Showsec Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Showsec Reviews

Updated 11 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
61%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
Showsec CEO Mark Harding
Mark Harding
29 Ratings
Pros
  • "(in 11 reviews)

  • "Flexible working hours and no pressure to work shifts(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Safeguarding policies aren't followed or obeyed - I've experienced horror stories at festivals, be careful if you choose to work for them(in 12 reviews)

  • "Can be long hours but thats work(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "flexible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Showsec part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexible hours and decent pay

    Cons

    could have more time set for breaks

    Showsec2019-10-29
  2. "Good part time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Steward 

    I have been working at Showsec part-time

    Pros

    very flexible and decent salary for skills

    Cons

    not good if want to be full time

    Showsec2019-11-11
  3. "Easy but unstable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Steward 

    I worked at Showsec part-time

    Pros

    Fun work Can watch events

    Cons

    Long hours Some staff take it way too seriously

    Showsec2019-10-31
  4. "Showsec"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Steward in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Showsec part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexible working hours and easy work

    Cons

    some managers often speak in a condescending, patronising tone or are just bullys often boring

    Advice to Management

    the way in which some supervisors speak to some staff is poor

    Showsec2019-10-17
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Very good and professional towards its employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Steward in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Showsec part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Showsec is a good company to work for. You get to chose your own shifts and its great for earning extra income. They are very professional and transparent in the way things are done and I can say employees are treated well.

    Cons

    Its part time and there are a few months in the year where there is less work and therefore not suitable if this job is your only source of income.

    Advice to Management

    Non at the moment

    Showsec2019-09-05
  6. "Showsec"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sia Door Supervisor in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Showsec full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get to pick the days you want to work.

    Cons

    Lack of communication, no compassion

    Advice to Management

    Be more understanding.

    Showsec2019-09-19
  7. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Steward in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Showsec part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working in your own time at your own pace and able to book shifts whenever you like

    Cons

    Once shifts are booked you'll have to cancel 5 days in advance. If you do not you get a warning, and if you receive two warning your out of work. Although you are able to shift swap with other people.

    Showsec2019-08-31
  8. "Flexible and great for students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Steward in London, England

    I worked at Showsec part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Choose your own shifts so you can work as much and as little as possible Great people Have the opportunity to work at some amazing events

    Cons

    Having to pay for your uniform

    Showsec2019-06-23
  9. "Very Dis-organised"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Steward 

    I worked at Showsec part-time

    Pros

    Pick up and drop off to events

    Cons

    Little/No break, always finishing later than usual

    Showsec2019-06-24
  10. "Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SIA Security in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at Showsec part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Progression opportunities through recognition of good work Varied work locations and positions Training opportunities online and classroom Industry leading procedures, a great place to learn how to do event safety and security well Flexible working hours and no pressure to work shifts

    Cons

    Some shifts can be long and lonely as with all event security work Shifts sometimes changed or cancelled with little notice (business needs) Inconsistent hours

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Showsec2019-04-09
Found 76 reviews