Rullion Reviews

Updated Jul 30, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 92 of over 97 reviews

3.5
60%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Rullion CEO James Saoulli
James Saoulli
58 Ratings
Pros
  • "Hired some really good people since the changes in Q1/Q2(in 6 reviews)

  • "Great people to work with and wanting to go places(in 5 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The Head office is a bit old and outdated but now we're all remote it doesn't really matter(in 5 reviews)

  • "Offices are located a bit outside Manchester (in Altrincham)(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great agency.

      Apr 24, 2021 - Contractor Administrator in Culham, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Helpful supportive agency . Good admin follow up very responsive.

      Cons

      Structured feedback on placement benchmarks and targets needs to be more formal.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Rullion Response

      Rullion

      Thanks for leaving us your thoughts. We're really happy to hear you enjoyed your time working for Rullion. We're always keen to hear about how both current and former employees feel about the identity of our organisation. If you'd like to provide some more detail, please send your thoughts to marketing@rullion.co.uk, and we'll be happy to look into this. Many thanks, Rullion.

    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Sacked for a joke

      Jun 17, 2021 - Recruitment Consultant in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Really not many. Any other recruitment firm out there will be a better place. Really.

      Cons

      They completely suspended commission from March 2020 due to COVID, even though they ended up making a £2m profit. They would spend money on vanity items, like a £40k per month office in central London instead of looking after their employees. It’s basically the sole income for the family that owns the company so they are trying to squeeze every cent of profit from it and have little care for real sacrifice and growth. The CEO is a pretentious you-know-what. He was born into the role, never did any real recruitment. I was sacked along with 4 other employees in February 2021 due to a “toxic environment” we promoted. Basically, a disgruntled employee quit and sent a letter to HR causing this. In the following months, the rest of our 8 person team ended up leaving because of this incompetence by the HR team and senior management. Go look at the LinkedIn employee count growth if you don’t believe me. They’ve been shedding employees left and right for many reasons. Avoid this place. There are many other companies that do a better job. Over 17000 recruitment firms in the UK.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Getting it right!

      Jul 14, 2021 - Senior Manager in Altrincham, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Rullion are on an exciting journey of change. Everyone counts. Everyone cares. We have been extremely flexible during the pandemic, truly living our values.

      Cons

      No business is perfect, but Rullion get lots of things right. Now we’ve come through the pandemic we need to spend more time with our people on their individual career ambitions.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Rullion Response

      Rullion

      Thanks for leaving us your thoughts. We're really glad to hear about your feedback and your time working for Rullion. We're always keen to hear about how both current and former employees feel about the identity of our organisation. If you'd like to provide some more detail, please send your thoughts to marketing@rullion.co.uk, and we'll be happy to look into this. Many thanks, Rullion.

    4. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Avoid this company

      Jul 30, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some staff are good, others haven’t got a clue what they’re doing.

      Cons

      Poor pay and benefits, lack of direction, describe themselves as “agile” but take about a million years to get anything done, CEO lacks any real knowledge of what is actually going on in the business. I would avoid this business at all costs - it is like a sinking ship.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      No commission, lots of push to sales

      Mar 10, 2021 - Recruitment Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Office location Some good brand clients, coupled with some very low margins <10%

      Cons

      It’s usually the companies that support and thrive in the bad times that truly shine in the good times. In this case, it’s Rullion’s major downfall. On the first announcement of lockdown in 2020 Rullion cancelled all commission, a few days before payday. New commission scheme released in 2021, nearly a year later, which is significantly less reward, for more the same amount of work (?) There are many other recruitment companies that have furloughed a huge number of staff and let a number of people go, but also a large number that haven't cut pay. Go to those places. There have been some mental health initiatives, which are great, but do not make up for the financial deficit felt by staff, especially in a sales environment. Rullion is not an incentive led culture, there are no lunch clubs or annual holidays, so commission is really the only reason to continue. Micro management and trust is a problem. KPI’s and spreadsheets to monitor all activity. Very little execution or leadership when it comes to ‘new’ clients. Very top heavy, a lot of managers with 15 + years tenure. Opportunities aren’t widely available unless you work for the major accounts, which have a high turnover. There are a high number of people who have stagnated in their role for 6 + years meaning, if they ever quit, you can get a promotion. If you’re on Glassdoor thinking about joining Rullion, don’t. There are plenty of agencies in the North West who are thriving, not surviving.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Rullion Response

      Rullion

      Hello, Thanks for providing us with some feedback. We're sorry you aren't happy working for Rullion at the moment. This isn't our intention and we always want our colleagues to feel valued and fulfilled working for us. 2020 was an undoubtedly difficult year for everyone in many respects. Lockdowns created a challenging business environment that meant we had to adapt both our ways of working and incentive schemes in order preserve Rullion's future for our colleagues, candidates and clients. However as you mention above, we've recently introduced our new commission scheme, which has been developed by our Rewards Squad, a team comprised of your colleagues from across the business at all levels whose task it is to look at incentives and bonuses. They conducted extensive research and have compared the newly developed scheme with other commission models and benchmarked it against external factors. We're confident in our new scheme and have received lots of positive feedback from across the business. It's important to us that you feel trusted to do your job, although also recognise the importance of tracking key metrics to help us monitor business performance. Our senior leadership team work tirelessly to forge partnerships with new clients and will always aim to share the vision and strategy we have as a company that we ultimately want you to be a part of. Sorry to hear you feel you're not developing as you'd like within your role. Our Pathways Programme allows individuals to undertake a Personalised Development Plan which sets our specific aims and objectives that allow our colleagues to develop at their own pace and progress within their career. This is available for all our colleagues, across all areas of the business and within all our accounts. We also advertise all jobs internally meaning people have the opportunity to move laterally into another area of the business which they may be interested in. Please get in touch with us on marketing@rullion.co.uk to discuss this further. We'd be really keen to rectify any issues you feel you're having. Many thanks, Rullion

    6. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Terrible rewards culture

      Dec 17, 2020 - Recruitment Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Rullion has a strong reputation among industry professionals and strong relationships with their clients. This makes it much easier to do your job. It's not an arrogant, salesy culture which you can get in other recruitment companies.

      Cons

      There are a number of ongoing issues regarding rewards. Due to the pandemic, Rullion suspended commission payments in March. In July, we were told we would only receive the commissions we were due if we hit a company target by the end of the year (obviously we came nowhere near this). Therefore, many people lost a significant amount of money which we worked extremely hard for in good faith (many evenings and weekends in some cases). In the meantime, the Executive Team began a review of the rewards scheme where they conducted extensive research into different rewards schemes and canvassed for the opinions and insights of their staff. In spite of that effort, the revised commission scheme they came up with is well below what would generally be considered reasonable (less than 10% if you hit your target). Furthermore, there are none of the other rewards you may expect, such as breakfast/lunch clubs, holiday incentives, days out, etc., and no clear career pathways either. The Executive Team seem to have no understanding of what motivates Recruitment Consultants. They talk about creating a high-performance culture but don't understand that high-performance is linked to high rewards.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      Rullion Response

      Marketing Assistant

      Thank you for sharing your views and comments. We're sorry that you feel as you do. 2020 was a very difficult year for not only Rullion but many businesses. We had to make some very difficult decisions and we cannot express how grateful we are to all of our people for supporting us during this difficult time. Our aim was to keep as many Rullion people employed as we could and on the whole we have been successful in this. The external market has changed and, in turn, so has our business. We now need to look to the future and what is needed to continue to grow and move forward. The reward squad, compiled of Rullion colleagues from all levels and areas of the business, had a difficult task in defining what was best and achievable for all. However, the recommendations they made were based on extensive research into commission schemes and external benchmarking. We appreciate that any change to commission plans or bonus can be sensitive however we are confident in our new scheme and have received lots of positive feedback from recruitment consultants to support this. Over the past 2 years, we 've put a lot of work into defining career progression within Rullion. The outcome is the Career Pathways, enabling anyone to progress within the company, regardless of how long they have been here, providing they are performing. The career pathway also allows for sideway moves within the company for those wishing to expand the breadth of their experience without necessarily moving upwards. If you'd like to discuss anything further, please email us on marketing@rullion.co.uk. We will happily listen to your feedback and suggestions.

    7. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Consultant

      Jun 21, 2021 - Recruitment Consultant in Altrincham, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Large brand so made prospecting easier Good training Good progression opportunities

      Cons

      Poor outdated system Poor middle management Lack of vision Too slow to make decisions Revolving door

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Hard to fault!

      May 17, 2021 - Junior Project Coordinator in Northwich, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      CEO is amazing, very flexible, supportive and amazing culture

      Cons

      There isn’t much room for movement, nobody leaves! So progression can be an issue

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Rullion Response

      Rullion

      Thanks for leaving us your thoughts. We're really glad to hear you are enjoying your time working for Rullion, your opinion matters to us. We're always keen to hear about how both current employees feel about the identity of our organisation. If you'd like to provide some more detail, please send your thoughts to marketing@rullion.co.uk, and we'll be happy to look into this. Many thanks, Rullion.

    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Avoid

      Jun 22, 2021 - Procurement Manager in Abingdon, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None to speak of, its as if you don't exist

      Cons

      In the 3 years employed through Rullion never once did they enquire on my well being of show an ounce of interest

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      The only company I would want to work for during a pandemic

      Jan 5, 2021 - Coordinator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - The way Rullion has navigated us through this pandemic is outstanding. Our health and wellbeing is thought about from the very top with a CEO and Executive team who have their fingers on the pulse of every new development. - We have a unique service offering that I believe will take us long beyond the 40 odd years we've already been in business - The people are great - The flexibility is completely unique for a recruitment company. Rullion didn't reopen their offices and force consultants in but instead gave them the decision to come in if they felt it was absolutely necessary for them and only after they spent extra time making the offices covid secure. Their new virtual remote working policy literally says that house don't need to be fixed as long as the necessary outcomes are done. What's more flexible than that? - The CEO does a virtual town hall to the whole company every week to keep us all in the loop. - The CEO spent 2020 personally ringing or emailing anyone who had a birthday and at one point did a daily video to keep everyone in the company up to date on the company and what was happening - as well as being up for a laugh and doing silly stuff to keep us smiling. - They introduced a Rullion Recharge initiative during lockdown where people could take an extra 10% of their working week off for whatever they liked - At Christmas, they put a small budget aside so that a Christmas box could be delivered to every single person in the company, which was so lovely to receive from my colleague - They closed the offices over Christmas for the first time I've ever known, which meant we could use the holidays we'd usually use for an extended break. This list isn't exhaustive

      Cons

      The Head office is a bit old and outdated but now we're all remote it doesn't really matter There could be more formal training on offer but development is still available elsewhere

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Rullion Response

      Marketing Assistant

      Thank you very much for your glowing feedback, we're delighted you feel so positive about working at Rullion. Thank you also for providing the constructive feedback related to the training on offer. As you mention, development is available through formal progression plans, 1-1 training with line managers and on the job apprenticeships are available for those wishing to upskill themselves. If you'd like to discuss any of this with us further, please get in touch on marketing@rullion.co.uk Many thanks, Rullion

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 92 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Rullion Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Rullion? Share Your Experiences

    Rullion logo
    or