SubCom Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

SubCom Reviews

Updated Oct 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
SubCom CEO Tom Lynch
Tom Lynch
16 Ratings
  1. "As American as you can get"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Swindon, Wiltshire, South West England, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at SubCom full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good career progression and staff. Good redundancy packages.

    Cons

    Very heavily based on American "at will" employment practices with seemingly regular layoffs in line with ebb and flow of the business. The redundancy package is fair, though

    SubCom2019-06-02
  2. "Electronics supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Electronics Technician in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SubCom full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great incentives to continuous growth , a lot of internal and external training available

    Cons

    nothing outstanding orworth mentioning

    Advice to Management

    Continue to listen to employees feedback , and wish you all the best of luck on the phase as a LLC company.

    SubCom2019-10-03
  3. "Sit around and do nothing and get laid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Specialist in Portsmouth, NH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SubCom full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Unlimited overtime with minimal work

    Cons

    You sit around and do nothing

    Advice to Management

    Change something (anything)

    SubCom2019-06-21
  4. "Never w/this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Baltimore, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SubCom full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    pay was good and travel to see the world

    Cons

    everything. good ole boys system needs to go.

    Advice to Management

    Hire someone that knows what they're doing. You have bunch of guys rubbing each other back and put in a job with no knowledge or experience.

    SubCom2019-06-28
  5. "Disgusting in many facets"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cable Splicer in Newington, NH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SubCom full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay was decent for warehouse type work. From what I gather, if you are permanent, the benefits are good.

    Cons

    Zero communication; plays with employes' lives by changing their schedules without prior notice; place is disgusting and outdated (bathrooms reek, constant flies in run-down, untidy break rooms). Can't leave the property over a 12 hour work schedule is tough enough, but can't have food delivery, nor even go to your car during break time?! Sorry, that's going overboard.

    Advice to Management

    If you are re-structuring, then you simply shouldn't be hiring and literally laying off the same hires two weeks later. Get your act together first and stop being downright unethical. I was literally hired, then received a call less than two weeks later asking me to go to a 5X2 schedule or 4x4 overnights rather than my 4x4 daytime rotation. Management claimed they were "overstaffed" on my shift. I told the temp... agency I would consider going to 5x2s. The afternoon before my next first day of the next four days of work that I was scheduled to work, they said not to go to work and that the company had no room for me! A week later the temp agency called me, asking if I'd like to go in again for a tour! Good god, what kind of dog and pony operation is this?? People have kids to feed. TE SubCom should be ashamed of their lack of ethics. And as previous reviewers notated, there is a huge language barrier trying to work along side some of the other cable handlers: almost zero English, and other barriers; these people aren't qualified to be training.

    Show More
    SubCom2019-05-04
  6. "Process inspector"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inspection in Newington, NH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SubCom full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay with opportunity for overtime

    Cons

    Hours... 4 days on 4 days off 12hours. Makes it hard to do something else on the side.

    SubCom2019-03-11
  7. "Good Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Engineer in Menlo Park, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SubCom full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great People great company but had wrong people in some positions

    Cons

    Some people are promoted with in with out the experience

    Advice to Management

    Do not try and fix something that is not broken

    SubCom2019-02-13
  8. "You can see the world"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Jointer in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SubCom full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    field pay makes a difference

    Cons

    Can be hard being away from home

    Advice to Management

    less office time

    SubCom2019-01-18
  9. "Unstable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newington, NH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SubCom full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    For the most part a good group of employees, although overall selection of workers was minimal.

    Cons

    Management had their eyes covered as they were all “buds”. It’s too bad they couldn’t get better leadership because a lot of employees gave 110% and weren’t recognized.

    SubCom2019-01-10
  10. "Decent place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SubCom full-time

    Pros

    -Good money - Lots of positions - Work looking steady for a few years - Wide vareity of tasks - Easy workload

    Cons

    - High turnover rate - Politics and rumor heavy - Lots of competition from coworkers eyeing your position - Lots of people who don't take any pride in their work - Lots of down time

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employees more and be willing to proactively change work environment.

    SubCom2018-10-11
Found 48 reviews