Studio Gobo Reviews

Updated Dec 7, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 42 of over 48 reviews

4.9
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Studio Gobo Director Xu Xiaojun (no image)
Xu Xiaojun
1 Rating
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    A fantastic place to work

    Dec 7, 2020 - Designer in Felpham, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Projects, people, perks, salaries, bonuses, location, the vibe, everything!

    Cons

    Nothing really comes to mind.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Forward thinking, caring and modern

    May 4, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Hove, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Studio Gobo is a great place to be. The studio is lovely, with a family atmosphere and the projects are world-class. I love that the team really cares about things that matter inside and outside of the games industry and seems to have active involvement in all of it: diversity, inclusion, climate change, charity and education. They are very helpful if you're joining from another city or overseas and very accommodating to new starters. The company understands that people move with their families, and there are lots of opportunities for families (partners and kids) to meet one another at social gatherings inside and outside of the studio.

    Cons

    Gobo only tends to work on AAA console titles. This probably isn't the place for you if you're interested in a different platform.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    The best company I have worked for (so far...)

    May 1, 2020 - QA Tester in Hove, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Passionate about the projects we work on -Fun attitude towards making games -Great benefits -Incredible working environment

    Cons

    None I can think of, maybe more dogs though...

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Best company ever

    May 1, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Hove, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Without a doubt the best company I have ever worked at. A lot of this is down to the attitude of the company: people come first. They understand that this is not only beneficial, but necessary, because when people are happy and comfortable in their environment they inevitably do better work. Here are some (but not even all) of the many great things about Gobo I've experienced: - Great comfortable office environment, no expense spared on getting you everything you need. - Great, friendly people from a diverse range of backgrounds. - Amazing perks and benefits: Fully stocked kitchen for breakfast, lunches cooked by a professional chef every Friday, free drinks and snacks (including beer ;) ), trips out both for entertainment and work-related conferences like GDC, free gym training classes once a week. - Zero (and I mean zero) crunch (and I've worked here for over 3 years). - Amazing support from upper management, but also from compassionate team leads who take the time to help you in your work and career. - Fully open to progressing your career internally, whether that be to a more senior position, or even another discipline entirely. All this while having the opportunity to work on AAA games with world class publishers and developers.

    Cons

    I honestly can’t think of any. Other reviews have mentioned the problems of co-development (non-ownership of the entire game and input on features), but the projects and teams we work with can be quite different, and some publishers and developers can be very open and accommodating. In fact, the co-development and multi-project nature of the work we do means jobs are very secure.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Not just a job...

    Apr 30, 2020 - Production Assistant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - The studio cares about your wellbeing and will always put your needs first - Everyone who works at the studio are so diverse and there is 0 discrimination - Too many benefits to mention!

    Cons

    - The studio is based in a high cost living area so reloaction can be difficult if you're on a budget/ not looking to rent

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Friendly culture, great place to work

    Apr 30, 2020 - Programmer in Hove, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Company clearly cares about its employees - Lots of benefits e.g. health + wellbeing allowance, free studio lunches - Exciting projects and talented people

    Cons

    Can't think of any bad points :)

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Not your typical game studio

    Apr 29, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Hove, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Studio Gobo is an amazing studio for keeping your mental health in check, it is a good place to work if you're looking to recover from the stressful conditions in the industry. The thing that makes Gobo stand out is that there is little studio politics and power struggles and there is a strong focus on autonomy when working with clients. The pet friendly atmosphere of the studio really helps as well for happiness of everyone and Gobo is the the studio I know of. Gobo has not 1 but 4 kitchens that are incredibly well stocked, 1 of the kitchens is world class for any chef activity. We get amazing food cooked for us every Friday by a professional chef, weekly show and tells and monthly social parties. Gobo has been doing exceptionally well during the Covid-19 crisis and have been looking after everybody very well mailing us food/drinks and trying their best to keep in contact. The transparency in the studio between management and the employees is unlike anything I've seen. It makes you feel that we're all in this together and fosters and environment of strong trust. One of the best things about Gobo is that you get to experience so many different studio cultures, workflows and pipelines without having to switch studios. You are embedded within teams and protected from any bad practices they might have such as overtime due to the excellent work of our producers. There is also no one looking over your shoulder when you are working, people trust you to get the job done as long as you deliver your sprint goals. They encourage self learning in down time. Gobo is diverse in terms of nationalities and quite a large amount of queer employees for a game studio, which reflects the diversity of Brighton.

    Cons

    Studio Gobo is a strange place where you produce AAA content in a studio that does not produce its own games. The talent in the studio is incredibly good and it feels like such a shame that we don't make our own games. I do not see this changing as Gobo is owned by Keywords and their business model is to help others with their projects. Directors in the studio focus more on pitching projects to potential clients and ensuring mandates are met, they don't necessarily direct in the typical way you'd imagine because our client directors have the say of what happens in the project. For such an international studio it is surprising that the recruitment team and HR lacks serious expertise in immigration and the relocation benefits and onboarding processs fall short from other game studios. In terms of utilities/accessibility there is no disabled access to the studio other than a scary industrial lift and no disabled toilets. Bathrooms are unfortunately gendered with the exception of 1 gender neutral toilet that is always occupied. Gobo puts a lot of focus on health and wellbeing but have no showers/changing rooms and no spaces in the studio where you can rest and recover during stressful moments. Breakout/lounging areas tend to get replaced with trying to fit as many desks as possible. Temperature control in the studio is random at best with certain parts of the studio feeling like a sauna and some being freezing cold. Gobo lacks a strong outward image and people are always surprised we exist, there is a lot more Gobo can do to help others know of our existence. Gobo is also inconsistent with its interior where some parts of the office look unbelievable but then the social area looks like a mess hall with tables and newer parts of the studio feel like a hospital ward. Gobo needs to get better at handling downtime such as game jams, game projects etc instead of just letting people have idle time. Gobo puts a strong focus on diversity and inclusion but does not do a great job with identifying and stomping out toxic behavior in the studio. There are also no women in upper management /leads outside of HR/production. IT, HR and Culture teams seem severely understaffed for such a growing studio, I hope they can hire more people to give them a break.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Best place I've worked

    Apr 29, 2020 - Senior Development QA in Hove, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The experience of Gobo after my last employment was like something out of a dream. This is the polar opposite of some of the places I've worked, and that is to their credit. Staff are well looked after and respected. It is refreshing to work somewhere where the people in chanrge understand that having a happy and well contented workforce yields the best results. In my time there I have moved from a contract to a permanent role after my work was recognised and rewarded. I am constantly encouraged and supported by my team and the directors. I am very happy to be a part of this team and working in the AAA games sphere with them. I can't recommend them highly enough as people to work for.

    Cons

    The only con is that I didn't start working here sooner...

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Lovely for expats

    Apr 29, 2020 - Technical Animator in Hove, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Coming from overseas to work in the UK was a daunting experience, but Studio Gobo made sure I felt at home before I knew it. They really try to create a welcoming atmosphere in so many ways, and are quite successful!

    Cons

    Dogs in the office is a bit of downside unless you're a dog person.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    A workplace to be proud of

    Apr 29, 2020 - Senior QA Tester in Hove, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have worked for Studio Gogbo for three years after moving to Brighton & Hove and in all that time, I've never regretted joining the studio family. When I first started, Gobo was a relatively small studio - we all fit in one room for our studio meetings! Now, the workforce spans multiple studios but has always maintained the "feeling" and culture of a small studio - people-focused, honest and caring. This is especially evident during the current health climate brough on by the coronavirus pandemic - the support and care we receive from all levels of management and disciplines is amazing and really makes us feel together as one (even when we're apart). From the most senior manager to the newest recruit, Gobo's focus is on making its people the most important aspect of everyday worklife - and it shows. Everyone here - myself included - are proud to say that we work here and have represted that at conferences and expositions across the UK and the larger global development community.

    Cons

    Sometimes, you may get distracted by the studio dogs - they're just too adorable to not pay attention to!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 42 Reviews

Studio Gobo Reviews FAQs

Studio Gobo has an overall rating of 4.9 out of 5, based on over 48 reviews left anonymously by employees. 100% of employees would recommend working at Studio Gobo to a friend and 92% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Studio Gobo employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.8 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Studio Gobo. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

100% of Studio Gobo employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Studio Gobo 4.9 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.9 for culture and values and 4.5 for career opportunities.

Popular Careers with Studio Gobo Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Studio Gobo? Share Your Experiences

Studio Gobo logo
or