Shell Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Shell Reviews

Updated 18 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
72%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Shell cares about its employees, wonderful employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources (Various Roles) in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shell full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I worked for 4 years for Shell and had the opportunity to switch roles multiple times during that period as part of the Graduate programme and thereafter. I could constantly learn and develop . With the energy transition and digitalisation up ahead, there are few better places to be as an HR professional! Planning around such challenges is what HR is all about.

    Cons

    The company would be less well suited for those with no patience for some bureaucracy (comes with any large company!)

    Continue reading
    Shell2020-01-31
  2. "Enjoyed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Well Engineer in Aberdeen, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shell full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great compensation, lifestyle, and culture

    Cons

    Rigid development prospects, difficult to deviate from set path.

    Shell2020-01-12
  3. "Good Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Engineer in Aberdeen, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Salary, benefits and development opportunities.

    Cons

    Very large company which can make it difficult to complete seemingly simple tasks due to red tape.

    Shell2020-02-02
  4. "Planning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supply Chain Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Shell full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I’m looking fast moving company with good team works

    Cons

    I would prefer a weekdays 9am-6pm job

    Shell2020-02-02
  5. "good to staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coordinator, Sales and Marketing in Glasgow, Scotland

    I worked at Shell full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good to staff and lots of opportunities if you want to take them

    Cons

    Sometimes it depended on who your manager was

    Shell2020-01-31
  6. "Cutting pay by slashing bonuses and backstabbing culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Location is great Amazing gym facilties Great pension scheme 4 years in job so pretty secure

    Cons

    Very stressful work environment Fair amount of back stabbing and shouting between middle and top management. So much so some external hires quit rapidly. People very stressed out and talk to each other about it Bonuses make up a very large amount of the pay, 25% plus for above average performers and even more at management level (35%+ for high performers) . However company has slashed bonuses by over half this year. This means below market pay! Basic payrise is less than 2% once into 90% of salary bands. Real pay goes down year on year. Promotions often have favouritism as do expat roles. You have to be well networked or else you'll be stuck at the same job grade. Many roles get posted with preferred candidates. Pension is only on basic salary. For management this can be as little as half of their total pay. Very little training. Focus on cheap online courses which carry no qualifications

    Continue reading
    Shell2020-02-08
  7. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Third Officer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Layered approach. Strict with safety.

    Cons

    Too stiff. Have to follow LSR

    Continue reading
    Shell2020-01-18
  8. "Worst Ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Durham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Shell part-time

    Pros

    None what so ever in my opinion

    Cons

    If you're a yes man, sorry person, then this job is for you. if you stand up for yourself and try and work to UK employment law and HSE regulations then don't bother working here.

    Continue reading
    Shell2020-02-17
  9. "The best company in world"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lab Assistant in Middlesbrough, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Following the legal safety procedures

    Cons

    Learn new safety Management system

    Shell2020-01-11
  10. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    People, culture, benefits, location - Waterloo

    Cons

    Slow decision making; progression

    Shell2020-01-23

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 279 reviews