Studio Gobo Reviews

Updated Dec 7, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 43 of over 47 reviews

4.9
100%
Recommend to a Friend
Studio Gobo Director Xu Xiaojun (no image)
Xu Xiaojun
0 Rating
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    A fantastic place to work

    Dec 7, 2020 - Designer in San Jose, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Projects, people, perks, salaries, bonuses, location, the vibe, everything!

    Cons

    Nothing really comes to mind.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Forward thinking, caring and modern

    May 4, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Singapore
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Studio Gobo is a great place to be. The studio is lovely, with a family atmosphere and the projects are world-class. I love that the team really cares about things that matter inside and outside of the games industry and seems to have active involvement in all of it: diversity, inclusion, climate change, charity and education. They are very helpful if you're joining from another city or overseas and very accommodating to new starters. The company understands that people move with their families, and there are lots of opportunities for families (partners and kids) to meet one another at social gatherings inside and outside of the studio.

    Cons

    Gobo only tends to work on AAA console titles. This probably isn't the place for you if you're interested in a different platform.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    The best company I have worked for (so far...)

    May 1, 2020 - QA Tester in Bangalore
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Passionate about the projects we work on -Fun attitude towards making games -Great benefits -Incredible working environment

    Cons

    None I can think of, maybe more dogs though...

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Best company ever

    May 1, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Without a doubt the best company I have ever worked at. A lot of this is down to the attitude of the company: people come first. They understand that this is not only beneficial, but necessary, because when people are happy and comfortable in their environment they inevitably do better work. Here are some (but not even all) of the many great things about Gobo I've experienced: - Great comfortable office environment, no expense spared on getting you everything you need. - Great, friendly people from a diverse range of backgrounds. - Amazing perks and benefits: Fully stocked kitchen for breakfast, lunches cooked by a professional chef every Friday, free drinks and snacks (including beer ;) ), trips out both for entertainment and work-related conferences like GDC, free gym training classes once a week. - Zero (and I mean zero) crunch (and I've worked here for over 3 years). - Amazing support from upper management, but also from compassionate team leads who take the time to help you in your work and career. - Fully open to progressing your career internally, whether that be to a more senior position, or even another discipline entirely. All this while having the opportunity to work on AAA games with world class publishers and developers.

    Cons

    I honestly can’t think of any. Other reviews have mentioned the problems of co-development (non-ownership of the entire game and input on features), but the projects and teams we work with can be quite different, and some publishers and developers can be very open and accommodating. In fact, the co-development and multi-project nature of the work we do means jobs are very secure.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Not just a job...

    Apr 30, 2020 - Production Assistant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - The studio cares about your wellbeing and will always put your needs first - Everyone who works at the studio are so diverse and there is 0 discrimination - Too many benefits to mention!

    Cons

    - The studio is based in a high cost living area so reloaction can be difficult if you're on a budget/ not looking to rent

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Friendly culture, great place to work

    Apr 30, 2020 - Programmer in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Company clearly cares about its employees - Lots of benefits e.g. health + wellbeing allowance, free studio lunches - Exciting projects and talented people

    Cons

    Can't think of any bad points :)

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Lovely for expats

    Apr 29, 2020 - Technical Animator in Hove, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Coming from overseas to work in the UK was a daunting experience, but Studio Gobo made sure I felt at home before I knew it. They really try to create a welcoming atmosphere in so many ways, and are quite successful!

    Cons

    Dogs in the office is a bit of downside unless you're a dog person.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    A workplace to be proud of

    Apr 29, 2020 - Senior QA Tester in Hove, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have worked for Studio Gogbo for three years after moving to Brighton & Hove and in all that time, I've never regretted joining the studio family. When I first started, Gobo was a relatively small studio - we all fit in one room for our studio meetings! Now, the workforce spans multiple studios but has always maintained the "feeling" and culture of a small studio - people-focused, honest and caring. This is especially evident during the current health climate brough on by the coronavirus pandemic - the support and care we receive from all levels of management and disciplines is amazing and really makes us feel together as one (even when we're apart). From the most senior manager to the newest recruit, Gobo's focus is on making its people the most important aspect of everyday worklife - and it shows. Everyone here - myself included - are proud to say that we work here and have represted that at conferences and expositions across the UK and the larger global development community.

    Cons

    Sometimes, you may get distracted by the studio dogs - they're just too adorable to not pay attention to!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Unbeatable culture with a real appreciation for the employees!

    Apr 29, 2020 - Senior Environment Artist in Hove, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A very conscientious and realistic appreciation for a good work, life balance at this studio. I've been here for a few years now, and the variety of games I have been able to work on has been very exciting and rewarding.

    Cons

    Co-Dev can occasionally involve making concessions which you wouldn't have to when working on internal owned projects. That's the nature of it though, and the flip-side is I've been fortunate enough to work on some seriously cool and varied projects!

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Incredible care and support for their staff

    Apr 29, 2020 - 3D Animator in Hove, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have worked in many game studios but have never felt as looked after as in this company. The amount of perks and benefits we receive on a regular basis is astounding... From the lovely breakfast foods, to the free Friday lunches, to the health and fitness vouchers and all the social events. The studio has a super friendly and relaxed culture that is flat and values everyone in the same manner regardless of their seniority. The management is always super transparent with everything that happens with the business and the projects and you're always offered all the support you need for anything, at work and outside. I have never had to crunch in nearly 2 years at the studio and generally I think that it's definitely a place that allows you to have a good life/work balance.

    Cons

    Nothing comes to mind at all!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 43 Reviews

Popular Careers with Studio Gobo Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Studio Gobo? Share Your Experiences

Studio Gobo logo
or