Supermacs Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Supermacs Reviews

Updated Dec 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
51%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Supermacs CEO Pat McDonagh
Pat McDonagh
49 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good atmosphere, flexible hours in my case(in 11 reviews)

  • "(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long Hours very hard work to be carries out for basic wage(in 11 reviews)

  • "Night shifts are always awful, dealing with drunks and the strange people out at that time(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Deacent employer, flexible hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shop Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Supermacs part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice working environment Deacent opportunity for progression to management positions Somewhat flexible hours Generally easy job Nice management

    Cons

    Unsociable hours - Often finish at 5/6am on busy times in late-opening stores Rude customers, though this comes with working retail! The amount of hours you get can vary alot No staff discount!

    Supermacs2016-04-08
  2. "Like all places has its goods and bads, but the good out last everything else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Galway
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Supermacs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's a fun work env. I got on really well with all my colleagues. As long as you work and do your best you can go far here

    Cons

    It can be really tough work dealing with masses of drunk people

    Supermacs2019-12-03
  3. "fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Supermacs full-time

    Pros

    meet lots of new people, gain lots of experience

    Cons

    long hours, often into the night

    Supermacs2019-10-30
  4. "Supermacs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Supermacs part-time

    Pros

    None, I can't think of 1

    Cons

    Everything. Bad organisation and pay

    Supermacs2019-12-05
  5. "Customer Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Assistant in Ballinasloe
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Supermacs full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Staff food but you have to pay for it

    Cons

    Long Hours very hard work to be carries out for basic wage.

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your employees.

    Supermacs2019-10-22
  6. "Not cooperative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Supermacs part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours for staff especially if in college

    Cons

    No sense of teamwork between employees which comes from corporate

    Advice to Management

    Encourage Communication between employees

    Supermacs2019-10-20
  7. "Catering Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Supermacs full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fast paced working environment

    Cons

    Repitive work so can get very tiring

    Supermacs2019-10-18
  8. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Supermacs

    Pros

    Friendly staff and got food for lunch

    Cons

    Long hours which can be annoying if very busy

    Supermacs2019-09-03
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Employees are not respected"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Supermacs full-time

    Pros

    Other employees are nice. Salary is paid weekly. Staff vouchers for nearby Supermac's restaurants. Dress code is pretty casual. Free parking.

    Cons

    Feels like the company wants to get as much as possible out of employees for as little as possible.... Salaries aren't great. You'll get the bare minimum amount of annual leave they have to give you, and you'll be expected to work long hours. Employees are expected to clock in and out (including lunch breaks), even employees who are paid salaries rather than paid by hour. Gives the impression that you're not... trusted as an employee. There is a rota where all employees are allocated weeks to be responsible for cleaning the staff kitchen. Processes are lacking, it's not an easy place to get work done. Culture isn't great; there's a culture of micro management and my experience with my own manager was highly negative. I felt constantly on edge and my stomach was in knots from the moment I arrived each morning until the time I left for home. From conversations with colleagues, I know that I was not the only person brought to tears. To be fair to them, they've built an enormously successful company so if this is how they want to run it then who's to stop them - clearly it works for them. But I personally wouldn't recommend Supermac's to anybody looking for a job.

    Show More
    Supermacs2019-09-02
  10. "Store manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Supermacs full-time

    Pros

    Good team, good food

    Cons

    Long hours, pressures on managers

    Supermacs2019-08-12
Found 93 reviews