SSP Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

SSP Group Reviews

Updated 20 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.3
29%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
SSP Group Group CEO Simon Smith (no image)
Simon Smith
12 Ratings
Pros
  • "cheap transport to and from Bristol Airport for staff - 24 hours a day(in 12 reviews)

  • "Good team members make it worth the while(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "A lot of high pressure work for minimum wage(in 29 reviews)

  • "Team leader treat the staff like crap total lack of respect(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Tough Company to work for but rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SSP Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    No day is the same, excellent internal development, you get out what you put in, share scheme, great training, very challenging which is good if you are willing to work hard. Opportunities to grow and develop in role, market leader, job security as successful

    Cons

    High Team Member turnover, poor pay for 18-25 year olds.

    Advice to Management

    Nothing of note.

    SSP Group2019-10-16
  2. "Not bad place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deputy Policy Manager in Leeds, England

    I worked at SSP Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunities for progression, lovely colleagues

    Cons

    Minimum wages, late shifts sometimes

    SSP Group2020-01-18
  3. "I like it here (head office employee)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SSP Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. Good/Fair Salary 2. Good exposure to senior management 3. No micro-management in my department

    Cons

    Sometimes unnecessary work has to be done (just to be done) but it's not that bad. i'm happy.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the good work.

    SSP Group2020-01-05
  4. "Team leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Specialist in Euston, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SSP Group part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It is my first job by the time I came in London. I like to work with my colleges and with people in spital

    Cons

    I meet all kinds of people, sometimes aggressive

    Advice to Management

    we must always be calm,leave the problem at work do not bring home

    SSP Group2020-01-05
  5. "Reliable, but poor conditions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Team Member in York, England

    I worked at SSP Group part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic people, staff like a great family

    Cons

    Poor pay, understaffing, slow reaction to existing problems

    Advice to Management

    Appreciating your HR assets would increase satisfaction and reduce fluctuation

    SSP Group2020-01-05
  6. "Odd place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SSP Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    staff discount (but only at own brands which are over priced so only brings price down to high street level) Teams are really passionate about their shops, their food, their coffee and its totally ignored. Teams are great to work with.

    Cons

    The company can be very hypicritical. They will bang on about treating staff better yet the next day expecting to cut labour again. Each year seen massive amount of cash stripped from labour budgets yet workloads increased, completely understand its a business but don't gloat about how many hundreds of millions the company has profited and expect our minimum paid teams to be happy about it. Bonus scheme for team members has been removed. Not enough incentive for team members to work here. Claims that is good for career progression but only at low level, team member to team leader then blocked to go higher. Claims to care about customers but will rip them off any chance they can. Claims to be the LEADING food travel provider, yet always behind the trend compared to competition, only 2019 when we got dairy free milk choices. Team under ALOT of pressure and have to deal with dissatisfied customers every day, the customers continuesly comment about price of products.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get real, no one wants to pay the prices we advertise. You are in risk of a budget coffee shop coming into rail and destroying you. Start giving more profit back to the teams. THEY are the ones who earned it. Increase Labour, Give teams the chance to do the work comfortably rather than under such massive amounts of pressure considering the profits you earn. Get into the stores more and see how hard the job is.

    SSP Group2020-01-03
  7. "Poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources in Birmingham, England

    I worked at SSP Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Colleagues within the business were hard-working and supportive when needed - Good training guides The role its self was good for someone starting in HR and the colleagues within the team are supportive and help when required.

    Cons

    The managers had a good level of knowledge when assistance was needed There are opportunities to progress but only if the manager preferred you as a person. Behavior towards colleagues can be unprofessional and disrupt the team moral. Discussed other members of the team between other colleagues which caused disruption.

    Advice to Management

    Put your favourites to the side and acknowledge when there are members in the team that work hard and should be given the opportunity - be honest and stop making excuses. Accept employees that will actually work well in the role and with the team. A step back needs to be taken to understand why so many members have left from one team alone- because the company overall isn’t bad.

    SSP Group2020-01-16
  8. "Average but good for students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Barista - Starbucks 
    Recommends

    I worked at SSP Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Coffee and staff are the best partx

    Cons

    Low pay And sometimes bad management

    Advice to Management

    Look after staff wellbeing more

    SSP Group2019-12-24
  9. "Happy to let you stagnate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Desk Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SSP Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The people you work with are the reason you come to work. No pressure,

    Cons

    No pressure, No career development, No recognition,

    Advice to Management

    Communication from higher management too employees is non existent

    SSP Group2020-01-20
  10. "Don’t bother"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SSP Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I can’t even think of one!

    Cons

    Don’t pay you correctly Minimum wage Understaffed Constantly cutting hours No support from senior managers

    Advice to Management

    Don’t apply

    SSP Group2020-01-15
Found 364 reviews