Ruby Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Ruby Reviews

Updated Nov 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
47%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Ruby CEO Kate Winkler (no image)
Kate Winkler
16 Ratings
Pros
  • "Receptionists get to meet with their manager at least every two weeks and receive regular feedback so you always know where you stand(in 12 reviews)

  • "Good health benefits that get better all the time(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Working at HQ I really feel like it’s hard to connect with the receptionists(in 24 reviews)

  • "You talk to frustrated callers many times a day(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Ruby receptionist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Virtual Receptionist in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Ruby part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working times and remote working option.

    Cons

    Feels like workingredients in a call centre. High call volumes.

    Advice to Management

    Possibly hire managers who have some humanity.

    Ruby2019-09-18
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Best company I’ve worked for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ruby full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great pay, well above-average benefits, quick advancement for the right person. Endless opportunities for personal growth.

    Cons

    You definitely have to buy into the culture, that thought may have negative connotation, but it shouldn’t be a negative thing. People who work for Verizon have to “buy in” even if they use Sprint. Not being able to put aside your own junk, and flow with the company can be toxic in any environment,. You won’t be fired for not being as cheerful as the company would like (as I’ve seen in some reviews), but if you are... a negative person or can’t work as a team, it’s probably for the best that you find something that is worth changing your mindset for. The work is challenging, processes are always changing which can be difficult for some people, but is rewarding to others.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I won’t pretend to know how to manage a team, or what it takes to bring multiple people into alignment.

    Ruby2019-11-05
  3. "My First Rubyversary!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chat Specialist in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ruby part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are so many pros to working with Ruby! I have never been happier with a place of employment in my life. I don't consider Ruby as a 'job', but more as somewhere I go 5 days a week to see my fellow coworkers and friends, while delivering services at the same time. I don't dread my time there from when I clock in to when I clock out. I have never been in a more positive and active atmosphere! I love the changes... we've been through since the acquisition in December of 2018! I still can't believe it's almost been a year. Time flies when you're having fun!

    Show More

    Cons

    The only downside to Ruby is that we didn't become Ruby sooner! I'm so glad that we made that giant leap as a company and where we are today.

    Advice to Management

    I think management has done well with growth and handling certain situations under pressure. Kudos to all of management for everything they do and have done for myself and everyone else in the building! They're true gems and foundations for the company.

    Ruby2019-11-08
  4. "I’m a happier person since working at Ruby."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Ambassador in Beaverton, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ruby full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Positive and personal growth focused with amazing people that I value and appreciate. I’ve created strong relationships with those around me and enjoy living our core values each day.

    Cons

    Rubys, former and current, leadership and front line, not seeing all sides of the concerns they bring up. There’s always more to the story and communicating with each other could prevent one sided opinions from turning into toxic emotions that overflow.

    Advice to Management

    Every company has growing pains, however I feel some focus solely on what they don’t have versus what they do. We all need to keep other people’s side of the beach ball in mind.

    Ruby2019-11-07
  5. Helpful (9)

    "Best call center"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Receptionist in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ruby full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    As my headline states Ruby is the best call center I have EVER had the pleasure of working at. I've worked at many many call centers. The pay is exceptional, the PTO is great, they offer unpaid time off as well so you can save your pto. They have a program called trimming where you can leave early unpaid. They have little parties and events. They award 2 mvps for each team each quarter that comes with a cash... reward. I'm seriously looking forward to the profit sharing check at the end of the year! I LOVE this job. It offers a great work balance and so long as you meet clearly defined expectations your golden. Minimum requirement is really easy to hit. Also it's nice not to have to ask to use the restroom or to just walk away from the phones for a minute. They trust me to manage my time well. Where else can you say that? I've heard the phrase "toxic positivity" thrown around, but honestly I don't see it. Yes we are encouraged to be kind. In this field negativity can break your spirit. You almost need the positive people around you to keep you level. The kindness is one of the best parts of the job. People actually care how you are doing . Its incredible. I've even had the new CEO pop by my desk and say hi. Just a casual check in. It seriously makes me feel cared for and valued.

    Show More

    Cons

    Honestly besides the fact that I can't use the transportation reimbursement, there really aren't any cons that effect me. The only advice I have for you is this job isn't for everyone. It's not easy and takes skill. There are a handful of entitled naysayers that get a bit irritating, shouting from the rooftops how bad it is here. Really it's not though. It's a business, businesses exist to make money, done deal.... It's a call center, you will occasionally get aggro callers that you are absolutely allowed to hang up on after giving a warning. (Those aren't cons mostly just warnings for people applying so they know that it is, in fact, a job and not a playground.)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep on swimming. Change is hard, growing is rough. Y'all are doing a great job trying to balance feelings with new practices. I see the speed bumps, I see you trying to fix them, I see you! I'm happy to be part of the team and can't wait to see where we go from here!

    Ruby2019-10-09
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Growing pains but a bright future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ruby full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have worked at Ruby for over four years. In four years you are bound to have ups and downs just like with any job. I have had awesome bosses, and I have had a terrible boss or two. Luckily, the terrible bosses are no longer with the company, because they were not a good fit. The actual receptionist job is not hard, its just tedious after you do it for a while. The people freaking out on her about abusive callers... must have never worked retail or in the food industry, compared to that this job is a piece of cake. If you have an abusive caller, you are trained to tell them to remain professional or you will have to end the call. If they are still hostile, you just hang up. You never have to see them or talk to them again and you are encouraged to take a break from calls to take care of yourself. I have seen many people get hired on and complain about taking calls all day as if that is not what the job was advertised as. They inevitably end up leaving and the rest of us keep chugging along no problem. Understanding leadership when it comes to leaving early or calling out sick, don’t have to find shift coverage or anything like that and only have to ask for days off 2 days in advance. Higher ups listened to feedback and continue to change things based on Receptionist feedback. We have receptionist ambassadors who were able to convince them that we need transparency around the floor volume from our schedulers and that we need to change the coaching call scoring process. Outside EDI consultant helping Ruby.

    Show More

    Cons

    I think we are still recovering from a growth spurt during a time of poor leadership in a few key positions. Now that we have the right people in the right places, including a wicked smart CEO who embraces tech, we have bright things ahead. I’ve thought about leaving before when I felt disheartened about certain decisions, but I am re-inspired and on board with where we are headed.

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening to your front line employees and your front line managers. Especially those of us who have been here a long time. Quit letting the squeakiest wheel problem people take up all of your energy. The rest of us have ideas and will bring more value!

    Ruby2019-10-29
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Chat Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ruby full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Above average pay, culture of coaching, rather than always managing, lots of training resources, good positive vibes, really upscale office, feels like a resort.

    Cons

    Company is focused on growing client base before making sure they have enough employees hired to cover the workload. This can lead to people getting burned out and eventually quitting. If you become too good with the job, you lose an opportunity to grow into higher paying positions because you're too valuable where you're at. Company sometimes "throws a bone" with unpaid positions cranked up with additional... responsibilities and no extra pay, a common business practice for making undervalued workers feel more valued without the extra money to justify it. Expectations for workers who go the extra mile is that they are always required to go the extra mile and if they don't, management try to get you back to your contributions level while expecting less from others who've never gone the extra mile. Night team more or less forgotten by the superior day shift and opportunities slide right through the cracks. Night team has a higher turnover rate, no additional income offered for working overnight hours.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate those you undervalue and give them more than a bone, they are some of the harder workers in the company and are given the short and of the stick. Realize that growing to 100 new clients each month is nice and all, however you're really hurting morale when there aren't enough staff to cover the extra workload. Burn outs are more frequent and people are more likely to quit if the company is more focused on... making money than retaining good employees.

    Show More
    Ruby2019-10-29
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Receptionist in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ruby full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits! Work Life Balance! Pay!

    Cons

    Calls can get a little overbearing when the day is super busy and not enough time in between calls to finish up the previous ones.

    Advice to Management

    Definitely listen to what receptionists are saying; not all of us have the same experience from Ruby. Ruby has the potential to be a coveted place to work at with some guided input from what current receptionists are saying and asking for. I'm in the boat with receptionists who enjoy the work, enjoy the company and all that Ruby does bring and provides us with. Ruby has the ability to make this a great place to... work for EVERYONE.

    Show More
    Ruby2019-10-08
  9. Helpful (2)

    "None"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Receptionist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ruby full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people are pretty cool.

    Cons

    The time constraints. You’re timed for everything

    Ruby2019-11-03
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Great company that cares about their employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product & Technology in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ruby full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great leadership. Caring, compassionate employees. Management has an open door. Regular one-on-ones with managers, so you always know where you stand. Great work-life balance. Space Kitten Pizza Party!! Fashion Fridays!

    Cons

    No real downsides to working here.

    Ruby2019-10-04
Found 110 reviews
</>Embed