Sponge Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Sponge Reviews

Updated Nov 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
90%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Sponge CEO Louise Pasterfield
Louise Pasterfield
1 Ratings
  1. "Amazing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative in Plymouth, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sponge full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, lots of team support and everyone is very passionate about what they do.

    Cons

    Communication can be disjointed

    Sponge2019-08-27
  2. "A great future beckons again from 2020, after a difficult 2019"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Controller in Plymouth, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sponge full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Awesome staff - never met anyone I didn't really like or get on with - a product of their painstaking recruitment approach.

    Cons

    Being a dog-friendly work-place has its disadvantages as well as advantages!

    Continue reading
    Sponge2019-09-22
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Good but still learning how to function (ironically)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Sponge full-time

    Pros

    Innovative and at the centre of tech development Team pulls together (but across different team comms isn't great)

    Cons

    Always changing and growing, people get left behind Low pay Not always sunshine and rainbows

    Continue reading
    Sponge2018-05-24
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Absolute great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Plymouth, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Sponge part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great atmosphere, great fun and they really invest in their staff! I started at this company on a part time flexible contract to fit around my studies and they couldn't have been more understanding. After finishing my studies I stayed with the company and continued to learn, this was a great experience. Everyone was always so patient with me while I was learning and no question was ever too silly!

    Cons

    Salary is in-line with the South West. However, it would always be nice to get a raise!

    Continue reading
    Sponge2018-01-11

    Sponge Response

    March 22, 2018Digital Marketing Executive

    I’m so pleased your experience of Sponge is positive, it’s important to us that all of our employees feel engaged, valued and supported in learning and growing. As a growing business we are continually looking at ways to enhance our benefits whilst ensuring our reimbursements are aligned to our industry, to which end we conduct annual salary surveys, which inform our salary reviews. So, it’s good to know you felt your salary was in line. We value and reflect on all feedback, so thank you again for your comments, I will share these with our Employee Experience Team which I head, we are focused on ensuring all our employees feel valued and rewarded as we continue to grow. Part of our brief is also to ensure that our management team keep connected and communicating just like you advise. Here’s to you continuing to enjoy learning and growing! Kind regards Tifenn Gourlay Head of Learning & Development and HR

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Innovative, creative, collaborative, challenging and fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Plymouth, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Sponge full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There is a real culture of innovation and collaboration at Sponge, coupled with a strong sense of family. Lots of events going on in and outside of work hours. Because Sponge is a growing business there is plenty of opportunity to grow and develop your career and stretch yourself which has been great for me so far. I'd recommend Sponge to anyone.

    Cons

    None, unless you don't like cake!

    Sponge2017-12-19
  6. Helpful (3)

    "A different type of company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Sponge full-time

    Pros

    I have had a few jobs over the years but it didn't take me long to realise that Sponge is a unique and special type of company. I been at Sponge for just under 2 years now and even within that time the company has grown extensively. This growth has created opportunities for the development of its employees across all departments (myself included). Within Sponge, culture and values seem as important as skills and talent (with a fantastic HR team who will go out of their way to make sure you feel supported). We even have our own team who put on social events throughout the year. I wouldn't say Sponge has any 'huge' perks, they instead have lots of smaller ones. (Birthday day off, free breakfast, free social events, monthly cakes - I could name many more!) although small when you put them together they make a big difference. The management departments within Sponge are extremely helpful and approachable (both departmental and senior level). They are always happy to listen to new ideas and suggestions.

    Cons

    Because of its fast growing nature not everyone will enjoy the continuous change and challenge of keeping up with that growth! No real flexitime, or working from home.

    Continue reading
    Sponge2017-12-15
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Don't Believe the Hype"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Sponge full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Modern office space. Young, creative and vibrant. Lots of social events. Fast-paced and busy. You will never be bored. Free parking. Casual dress at work. It has a very open, driven, creative and dedicated Managing Director.

    Cons

    High staff turnover. Some employees leave but others were catapulted out the business with no explanation, which was very disconcerting. Non-flexible working hours. Everyone has lunch at exactly the same time!! Minimum holiday allowance. Poor pension and benefit schemes. Some inexperienced senior management. A lot of those in senior positions have never worked anywhere else (they joined Sponge as juniors), so they're not experienced at handling difficult situations. Extremely cliquey working atmosphere. There's an undercurrent of staff bullying (even by a few popular staff members), which goes totally unchecked. This is possibly due to its young workforce and poor management ability. Do not necessarily believe the 'happy and fun' brand that's promoted online and on social media. Quite a few staff members are unhappy - hence their high staff turnover! Good people should not want to leave a company that's really great to work for!! They encourage their internal staff to review them on Glassdoor, so make sure you read ALL reviews, including the 'non-glowing' reviews, if you want more accurate balance! I read only wonderful reviews before I joined. I wish there were other reviews from previous employees for a more balanced perspective. I probably would have accepted the job, but I would have gone into the business with my eyes open.

    Continue reading
    Sponge2017-12-28

    Sponge Response

    March 22, 2018Digital Marketing Executive

    Thanks for the feedback. I’m really pleased that you found the environment at Sponge to be creative and vibrant, as using creativity to learn and grow is fundamental to everything we do. As a growing business we are continually looking at ways to enhance our benefits whilst ensuring our reimbursements are aligned to our industry. All our employees have holiday requirements above the UK minimum, which grow with service and as an additional benefit enjoy an extra day paid leave on their birthdays (above their holiday entitlements). We have for some time now run a management training programme, to develop our managers, supported by both an external consultant and internal mentoring scheme, so I’m sorry to hear that’s not been reflected in your experience. I’m concerned that you refer to a subculture of bullying as this is something that I’m not aware of and certainly not prepared to tolerate at Sponge, I’d welcome the opportunity to discuss this with you if you would be open to an off-line conversation. We regularly measure our staff turnover and carry out exit interviews with all leavers to understand their motivation for leaving, these range from geographic, new opportunities, or to return to education. I’m pleased to say that whilst we’d always want our turnover to be lower, it does sit below the UK average and in the last few months we’ve had leavers who have approached us about returning or returned. We value and reflect on all feedback, so thank you again for your comments, I have fed these back to our Employee Experience Team who are focused on ensuring all our employees feel valued and rewarded as we continue to grow. Kinds regards Louise Pasterfield Managing Director

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (3)

    "A fair review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Plymouth, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Sponge full-time

    Pros

    Lots of culture and events acitivies either after work or during lunch which I enjoyed when I worked there Open ways of thinking and working so ideas can be heard Interesting enough industry Dog friendly although not a positive if you don't like dogs Offices are nice but located on the edge of Plymouth so there's a likely commute if you live in central Plymouth

    Cons

    Minimum amount of annual leave, poor pension etc, arguabley lower salaries than average, no flexible working, very busy constantly which is both positive and negative, often worked over but you only got this back if the time fell outside 7am - 7pm poor managment who were a bit clueless without much real working world experience, very cliquey - if you don't fit in people won't listen to you professionally, not always as supportive as they should be, didn't find HR or my manager very useful

    Continue reading
    Sponge2017-12-11

    Sponge Response

    March 16, 2018Digital Marketing Executive

    Thanks for the feedback. We’re committed to creating a collaborative culture here at Sponge where all our employees feel valued and have the ability to learn and grow, so I’m pleased that you found our open ways of thinking and working enabled your idea’s to be heard. We have for some time now run a management training programme, to develop our managers, supported by both an external consultant and internal mentoring scheme, so I’m sorry to hear that’s not been reflected in your experience. As a growing business we are continually looking at ways to enhance our benefits whilst ensuring our reimbursements are aligned to our industry, to which end we conduct annual salary surveys. All our employees have holiday requirements above the UK minimum, which grow with service and as an additional benefit enjoy an extra day paid leave on their birthdays (above their holiday entitlements). We value and reflect on all feedback, so thank you again for your comments, I have fed these back to our Employee Experience Team who are focused on ensuring all our employees feel valued and rewarded as we continue to grow. Kind regards Louise Pasterfield Managing Director Sponge UK

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Friendly, fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Sponge

    Pros

    Many culture events, lots of team work meaning you get to interact with many people from the company, definite opportunities to progress, management and seniors are extremely approachable and accommodating.

    Cons

    There were no cons, I had a very positive experience working here

    Continue reading
    Sponge2017-03-18
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Sponge

    Pros

    Excellent working environment - encourage to be bold and innovative with ideas - lovely offices - birthday cake every month!

    Cons

    None - We're in Plymouth, which may be a con - but it's near the sea and the cost of living is looooooooooooooowwwww......

    Sponge2016-08-19
Found 21 reviews