StarTech.com Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

StarTech.com Reviews

Updated 26 Feb 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 63 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Paul Seed
41 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Good people have left HR, the people side of the business in direct relation to his appointment(in 5 reviews)

  • "Not a very good environment for fostering new ideas or being shown appreciation for the work you do(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Just the beginning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at StarTech.com full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Its early days but StarTech.com has been seriously impressive. The attitude of all employees is fantastic. Everyone is keen to help and see others do well. As an example, the on-boarding process was fantastic, and it was driven by dozens of employees all reaching out to help and ensure systems, hardware and introductions were set up for day 1. I believe this strong culture comes straight from the Exec team and Paul,...

    Show More

    Cons

    Nothing yet, but it will be important to ensure priorities are aligned across functions. Given the four pillars cut across all functions I'm sure this can be achieved.

    Advice to Management

    Believe the message, and over communicate. Don't let it become diluted. We are about to go through significant growth and investment and as you have identified the most important thing is to keep consistency, taking all that is good and building on it.

    StarTech.com2019-02-02
  2. "Nice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at StarTech.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    very good environment, very good salary on time payment

    Cons

    need to travel a lot

    StarTech.com2019-02-27
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at StarTech.com full-time

    Pros

    -High growth company, great learning opportunities and internal growth opportunities -Great compensation and benefits packages -Intelligent leaders to learn from -Meaningful work in all areas -Welcoming environment and kind people - very team oriented atmosphere -Large bonuses being paid as a result of high growth -Work-life balance: definitely the best work-life balance I've had. It is valued across the...

    Show More

    Cons

    Many changes that are coming along with the high growth. Not necessarily a con.

    StarTech.com2019-01-08
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Exceeds my expectations!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at StarTech.com full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Friendly atmosphere of caring team members Wonderful welcome and onboarding experience Had all the tools to do my job day 1 A culture of high performance and reward - last year promoted 10% of the internal workforce - lots of opportunities!

    Cons

    A gym onsite would be a huge bonus in addition to the current fitness subsidy

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work in creating a positive results driven atmosphere where it is evident people enjoy working.

    StarTech.com2019-01-08
  5. "Great environment and perks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at StarTech.com full-time

      Pros

      Great environment and perks for employees

      Cons

      Company is very structured, currently working to improve silos

      StarTech.com2019-01-14
    • Helpful (4)

      "Once strong but declining"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at StarTech.com full-time

      Pros

      Many of the people are good to work with. In the past there have been high bonuses when the company growth was high.

      Cons

      The company does not value the skills and knowledge of long term employees. The owners have been transitioning out of the company and this has created a very political environment. Many good people are leaving. The company no longer has the innovative and inspirational culture it once did.

      Advice to Management

      The top management team needs a major shake-up.

      StarTech.com2018-11-07

      StarTech.com Response

      November 22, 2018Talent Acquisition Coordinator

      Hello - Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad to hear you feel that there are many good people that work here at StarTech.com, we take pride in our excellent employees! They truly are our greatest asset and the reason we have been so successful. Regarding ...

      Show More
    • "Product Developer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at StarTech.com

      Pros

      Great work environment and culture. Good managers.

      Cons

      Not too much, not a hardcore engineering company if that's what you're looking for.

      StarTech.com2018-10-03
    • "IT Team needs improvement"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at StarTech.com full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      - Good salary and benefits - Managed fairly

      Cons

      - IT projects not managed well - Very reactive - High turn around

      StarTech.com2018-09-17
    • "A good place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Product Specialist in London, ON
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at StarTech.com full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      There has been a change in many aspects of the company in the last 18 months for the better! Horrible HR contract executive has been replaced and managemnet seems committed to investing, listening and communicating to employees. Excitement at the individual team level again!

      Cons

      Same problems any company faces...politics etc.

      Advice to Management

      Keep investing in and valuing employees....there are many head hunters in London lately offering opportunities

      StarTech.com2018-08-17
    • "Growing Company with Growing Pains"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, ON
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at StarTech.com full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Growing company. Great people to work with and Managers.

      Cons

      Procedures have not grown with the company. Lots of ad hoc decisions by C suite.

      Advice to Management

      Listen to your employees more. Outside Consultants do not always know better. Respect the knowledge of your greatest assets!

      StarTech.com2018-05-04
    Found 63 reviews