SportsDirect Reviews

Updated 22 Mar 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 40 of over 43 reviews

3.3
56%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Sports Direct-best place for career development

    16 Mar 2016 - Administrative in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A lot of opportunities to go further within the company, you just need to prove yourself! Very good team, always there to help. And always very professional and friendly! Flexible working time, especially fo students or working mothers who can't work full shifts every week. On the job training from sport giants like Nike and Adidas for free. Staff discounts from the first day at work. Amazing commission scheme for all employees,up to 5% goes directly onto our pockets, no one else would give you that! And on top of that contribution from the store pot again just for you!

    Cons

    Sometimes it can be very stressful during busy periods, like in any other job.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee

    was ok job

    13 Mar 2021 - Sales Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    good opportunity and nice people

    Cons

    low wage and not much benefits

    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Left after a month

    22 Mar 2021 - Retail Sales Assistant in Halifax, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    it was local to me

    Cons

    Zero hours contract, poor wage

    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Successful company

    16 Mar 2016 - Assistant Manager in Bournemouth, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Worked for the company since I was 16, still with the company 7 years later, having spent 4 of those years as a part time member of staff whilst studying. great progression opportunity for those that work hard I've also been lucky enough to travel around the country and into Europe opening up new stores. The introduction of the companies 5* bonus scheme was also a much needed addition, having been with the company since before this existed it is easy to see the difference it has made to employees motivation towards the job. It's a great scheme and with huge potential The bonuses for management team are great, especially stocktake bonus.

    Cons

    They need to stop complicating the 5* scheme, sometimes it feels like they are giving with one hand and taking with the other by over complicating things They need a better, more solid pay structure for management Long hours as with any job in this business

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee

    My experience

    6 Apr 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've worked for the company for 11 years and started out just as a basic full timer. The company allowed me to move through the ranks and I'm now a store manager! Fast pace, hard work retail that teaches you a lot 👍

    Cons

    Retail can be difficult hours but that's the same across food retail and other high street retailers. Sports direct offer a great commission scheme and great benefits for the management

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Sales assistant 6.90£ p/h over 21yr

    29 Jan 2016 - Cassual Assistant in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    If you are a good seller specially with gel insoles then it's the job for you. You must be super open and friendly with customer in order to make them but you the insoles

    Cons

    In my opinion work for sports direct could be super great if they change their policy of 0 hours contract, people would stay at sports direct longer if they give normal amount of hours per month, let's say 120-160 hours per month otherwise you can not live. Ridicoulous OK for people without money responsibilities, not ok with someone with rent, bills...

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    I don't even know what to say

    3 Jan 2017 - Casual Sales Assistant in Banbury, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    it had better pay than my current employer. recieved bonuses too.

    Cons

    -The management were terrible. Rude to customers and colleagues, when they didn't like someone they got rid of them not by firing them directly but by not putting their names on the shift schedule. mainly people who werent white got "let go" and talked about. there was a team meeting i attended where the manager stated "watch out for thieves especially those romanians and polish theyre the worst". Excuse me. since when did race become something to base criminal tendencies off of? Also, they segregated the women and men- girls on tills and boys on shoes. no question about it. Staff discount only works on thursdays for some reason.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Huge opportunities

    16 Mar 2016 - Assistant Manager in Bournemouth, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've worked my way up from a younge inexperienced 17 yo part timer to an assistant manager, earning bonuses etc ... Everyone with hard work can work there way up in this business.

    Cons

    Sometimes long hours and can be stressful but that's just the nature of the business.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Manager Hanley, Stoke-on-Trent

    3 May 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Worked for Sports Direct 14 years and I have a lot to thank the company for, started off part to store manager level, still enjoy the challenge now

    Cons

    It's hard work at times but you know what so is every other job, gets a bad press for no reason!!

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Great company owned by a good man

    16 Mar 2016 - Footwear Manager in Bournemouth, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    15 years of amazing rewards and working with amazing people

    Cons

    How the general public see us as a bad company when they do not see the unity of the company

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 40 Reviews

Work at SportsDirect? Share Your Experiences

SportsDirect logo
or