SportsDirect Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

SportsDirect Reviews

Updated 23 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
62%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
SportsDirect CEO  (no image)
2 Ratings
  1. "Sports Direct-best place for career development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at SportsDirect full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A lot of opportunities to go further within the company, you just need to prove yourself! Very good team, always there to help. And always very professional and friendly! Flexible working time, especially fo students or working mothers who can't work full shifts every week. On the job training from sport giants like Nike and Adidas for free. Staff discounts from the first day at work. Amazing commission scheme... for all employees,up to 5% goes directly onto our pockets, no one else would give you that! And on top of that contribution from the store pot again just for you!

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes it can be very stressful during busy periods, like in any other job.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up with the good work, team! We are the UK's No 1 sports retailer!

    SportsDirect2016-03-16
  2. "Strange situation after Yeomans outdoor takeover"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Alnwick, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at SportsDirect full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good technical equipment to help manage deliveries and sales.

    Cons

    Not enough help and guidance from higher management.

    Advice to Management

    our Store was ear marked for closure so probably why we didn’t get much support. Can’t really comment too much on this.

    SportsDirect2019-10-23
  3. "Don’t believe all you read...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Bournemouth, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at SportsDirect full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexibility, team, bonus, discount, progression

    Cons

    No sick pay, short holiday allowance, low basic pay

    SportsDirect2019-08-20
  4. "it was ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at SportsDirect part-time

    Pros

    easy to get job it was

    Cons

    manager were nasty a lot

    SportsDirect2018-07-19
  5. "Casual Sales Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Casual Sales Assistant in Reading, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at SportsDirect part-time

    Pros

    The advantage of working at sports direct is you get commission added on you pay and also discount for working their.

    Cons

    The downside of working at sports direct is the cut off dates on you pay waiting for the next month and also the pay is a bit low.

    SportsDirect2018-06-16
  6. "Good as a part-time Student Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at SportsDirect part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very flexible working opportunities, we were all able to work within our availability which was perfect whilst studying at university. Good career opportunities if you are offered. I was given multiple pay rises, given the opportunity to do 2 modern apprenticeships for free and learned loads of new skills. Although it gets a bad press, I learned so much here especially how to deal with difficult customers... (internal and external). Also we were able to travel to different stores for various reasons which I always found interesting.

    Show More

    Cons

    Favouritism was common which is good if close with the management but not good for others. Although good career opportunities if offered, very few permanent positions available and I know lots of people who were there for years who wanted permanent positions but they weren't able to offer them.

    Advice to Management

    Make some of the long-term staff permanent as they are very loyal to the SD brand.

    SportsDirect2018-03-11
  7. "Good but..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at SportsDirect for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay with incentives for young people

    Cons

    Monthly pay hard to progress

    SportsDirect2017-11-26
  8. "Sports direct part time sales assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at SportsDirect part-time

    Pros

    0 hour contract works well in your favour if you’re a student as the job can be left open for you when returning home over the holidays.

    Cons

    Negative reviews in the press and no refund policy means you often have to deal with a lot of customer complaints

    SportsDirect2017-11-29
  9. "Zero hours contracts work both ways"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Casual Retail Assistante in Southend-on-Sea, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at SportsDirect part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible (due to zero hours contract), good staff discount, social staff

    Cons

    Hours can vary wildly because of zero hours contract

    Advice to Management

    Training on different departments would be nice, and once trained having varied departments per shift would be good.

    SportsDirect2017-02-17
  10. "Sales assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Croydon, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SportsDirect part-time

    Pros

    Staff discount is the only good reason

    Cons

    Some of the staff behaves like they are managers You have to be available to work anytime but if you want to work more they never give you hours

    Advice to Management

    You should change this zero hour contract

    SportsDirect2017-02-18
Found 42 reviews