Sherwin-Williams Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Sherwin-Williams Reviews

Updated 27 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
73%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Sherwin-Williams CEO John Morikis
John Morikis
824 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great pay good exercise good management great benefits all around fantastic place to work(in 276 reviews)

  • "Good benefits and 401k employer match(in 237 reviews)

Cons
  • "long hours of operations so shifts can vary a lot(in 235 reviews)

  • "48 minimum - upper management expects around 60 hours a weeks(in 222 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Can't complain about anything"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Administrator in Sheffield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sherwin-Williams part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Salary, discounts, leadership, communication, lovely people

    Cons

    Can't complain about anything at all

    Advice to Management

    None

    Sherwin-Williams2020-01-08
  2. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Territory Sales Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sherwin-Williams full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance

    Cons

    None at all really good place to work

    Advice to Management

    Develop from role

    Sherwin-Williams2019-12-01
  3. "Awful manager who thought I needed to "man up""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Accounting Assistant in Sheffield, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sherwin-Williams full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good salary, early finish on Fridays

    Cons

    This was three years ago, but I was really prompted by the amount of press around world mental health day this year to write something. I was going through an extremely tough time while I worked here. I tried to bring this up with my manager on numerous occasions by telling my manager I had just broke up with my long-term partner, only for her to literally tell me every time to "man up" and laugh. This person was clearly unfit to manage anyone and I was frequently left with no work and left to my own devices 100% of the time, but they had been at the company a very long time so had found themself in a management position. She bought up at my review that I was miserable and never smiled, but never once bought this up outside of the review or checked on my wellbeing. Fortunately the review resulted in dismissal, which was best for everyone.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't make someone a manager just because they have been there a long time. And if you do, actually maker sure they can manage!

    Sherwin-Williams2019-10-31
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great Business to Develop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Sales Manager in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sherwin-Williams full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Culture, training and coaching. Great team members to work with. Supportive working environment

    Cons

    Equipment and tools can be outdated

    Sherwin-Williams2019-08-16
  5. "review of sw"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Engineer in Deeside, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sherwin-Williams full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    good work / life balance

    Cons

    not many progression roles to take

    Sherwin-Williams2019-08-13
  6. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Planner in Bolton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sherwin-Williams full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employee orientated Great work environment Good benefit schemes

    Cons

    No cons to be reported

    Sherwin-Williams2019-06-06
  7. "overall good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sherwin-Williams full-time

    Pros

    It's a good place to work

    Cons

    maybe salary could be better

    Sherwin-Williams2019-03-21
  8. "Stable business going through significant change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales/Manager in Sheffield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sherwin-Williams full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Very financially stable business. Leader in many areas with well known brands. Significant level of focus on staff development, motivation and retainment.

    Cons

    Having said the above the company went through significant restructure post major merger with significant level of staff turnover and level of expertise gone.

    Sherwin-Williams2019-01-31
  9. "Awesome US parent shame UK subsidury does live up to the promise"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Bolton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Sherwin-Williams full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good renumeration, awesome opportunities if your based in US, great product innovation ethic

    Cons

    UK management short sighted, politically motived and very clicky at their Bolton site

    Advice to Management

    respect staff diversity, drop the yesmen recruitment strategy,

    Sherwin-Williams2019-03-01
  10. "Great company with an excellent culture."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sherwin-Williams full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - collegiate and supportive - excellent talent development and mobility - fast-paced - international

    Cons

    - benefits not as competitive as they should be - salaries could be better

    Advice to Management

    Commendable management, keep going!

    Sherwin-Williams2018-12-15
Found 3728 reviews