not meeting his objectives (Chairman’s and CEO’s faults) C-level execs need to go.

    Show More
    RichRelevance2016-07-04
  3. Helpful (4)

    "From start up to enterprise"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at RichRelevance for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place to work. Most dynamic, intelligent, friendly and hard working people providing great value to its customers. Many of them are individuals so talented they can push an entire organization forward.

    Cons

    There is a historical lack of quality in the product build and documentation. Culture has shifted massively - all time low. Lots of smart people let go without any safety net.

    Advice to Management

    There is an opportunity to be massive here, especially in the space {rr} is in.

    RichRelevance2016-05-03
  4. Helpful (9)

    "Cons outweigh pros"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at RichRelevance for more than a year

    Pros

    This is an awesome company. Not an average company, mind you, but an awesome one. People are great human beings, and some of us stick together as friends. Many of them are individuals so talented they can push an entire organization forward. Compensation is generally competitive. Work/life balance is impressive, and management encourages employees to take advantage of it. Our products work. We can pour our own brew... in our own bar in our own office! If you are looking for a fast-paced environment, this is not the company for you.

    Show More

    Cons

    Where to begin with. Bloated management? I don't think it's the problem. Yes, leadership is unimpressive, but it's not terrible. Recognition is sometimes acknowledged, but there is no incentive or reward for impact (we have an internal award for this, nobody really says 'oh, I'm gonna push hard this month so I can be nominated for that award'). Accountability apparently exists only when you count for nothing. The... lack of process is appalling, and people really excel to keep the company together in certain situations. I'm not sure what my career path looks like. There's diffidence (but no hostility) to new ideas. Employee morale could be higher.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    This company has a lot of wasted potential. We could achieve greater efficiency with little effort. Why aren't we improving what we do? We need structure to focus and scale, so we can be great at what we do. I know the company acknowledged most of its issues, but there is still a lot to do if we want to shine.

    RichRelevance2015-08-05
  5. "A startup which embodies all the challenges of an innovation company whilst maintaining a great heart and culture."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Solutions Manager in Reading, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RichRelevance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've worked here for 18 months and have thoroughly enjoyed the team, culture, projects and clients. I moved to RichRelevance from a blue chip having become bored of the lack of risk, innovation and personal identity, I've in no way been disappointed. The company is vibrant and authentic, modelled by the leadership team who are approachable and eager for positive change. I've felt valued by peers and managers and... have had plenty of opportunities to further my career. My work-life balance has been far better than at any other time in my career with compensation fair. The company has huge unrecognised potential within the market, great things feel as though they are around the corner.

    Show More

    Cons

    If you're scared of change, this might not be the company for you as there is a near constant drive to improve process, structure and products. There is a historical lack of quality in the product build and documentation, however there are good people making positive steps in this regard. On occasion short-term financial decisions are favoured over long-term growth which can be frustrating but again is all part of... the startup journey.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue to give opportunities to those in non or lower-management positions, there are some great leaders who are not yet fully utilised in their roles. Balance the drive for results with more empowerment and support to change the tools and products utilised. Don't accept a lack of quality in the products and their documentation - quality isn't an act, it's a habit.

    RichRelevance2014-09-01
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Run, run away and never return"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at RichRelevance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Smart co-workers. You get to learn a lot from them. Many were let go during the massive lay-offs.

    Cons

    - Benefits: Industry offers better benefits. Benefits offered at Richrelevance are just meh. Insurance is expensive. No commuter benefits such as Uber / Lyft credits. Many startups at San Mateo offers better benefits. - Company culture: The culture is to hire and fire. For once I thought the current CEO has a good vision but he is worst than the previous one. CPO is the worst thing that has ever happen to this... company. He brags about what he has achieved so far but when it comes to product and hiring, he made some terrible choices causing 50% engineering layoffs. - Product: Many customers are building their own recommendation system, thus leaving rich relevance. Though the company adopted some ML/DL models strategy, their big customers (more than 3 I know) have already implemented those before they could and were/are performing A/B testing to replace them asap. The company is in survival mode. Even if they get more funding, funds will exhaust and another round of layoffs will happen.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    To the board: you guys hoped the new CEO and CPO might revolutionize the whole company. In reality, it turned it into dark-side. Replace spineless CPO and product management team, if you want to increase the valuation of the company. please remove spineless CPO

    RichRelevance2019-09-05
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Do not recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at RichRelevance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some good people who care. Some of the executives also seem to care. Tons of flexibility with work from home, flexible hours, PTO, etc. The company IS the leader in the personalization space.

    Cons

    Product is languishing and not good. It's become very difficult to sell it. The personalization space is commoditized. Deal size is pretty small (ask about it) Non-existent culture, and the company does not care about building one (there's no money anyways) Lack of transparency and flat-out untrue information from the CEO. Nastiness can occur within some teams and with some people who are not... pleasant. As the other review says, the CFO is the real boss, and he's a brutal guy. Massive lay-offs occur every 1-2 years, more recently earlier this year, with no previous notice and minimal severance (40-50 people gone) Penny-pinching is the name of the game (you will be questioned on expenses) In general, the company is going nowhere pretty fast.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be truthful. Let people know how the company is truly doing, and where it's really going. Consider not letting the CFO run the show. And, lastly: sell the company. It had a good run, but it's over.

    RichRelevance2019-09-06
  8. Helpful (2)

    "small company with some smart people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at RichRelevance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice co-workers, good relay atmosphere

    Cons

    unstable funding leads to many layoffs

    RichRelevance2019-08-08
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Terrible Executive management, untrustworthy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consulting 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at RichRelevance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Employees are great people, smart, and clients are interesting

    Cons

    The executives think they are smarter than they are, constantly say everything is great, and that they are transparent, without actually being transparent. The CFO is essentially the CEO, with anything he says done without pushback. People who were there for 4+ years were given 1 week severance in a massive layoff, which was incredibly insulting. Pretty sure the rash of reviews over the last couple years were also... fake/the executives and their buddies providing the reviews.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Quit. You have continued to flail in your 2+ years, hire your cronies, and save them during a massive layoff when there were more valuable people impacted. Now you're back hiring and claiming the company is stable.

    RichRelevance2019-08-14
  10. "Seeing the best in the team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Consultant in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at RichRelevance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The consulting team does a wonderful job of finding the hidden gems. They are willing to train and take on people that may not have direct field experience.

    Cons

    The market is quickly changing and retail customers are very demanding.

    RichRelevance2019-05-19

    RichRelevance Response

    August 8, 2019VP, Human Resources

    Thanks for your feedback. You are absolutely right about the Consulting team. They are awesome and are doing a stellar job - especially given how our customers rely on us to help them innovate larger parts of their customer facing experience. And you are also right that the market ...

    Show More
Found 98 reviews