Supermacs Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Supermacs Reviews

Updated 12 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 83 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Supermacs CEO Pat McDonagh
Pat McDonagh
45 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible hours free lunch, free drinks(in 8 reviews)

  • "(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Night shifts are always awful, dealing with drunks and the strange people out at that time(in 7 reviews)

  • "Unsociable hours - Often finish at 5/6am on busy times in late-opening stores(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Deacent employer, flexible hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shop Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Supermacs part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice working environment Deacent opportunity for progression to management positions Somewhat flexible hours Generally easy job Nice management

    Cons

    Unsociable hours - Often finish at 5/6am on busy times in late-opening stores Rude customers, though this comes with working retail! The amount of hours you get can vary alot No staff discount!

    Supermacs2016-04-08
  2. "Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Supermacs full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Always have lots of hours because always busy Pay rise the longer you work for the company

      Cons

      Not many cons thank goodness

      Supermacs2019-06-11
    • "lovely place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Floor Staff in Portlaoise
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Supermacs full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      great working environment staff very helpful

      Cons

      short breaks for long shifts

      Supermacs2019-05-29
    • "Current Employee"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Manager 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Supermacs full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good teamwork Food at work (not free but almost) Flexible hours Good opportunity to advance Very supportive head office

      Cons

      Long shifts, a lot of shifts are 10 hours, way too long during very busy stressful times. Late finnishes. Too many sections open late at night

      Advice to Management

      Great place to work, however it can be very stressful during busy times. 10 hour shifts where there can be ques and full restaraunts for 5 or 6 hours continous is not healthy and will lead to higher staff turnover. Too many sections open when staff numbers are lower, 7 staff on during the day but 4 at night with the same offerings is not possible.

      Supermacs2019-06-12
    • "Delivery driver"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Supermacs full-time

      Pros

      Sustainable money for work required

      Cons

      Co-workers believe in minimum wage minimum effort.....owner is a bit odd

      Supermacs2019-05-28
    • "Bad for the most part"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Crew Member 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Supermacs full-time

      Pros

      There is lots of hours

      Cons

      Over worked(way more than my previous 5 jobs) Charged for staff food Under payed

      Supermacs2019-06-11
    • "In charge of cooking all chicken/beef/ fish products, and maintaining a clean kitchen"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Supermacs full-time

      Pros

      Good atmosphere, flexible hours in my case

      Cons

      Some members of the public can be quite abrasive.

      Supermacs2019-06-10
    • "supermcas employee"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Supermacs Employee in Cork
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Supermacs part-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Great teamwork. Got free lunch on breaks. Good salary Great hours

      Cons

      Uniform is expesnive Can be repetitive work

      Supermacs2019-05-16
    • "Career Opportunities"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Manager in Cork
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Supermacs full-time

      Pros

      I recently moved outlets based on a notice in my payslip and have taken on new responsibilities. The opportunities are definitely there if you are willing to move to other parts of the country.

      Cons

      Moving to another part of the country is a big decision for a lot of people.

      Advice to Management

      Keep the manager training programmes going. They are good.

      Supermacs2019-05-11
    • Helpful (1)

      "Sales assistant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Supermacs part-time

      Pros

      Nice people to work with Free food at lunch time

      Cons

      Night shifts are always awful, dealing with drunks and the strange people out at that time.

      Supermacs2019-05-04
    Found 83 reviews