SFW Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

SFW Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
Wayne Story
0 Ratings
  1. "A great place to work and build experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Woking, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SFW full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    You will work on a wide variety of projects with a range of different clients in different sectors, a great way to build experience. Many of your colleagues will be of the highest calibre, and there is a lot of emphasis on sharing knowledge amongst each other. The company has a great culture of high-performance but in a friendly environment.

    Cons

    As a small(ish) company, it can't match some of the benefits of its larger competitors.

    Advice to Management

    More emphasis on career development would be good. A lot of people seem to have no idea what they will or won't be doing in 3-5 years as the career paths are not clear.

    SFW2016-01-13

    SFW Response

    January 19, 2016In-House Recruiter

    hi there, thank you very much for your valuable comment and we are sad to hear you are leaving. At the same time we are wishing you all the best!

  2. "Relaxed Environment, Great Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst Programmer in Woking, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SFW

    Pros

    - You're not thrown in the deep end, you've got a chance to learn, on the job training - Great if you're coming out of uni, very competitive salary - Varied Work from lots of clients - Love the staff - Haven't had a boss I didn't like - Flat Management Structure but with chance to promote

    Cons

    - Too much time spent doing support work, which makes you feel like you're stagnating - Bit worried about the Civica take over - No bonus and pay raises are a bit unimpressive

    SFW2017-04-19
  3. "Relaxed working environment; inconsistent project management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Woking, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SFW full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    - Relaxed working environment - Management is trusted - Longer projects than a standard consultancy - Friendly people - Near the train station

    Cons

    - Delivery managers have varying levels of training/understanding of agile - there are too many extremes between them leading to some projects being run like military and others you would't know there was a delivery manager on the project - Ineffectual practice leads - not clear what they do; uninspiring - Staff consultants (line managers) have no training / experience in people development - Limited opportunity for...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Scrap the staff consultant model and instil proper line and departmental managers

    SFW2016-08-31
  4. Helpful (1)

    "It's ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Woking, England
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SFW full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    - Friendly environment - Exposure to clients - Relatively relaxed environment - Nice work life balance - SFW organise many social events

    Cons

    - Salaries are much lower than industry standards - When you are on the "bench" you always feel like you'll be made redundant any day - When things don't go well it can feel like the worst place to be - Employee's are made to feel like SFW is doing them a favour by them being employed there - Business model seems to change every 6 months

    SFW2016-06-25

    SFW Response

    July 1, 2016HR

    Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are always looking to improve as an organisation and we do truly value our staff and any constructive feedback like this. I’m concerned that you feel there is fluidity in our business model and uncertainty over the organisations ...

    Show More
  5. "Applications Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Applications Analyst in Woking, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SFW

    Pros

    Diverse group of people, friendly staff and directors. Supportive line managers and team.

    Cons

    Not Applicable, Nothing I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    SFW2016-04-29
  6. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Woking, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SFW

    Pros

    Flexible working and open culture

    Cons

    Not the best technologies all the time

    Advice to Management

    Would be nice to get more work on cutting edge technology

    SFW2016-03-28
  7. "Amazing environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Analyst Programmer in Woking, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SFW

    Pros

    Amazing and relaxed environment. Every employee cares about the company's benefit and the company really cares about the individuals' benefit, What a great balance !

    Cons

    No Cons that I've experienced !

    Advice to Management

    Keep on going and progressing. And keep on communicating with all the SFW team because this is what makes everyone feels like he's an important part of the structure and accordingly everyone would do his best for SFW to be in a better place.

    SFW2015-09-25
  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Analyst Programmer in Woking, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SFW

    Pros

    Colleagues are friendly and helpful, very flat management structure and the company really does accommodate and take care of employees.

    Cons

    Reason why I wanted to leave was to work in a different industry

    SFW2015-09-25

    SFW Response

    September 28, 2015In-House Recruiter

    Thank you for your feedback and we wish you all the best !

  9. Helpful (3)

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Woking, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SFW

    Pros

    Company that really cares about its employees.Working with a great team of highly skilled and interesting people. Great office environment where everyone is really helpful and supportive. A lot of social events too. Flexible working and close to the town centre

    Cons

    The company has experienced rapid growth in the past couple of years so in some areas it’s still playing catching up but I see that as a continuous improvement.

    SFW2015-09-09

    SFW Response

    September 14, 2015In-House Recruiter

    hi there! Thank you for your valuable feedback! We are pleased you are enjoying working for us and you have clearly seen the growth we have experienced in the past couple of years... with feedback our employees share with us, we can only make this place a better place to work and ...

    Show More
  10. Helpful (1)

    "A fantastic company to have worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst Programmer in Woking, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SFW

    Pros

    Great career opportunities, friendly colleagues and interesting/varied work! Management is very approachable and training is offered if required. The company also does a lot to help organise social events and there is a very nice atmosphere. It is located near the station and town centre with some nice (and some not so nice) pubs nearby! Couldn't ask for more really!

    Cons

    None that I can think of :)

    SFW2015-09-15

    SFW Response

    September 21, 2015In-House Recruiter

    Hello! What a fantastic feedback to read on Monday morning! Thank you for your feedback and we are glad you enjoyed working with us.

Found 17 reviews