ScottishPower Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

ScottishPower Reviews

Updated 13 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
60%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
ScottishPower CEO Keith Anderson
Keith Anderson
21 Ratings
Pros
  • "Most departments are open to flexible working(in 8 reviews)

  • "Good company to work for, professional standards at all times(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Aggressive project management with senior management taking little interest in what their team does but still expecting results(in 4 reviews)

  • "(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ScottishPower full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lovely people. Great HQ in Glasgow. Lots of focus on internal progression. A strong ethical focus on renewable power.

    Cons

    The IT infrastructure and IT services both need work. Although there is a big improvement for Glasgow based people now that the IT drop in centre has opened on the ground floor.

    ScottishPower2019-12-27

    ScottishPower Response

    February 7, 2020Recruitment Manager

    Thanks for the review! I'm really glad to hear that you're enjoying your role here at ScottishPower. It's true that our IT systems are quite complex. The IT Now drop-in bar is proving to be a big hit with people at our Glasgow HQ, but we know there is still room for improvement, especially for people working out in the field. Keep the suggestions coming... ^Katie

    Continue reading
  2. "Great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Group Financial Accountant in Glasgow, Scotland
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ScottishPower full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lovely office and great people

    Cons

    Boring work and a lot of people who had been working there for years

    ScottishPower2019-11-03
  3. "decent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Busineess Development in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ScottishPower full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    its a large reputable company

    Cons

    energy retail is a difficult sector

    ScottishPower2020-02-13

    ScottishPower Response

    February 17, 2020Recruitment Manager

    Hello. Thanks for leaving us a review. Sorry to see that you don't feel able to recommend us as an employer after 8-10 years. The energy sector has definitely changed a lot in that time - and it hasn't always been easy - but we're feeling positive about our future and the future of the industry, especially now that we've moved into being a 100% green energy supplier. If you have suggestions for what you think we could be doing better, please share them with your manager, your team or on Yammer. Thanks again!

    Continue reading
  4. "great company little too much red tape"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal Project Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ScottishPower full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    salary, benefits, future workload, facillities

    Cons

    not clear route for career development

    ScottishPower2020-01-27

    ScottishPower Response

    February 7, 2020Recruitment Manager

    Hello. Thanks for the review. It looks like you've left us now, but thank you for your long service. You must have seen a lot in 8-10 years! I'm sorry you felt that career development was sometimes a challenge here. Over 70% of our vacancies are filled with current employees, so there is definitely a lot of internal movement. But I think we could certainly do more to promote career development opportunities to our own people. It's on our agenda for this year. We want our people to see all the options available to them, from secondments to transfers to promotions. We also want to do more to promote individual teams in the business, so we can help people understand the huge variety of roles we have. Thanks again! ^K

    Continue reading
  5. "Easy to progress to career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Aide in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ScottishPower full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Offices in Glasgow Good oportunities Flexible Work

    Cons

    In some departments it can be stressful. IT infrastructure can be improved. There should be more investment in new technologies.

    Continue reading
    ScottishPower2020-01-12

    ScottishPower Response

    February 7, 2020Recruitment Manager

    Thanks for the review. I'm really glad you're enjoying your time in Glasgow! If you have specific ideas about new technologies that you think we should be exploring, we'd love to hear more. Remember that you can use Yammer to ask your questions and make suggestions. ^Katie

    Continue reading
  6. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Call Center Representative in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at ScottishPower full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good working environment Good working hours

    Cons

    Uncompetitive pay Not much chance for progression

    Continue reading
    ScottishPower2020-01-18

    ScottishPower Response

    February 7, 2020Recruitment Manager

    Thanks for the review, and sorry to see you're no longer with us. We do aim to be pretty transparent on pay (e.g. we include it in our job ads!), and our Reward team work hard to regularly benchmark pay and benefits to make sure that we stay competitive. Progression-wise, we advertise almost all vacancies internally, and fill over 70% of those roles with current employees, rather than recruiting externally. So there is a lot of internal movement, but we're aiming to do more this year to raise the profile of the career progression opportunities available to our people. Thanks again for the review. ^K

    Continue reading
  7. "Sigh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Warrington, North West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at ScottishPower full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The good friends I've made that have made

    Cons

    A lot of favouritism, no real structure. Feel like more of a number

    ScottishPower2020-02-04

    ScottishPower Response

    February 7, 2020Recruitment Manager

    Oh dear. I'm really sorry to hear that you're not enjoying your role. That's definitely not what we want. I would really encourage you to raise any concerns you have with the 1HR Direct team. This is the kind of thing they'd like to know about. ScottishPower employees can talk to them in confidence by by dialing 147 on any internal phone. ^Katie

    Continue reading
  8. "unnecessary stress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Coordinator in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ScottishPower full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Big company so good opportunities for promotion or side-ways moves - The company overall genuinely cares about sustainability and ethics - Opportunities for flexible working

    Cons

    - Aggressive project management with senior management taking little interest in what their team does but still expecting results - Little opportunity for training and development with PMs often having little to no line management training - Staff sometimes overworked and stressed - Micromanagement

    Continue reading
    ScottishPower2020-01-08

    ScottishPower Response

    February 7, 2020Recruitment Manager

    Hello, and thanks for leaving us a review. It sounds like you were working in a pretty challenging project role, and I'm sorry you had a difficult time while you were here. It's hard to comment without specifics on this one, so forgive me for what will seem like a generic response: Some of our projects are tough. There is no doubt about it. The nature of what we do means that failure is not an option on a lot of our critical infrastructure projects, and we sometimes have to work to demanding timescales. Having said that, micromanaging people is far from helpful, and I'm sorry you sometimes experienced that. In terms of process improvement - YES - there does need to be more of this. We're part of a huge global business, which sometimes adds a lot of complexity, but we're definitely interested in finding ways to streamline things. Talent wise, we have a huge range of programmes and intiatives to help young people and women develop their careers: Apprenticeships, traineeships, Graduate Programmes, Masters Scholarships, the Returner programme for people re-entering the workforce after a career break, Internal networks, training... We do have a lot of contractors and they work side by side with permanent or fixed term employees, usually on a specific project. Tax rules like IR35 mean that our working relationship with a contractor can sometimes be quite different from a regular employee, and they may not be fully "embedded" in a team in the same way as SP people are. But we still value them enormously, and their expertise is a huge part of our success. Thanks again for the review. ^Katie

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Can be very stressful and, demanding."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ScottishPower full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you perform well there is the opportunity to earn a good salary of about 26k.

    Cons

    Can be very stressful and demanding. They micromanage your performance, constantly comparing every individual member of your team with ranking tables updated throughout the day. They expect you to be FULLY flexible in terms of your working hours and the days you work, they will leave you very short notice regularly. We were told the hours and location of where we were working the next day only the night before, at 9 pm, this leaves you unable to any plans.

    ScottishPower2019-11-12
  10. "OMG"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Warrington, North West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at ScottishPower full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lovely people everywhere you look.

    Cons

    Too lovely in many way. Way too personal, given how they micromanage you to death.

    Continue reading
    ScottishPower2019-09-26

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 96 reviews